We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael makes the place great!”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a great little hotel in a quiet part of town. The rooms could do with a lick of paint but everything works well and you get good value for money. Michael, the owner makes this place great with all his advice and general friendliness. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Michael: Thank for your endorsement and I will work on your suggestion and also look forward to your next vsiit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Really excellent service from all the staff . My room was big and the air conditioner worked well , weather hot and humid , so ac a must . It was in a safe quiet location , easy to find transport from the front . The owner was very frindly .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we hope to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms were a very good size, clean and complete with all the standard fittings etc. The guy who owns the place makes the hotel worth staying in. He was so kind and helpful whenever we needed help with anything at all (bookings, travel, area queries, etc). Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and endorsement. We sincerely look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

For the price per night, the air-conditioning, hot showers did not disappoint. Laundry service was cheap and fast. All topped by excellent service from friendly the hotel manager! The hotel us located away from the backpackers guest houses, so there will not be noisy nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Say Chong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I'm a first time backpacker who flips between private rooms at hostels and cheaper priced hotels (actually called flashpacking). Found multiple write-ups about Haven online and in print and so I booked for 2 nights.

The hotel is kept very clean as was my room. The AC and hot water worked perfectly and the room was very nice. For the price, it is excellent value.

Best added feature is the host Mike - he is really friendly and extremely helpful - all you have to do is ask for information. Mike gave me advice on when and how to travel to my next destination, great restaurant and the best massage I've ever had (place called VX and ask for Nee).

Haven also did a great job with my laundry.

I would only have 2 suggestions to make this already excellent place perfect: 1) breakfast is included but is a little lean - needs some fruit and yoghurt and maybe some trail mix added, 2) while the bed was very clean, I always appreciate seeing a bed mite cover so I would recommend adding this.

Overall, great hotel and awesome owner!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank JK48483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and I will surely work towards your suggestions and hope to be of service to you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived at the Laos Haven hotel after an evening drive from Vientiane and were warmly greeted by the owners and their beautiful Siamese cats. Initially we only had a brief overnight stay in Vang Vieng before driving to Lueng Prabang the following morning. However, we awoke to the spectacular views of the mountains that surround the town of Vang Vieng, which are well visible from the hotel balconies. The hotel was well maintained and reasonably priced, and the owners very approachable and friendly. We enjoyed our stay so much that when we returned to Vang Vieng after a round trip around Northern Laos we decided to book the same hotel for a few night. Although we only booked a standard room, we were pleasantly surprised by the owners generosity to offer us the penthouse suite for the same price. Over the next two days our rapport with the owners continued to flourish and we had the opportunity to meet some really friendly travelers and local charity workers that we shall no doubt remain in contact with. On our final evening in Vang Vieng the owners cooked us a gorgeous dinner, which we were most appreciative of. In summary, the hotel standards, location, value for money, and most importantly, atmosphere, are excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and it was a pleasure to have made your acquaintance and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and it has been by far the friendliest service I have received in all of Laos. They have a range of different room types - I was in a standard single with air con and opted for no breakfast ($13). The room was basic, but clean and had everything I needed.

Michael, the owner, was especially amazing. He's warm and welcoming, and can help you organize anything from bus tickets to day treks. I stupidly lost my bus ticket, and only realized too late at the bus station... I asked the driver to call Lao Haven Hotel, and after a couple minutes on the phone with Michael, everything was all worked out! I highly recommend this hotel! Thanks for everything, Michael, and hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Michael: Thank you for your endorsement & recommendation . It was a pleasure to have made your acquaintance and I sincerely look forward to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 26 in Vang Vieng
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maylyn Guest House
Maylyn Guest House
#5 of 101 in Vang Vieng
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#7 of 101 in Vang Vieng
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing