We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Aireys Inlet, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and Clean”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at their sister hotel next door which was under the same management. The rooms were clean and spacious. Rooms have great views of the mountains and the street. Breakfast was included and it was generous. Michael and the Management were really helpful and the laundry is returned folded and very clean

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Michael:: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    211
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
28
268
91
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Haven has clean, big rooms in a nice looking building. The staff is very friendly and prices are good. The owner could tell us interesting things about lao and was very friendly. You get free water every day. Make sure to do the one day kayaking and caving tour if you go there. I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Michael: Thank you for taking time to share your positive experiences when staying at our hotel and we look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

5 mins from centre of town - the couple who run this are so lovely and will always help you with anything you need. They lent us umbrellas in the bad weather! Hotel is lovely, clean and bed is so comfy. Room cleaned every day. Food at the restaurant is also really good and home made - would really recommended it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nice, quaint hotel. Rooms were not in the bestest conditions but are generally acceptable. Beds are hard like what the other reviewers had mentioned. The outside areas looked nicer, I thought. Room smelled a little moldy but that goes away after you turn on the AC. Could probably help if the rooms were ventilated more often. Toilets were decently clean and sized. Nice that it was partially screened so you could keep it dry with a little care - a rarity in SEA. There was HBO on tv but it was distractingly staticy. Room was sparse but sufficient.

The male owner was very helpful and accommodating.

The place is located a little off the main stretch.

Better value elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheslee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Michael: Thank you for taking time to share your comments and FYI during rainy season everything get very musky & moldy in Vang Vieng due to extreme high humidity and I hoping to find a solution I am also sorry for using Laotian made mattresses in my hotel but I am positive it will never be the same as what you are havng in your home in the US
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Laos Haven has some of the best rooms we stayed in SE Asia especially at their price point. The owner is very friendly and he was always up for a chat. He even offered me some of their home cooked congee which I adored. We stayed at the best room - with a balcony and view. Definitely get one of the higher floor rooms if you can - the view is great. And we were worried about the bags but luckily they have a machine which carts it to the top floor for you. Only negative (or positive depending on who you are) is that it isn't in the town centre but it's only a 5 minute walk to it. Must stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank somethingaboutamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Michael: Thank you for your kind words and a positive review and we will be looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights and had a great time. Owner was fantastic, very helpful. Polite and friendly staff. Rooms very clean and great mattresses to sleep on. Nice change from the normal rock hards bed you tend to get in Asia. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezoz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive revirw and we do look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We booked for a 2-nights stay at this hotel & it turned out to be a very wise decision. First of all, it was value for money considering the size & condition of our room. Vang Vieng really is a beautiful place surrounded by mountains & there's a small swing outside our room where we can just sit down & enjoy the view. A good enough breakfast consisting of bread, eggs (made to order), some fruits & a choice of coffee & tea. Strategically located at a quiet area but within walking distance of the city area.

The owner Michael who happens to be from the same country as us, was really friendly & helpful. He recommended us an alternative route to the blue lagoon which cuts a lot of our travelling time. He even made better suggestions to our planned itinerary & shared his experiences in running the hotel business. There was another friendly lady who works there as well, though we didn't get to talk to her as much.

And if you're a cat person, you may even be greeted by a pair of rather shy, but really adorable siamese cats. In all, I highly recommend this hotel should you decide to pay Vang Vieng a visit :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AsyrafAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Michael: Thank you for sharing your kind & concise review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Property: Laos Haven Hotel
Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing