We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Go in Vang Vieng, again... and still loving it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easy Go Backpacker Hostel
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was so good to be back in Vang Vieng, Laos. I spent 10 nights last year in August in Easy Go Backpackers Hostel, few days before the tubing activity got shut down (re-open again) by Laos PDR government and all the bars along the river and also on the “party island” being torn down and torched. Anyway, I am not gonna touch the tubing shut-down issue here, not on this second review.

Coming back to Vang Vieng, brought me straight to Easy Go Backpackers Hostel without thinking twice. It was all because the good things I experienced here, last year. From the room, to the staffs & See, the owner and the people/backpackers that stayed here. This year, they improved a lot! Last year, they only have few rooms and few beds. This year, they extend it to bigger volume. Not only that; from self-made wood and bamboo beds with thin mattresses and mosquito nets full of holes everywhere, now they get a proper beds with better mattresses and good mosquito nets. Although they’ve improved in that area, they still maintain the chill, backpackers-friendly environment, Laotian-style. Bamboo walls, cross-legs common area with floor mattresses, dining table and chairs, coffee & tea and hot water. The pool table is still there next to the reception counter, wifi still working although not the best, toilet & bathroom still the same (much cleaner!) and lockers still there too. And for less than USD$3 a night, I am not complaining!

The best part of this hostel is the view from the common area – facing the mountains that lay just next the Nam Song (Song River). The panoramic view is just breath-taking especially in the morning and during sunset. It is just very beautiful. Never change and that's why I'm loving it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you like dorms and don't mind sleeping with noisy nights sometimes, this place is excellent. I've met a lot of great people there, staff is very nice and helpful, every time you can get free lao tea or lao coffee and everything for 20 000 per night! Good spot to get any info about activities, nice restaurants around the corner, in one word - everithing in one place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasiekMela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at easy go backpakers and was amazed with the service.
This hostel is one of the cheapest and best.
It has a real community feel with the pool table and chill out zone and We met alot of nice people.
The staff went out of there way to help us when We were in town my partner ended up in hospital and they helped us so much by translating what We needed and checking up on us, We were very lucky.
Even after our stay with them they checked up on us and made sure We were fine.
Location is great, people were great loved it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Slipperyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The hostel is great! Basic but also cheap. It is a great place to meet other travellers, with a good communal area and a pool table. The owner is very friendly and very helpful, he made the stay even better. The hostel also has the most amazing views. Only downside is it's not central but Vang Vieng is so small that it's not an issue.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for a few days in January, it’s a lovely hostel with decent sized rooms with a great location, it’s basically on the main strip but just at the very top or very end depending on how you look at it. The place was generally pretty clean although the bin the toilet wasn’t emptied the entire time we were there so when we left it was overflowing with toilet paper covered in [--].

I’d happily stay here again, there is a good vibe and they hold fires in the outside area every few day. Apart from that the hostel has everything you need, the Wi-Fi is pretty slow though I have to say and there is no lockers but the view makes up for all of that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here in July/August 2013. I agree with all of the reviews that say it is a great place to meet other travellers. It is a pretty sociable hostel and I spent many evenings playing French-rules jenga (not for the faint hearted!) and drinking Lao whiskey with an array of fun travellers.

The accommodation is extremely basic, but there is something vaguely charming about waking up in a wooden hut on stilts overlooking the river. In the wet season, the dampness was evident (I got to a stage where I forgot what dry felt like) and it wasn't the most pleasant place to hang out at.

Location wise, it is a little out of the way, but VV is so small, that everywhere is no more than 5 minutes walk. It is also the cheapest hostel I have stayed at in my life, but was a long way from the worst.

The downsides of Easygo? Firstly, the furthest rooms from reception involve a treacherous (when wet) slide down some rickety steps and little walkways. Secondly, there were a few dodgy characters staying here (a starey pair, someone who urinated on the dorm floor, a drunk shouty man and a couple of thefts), but the staff dealt with these people really well. The shower in the upstairs far dorm was a bit rubbish and kept blocking (we were sharing with a man with a mouldy foot) so we kept having to wear flip flops in the shower.

Still, it was okay enough for me to stay here for 12 days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was there last August 6 to 10, 2013. The place is simple and basic but I was lucky to be on the second floor, a room with three beds and a fan. Our room is clean and the bed is fine to sleep with.

Downstairs is a place to meet all people from different countries around the world. Night chatting sessions usually end around midnight.

The bathroom is a bit problematic because its not that clean... It could be the users are messy or the staff took time or wake-up late to clean the facility.

The staffs are really good and can speak English. I spoke to the owner and he told me that they are still in the process of adding rooms and making the place suitable for all. The works on the bathroom is still on going.

All in all... I had a good time!!! Meeting new friends is one of the best...

Room Tip: Choose the room on the second floor. 1 room with 3 beds. It is spacious and very pleasing to sleep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franciscyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vangvieng Homestay
Vangvieng Homestay
#3 of 25 in Vang Vieng
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
0.3 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.2 mi away
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easy Go Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easy Go Backpacker Hostel

Address: 3 Ban Vang Vieng | Khemsong River Road, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £8 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vang Vieng and welcome to Easy Go! We are a family run hostel that focuses on making people feel welcome and included just like they would be at home! We have 2 buildings overlooking the mountains where we have something for everyone! We offer 4-10 bed dorm rooms, twin and double private rooms. We have a brick built hostel and a traditional wooden built building with 2 common areas. You can enjoy breakfast or a fruit shake on our mountain view balcony whilst watching some nature programs listening to chilled music in the morning before joining the hostel on one of its group run activities everyday. There is so much to do In Vang Vieng, whether its going tubing, visiting one of the caves or lagoons, driving motorbikes to waterfalls or just chilling by the river and that's all without talking about the great nightlife on offer! We are 2 minutes away from the main strip which means we are centrally located whilst still being quiet enough to sleep after a good nights party! As well as the group activities on offer we also have lots to do whilst chilling at the hostel, We have over 3000 movies and TV series as well as a PS4 with 200 games and the new PSVR headset as well as a Nintendo Wii so you can nurse that hangover whilst making new friends! We have 2 hostel dogs and 2 cats who are always wanting to play or curl up and sleep on your stomach. This is a perfect place to meet people from all over the world, whether you're traveling alone or with a group, everyone can find amazing people to share amazing stories. With both local and western staff we like to think we offer the best of both worlds within a budget setting. We have 2 Pool Tables, free Wi-Fi, a bookshelf full of books to choose from or exchange, complimentary tea or coffee in the morning as well as a cheap bar and kitchen to help you relax and enjoy yourself. Even if you are not staying feel free to come and chill with us and find out why its so hard to leave Easy Go :). We also have a bus and tour service that will pick you up from the hostel as well to make your onward travels easier. We always save a few beds for walk ins as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing