We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and meet people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easy Go Backpacker Hostel
basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and meet people”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

most people thing vang vieng is just a to get drunk and go tubing but theres so much more to be done. the guys at easy go were really helpful giving us so many ideas of things to do, but never pushing us to book with them. for the price of a dorm room (20,000 kip) i was really happy and ended up staying 2 weeks. ended up meeting people who have become great friends from all over the world. if you come to vang vieng i really recommend easy go and dont think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    56
    25
    18
    15
See reviews for
1
13
103
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very basic rooms probably could have done with a second fan, constantly damp, don't think the bed sheets had been changed in a while and the platform down is a bit of a death trap in the rain; also, quite a few people had their bags gone through/things stolen.

The staff were very friendly though, very helpful in booking things. If you want cheap, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here for a week and really enjoyed our stay, staff are very friendly and helpful and was really good value- got 10% off for staying over 4 nights aswell! It is basic but we expected that so weren't disappointed, the view over the river is beautiful and the hostel is a really nice bamboo style. Only thing is that our dorm was hot with only 1 fan but everything else made up for this. Great place to meet people ad good distance from town. Would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brionysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

There's something about the quaint hostel that I loved so much. Maybe it was the open communal area, or the randomly constructed stairs/ladders to the dorm rooms, or feeling like I was in the middle of the jungle, or the awesome impromptu NYE party with all the other guests.

I wouldn't recommend this to the faint-hearted though. The beds were simple and the bathrooms were below western standards, to say the least. But for what you pay for, it's good value for money! Staying there was definitely a unique experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie-mmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We got to Easy Go Hostel late at night after booking a really cheap PRIVATE room for four people a couple of nights prior.

The owner who was actually quite nice and really polite lead us up and down the bamboo steps to our room, it wasnt really a room it was four beds in a walk way. People were constantly walking through the room to get to the dirty bathroom and to go out the back door. Out the back door was a fire barrel and chairs but to get to that you had to tread on piles of rubbish that no one has bothered to pick up for months.

I can understand the relaxed vibe that they are trying to portray but there could be more effort making it not look like a junk yard. I am no princess and I can put up with some terrible hostels but the whole place was rediculously dirty and unhygienic.

The next morning we moved to a hotel next door paying $10AUD a night and there were happy days from then on :)

Room Tip: dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at Easy Go for 2 nights, 17th to 19th February.

At 25,000 kip a night, Easy Go is brilliant value for money. The beds are fine - not the most comfortable you'll ever sleep in but they're definitely not the worst. There is a great communal area which is what makes Easy Go so good... it really helps to foster a great atmosphere and, while I was there, most travellers ended up hanging out together in the evenings. The staff were also very helpful and charged fair prices for arranging buses, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's cheap, very cheap, but that is probably the nicest thing you will hear from me in this reaview. Ok, it is a nice place to meet other travelers as well.

The rooms are not very nice, the bathrooms are horrible, everyone smokes weed and the staff are not very helpfull. So if you can live with that, Easy Go is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EivindO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.2 mi away
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 99 in Vang Vieng
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easy Go Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easy Go Backpacker Hostel

Property: Easy Go Backpacker Hostel
Address: 3 Ban Vang Vieng | Khemsong River Road, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vang Vieng and welcome to Easy Go! We are a family run hostel that focuses on making people feel welcome and included just like they would be at home! We have 2 buildings overlooking the mountains where we have something for everyone! We offer 4-10 bed dorm rooms, twin and double private rooms. We have a brick built hostel and a traditional wooden built building with 2 common areas. You can enjoy breakfast or a fruit shake on our mountain view balcony whilst watching some nature programs listening to chilled music in the morning before joining the hostel on one of its group run activities everyday. There is so much to do In Vang Vieng, whether its going tubing, visiting one of the caves or lagoons, driving motorbikes to waterfalls or just chilling by the river and that's all without talking about the great nightlife on offer! We are 2 minutes away from the main strip which means we are centrally located whilst still being quiet enough to sleep after a good nights party! As well as the group activities on offer we also have lots to do whilst chilling at the hostel, We have over 3000 movies and TV series as well as a PS4 with 200 games and the new PSVR headset as well as a Nintendo Wii so you can nurse that hangover whilst making new friends! We have 2 hostel dogs and 2 cats who are always wanting to play or curl up and sleep on your stomach. This is a perfect place to meet people from all over the world, whether you're traveling alone or with a group, everyone can find amazing people to share amazing stories. With both local and western staff we like to think we offer the best of both worlds within a budget setting. We have 2 Pool Tables, free Wi-Fi, a bookshelf full of books to choose from or exchange, complimentary tea or coffee in the morning as well as a cheap bar and kitchen to help you relax and enjoy yourself. Even if you are not staying feel free to come and chill with us and find out why its so hard to leave Easy Go :). We also have a bus and tour service that will pick you up from the hostel as well to make your onward travels easier. We always save a few beds for walk ins as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing