We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, service, location and rooms”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Very nice staff, service, location and rooms”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The owner was a very nice man who helped us out with all the questions we had. The rooms were very nice and clean and the breakfast was good. You can't book any trips at the hotel but they give you a really objective advise on where to go and what to do. Very nice stay and quite affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarkNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    211
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
28
268
91
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Located towards the end of the main road away from the noisy bars/ restuarant. It's great if you like some peaceful slp at night.
Wifi connection in my room was the best I had in Laos (perhaps due to the router just outside my room).

Bed was one of the most comfortable I had amongst the various accommodation I had in Laos. Aircon was cold albeit a bit noisy.

The rooms are non-smoking but there's plenty enough smoking areas each floor. Plus point for me since I don't like the lingering cigarette smell in the room but a minus point for my friend who thought it was too troublesome to leave the room to smoke.

There's definitely hot water, but once when it was raining heavily outside, the hot water seems to turn lukewarm. Perhaps in winter the water may not be warm enough. Bathroom was basic but generally clean.

The owner's a Singaporean who married a Thai. Thai food here is awesome and not expensive given it's a hotel. Almost the same as those restaurant along the Main Street. My friend simply adores the food here and claims that it's our best food in Laos. I'll have to second that.

Breakfast is included in our booking. My friend and I are not big eaters for breakfast so the portion is just nice for us. We had baguette and eggs for 3 days and porridge on our last day. Eggs are cooked according to our preference. Would be great if there is more variety for breakfast.

Lastly, the main reason I rate this a 5 is the great service the owner gave us. When we first arrived he had recommended us places to go. He had also gotten his staff to travel to the mini bus station when he found out that we lost our Hp and cap in the minivan we took to vang vieng. When my friend said she missed our local fried Kway teow, the owner had suggested we try their Pad Thai (similar noodles to Kway Teow). Basically we were wellfed there by the dishes recommended by the owner.

Definitely will stay here again if I am to visit V.V in future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meteortide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Michael: Thank you for taking time to highlight all your positive experiences while staying at my hotel and we will be looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean with decent size rooms and bathrooms and it’s very well priced for what they offered. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. I had all my meals here (3 days) because the food was very tasty and hygienically prepared. I was extremely careful with what and where I eat after getting very sick from food poisoning when in Luang Phrabang. The hotel also helps us to organize all our day tours and bus tickets at a fair price.

A great place to stay definitely recommend to others

Stayed August 2014, travelled as couple

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Michael: Thank for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is located on the quiet end of the main street just 5 min walk to all the bars & restaurants. The owners spoke excellent English and were friendly, informative and very helpful. We stayed in a superior room and it was very comfortable. The room had a safety box and the toilet had wet and dry area which was a surprise because we stayed in other more expensive hotels in Vientiane and did not experience these. Their restaurant also prepared very good standard Asian cuisine and their breakfasts were just perfect for us. Overall, very good valued for money and I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lthena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Michael: Thank for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is situated in the quiet part of the town, couple of minutes walk from the centre. The couple who run the hotel were very helpful. Scrumptious dinner at the restaurant, I loved it so much that I ordered the same dinner twice. The view from our deluxe room was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive experiences and it was also a pleasure to have you as our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel location is away from the backpacker scene BUT close enough (no more than a 10 minute walk to it) to get some food and drink without worrying about how safe your stuff is if you stayed in a guest house/hostel that's in the middle of that scene.

While the hotel itself, e.g. design and finishes (low quality or rather those who did them were low skilled...), resembles something your typical Communist architect would design and build in Vietnam/PRC etc, the couple managing the place is VERY NICE and helpful. If you need anything, I am sure they are happy to help you, they make sure the rooms are very clean (e.g every day if you want your room cleaned) and they will also make a basic breakfast but just make sure you are up by 10 am or not long after that.

The wifi was also ok (sometimes I would loose the connection though) or rather no better or worst than anywhere else in Laos...

Room Tip: There are many rooms to choose from as the hotel and other places to stay are half empty when its no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Michael: Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience while staying at our hotel and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay - beautiful room, spotlessly clean, perfect location, lovely breakfast. The owners, Michael and Su, couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely stay here again next time we're in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Michael: Thank you for your kind words and your positive endorsement and we sincerely look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Property: Laos Haven Hotel
Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing