We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“burn those calories, have fun and relax”

Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$121.00*
and up
Full Day Pak Ou Caves by Boat from Luang Prabang
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“burn those calories, have fun and relax”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After having our usual bountiful meal, my Thai friends and I set off to visit this place. A friend and I took the 6km ride by bike while the others hired a wagon as there were no other vehicles available. The road was bumpy and dusty especially when a motorbike or a larger vehicle passes by. Good thing I brought a mask. On our way to the phu kham cave and blue lagoon, we saw smaller streams that were also blue. We passed by a bamboo bridge. Upon reaching the place, we climbed up to the cave. It was not that easy climbing up that mountain because the path was narrow and we had to give way to the others who were going down. Aside from being a tourist spot, the cave is considered a sacred place by both Thais and Laotians. It's dark inside the cave so you have to bring a flashlight. After seeing the reclining buddha we went down to have a dip at the lagoon and take some pictures. Going down the cave was not that easy as well. The lagoon was blue and clear, and the water was cold. In fact, you might even see some bottles of beer submerged in it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sumaraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    412
    331
    129
    71
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wear good shoes and bring your bathing suit”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We rented a motorbike across the street from our guesthouse for 30,000 kip (daytime rate gets you the bike until 8pm). After filling up on gas and putting air in the tires we set off with a hand drawn map. We crossed at the bamboo bridge and I thought it would collapse under us but we made it. W rode for 7km until we finally reached the entrance. To get in it costs 10,000 kip per person. After paying our fee we climbed/scrambled up to the cave. It's quite steep but rewarding to get to the top. The cave is slippery inside and you should bring a headlamp. Once done in the cave went back down and had a great swim in the lagoon. The water is pretty clear and there are lots of fish swimming around. By 1pm it started to get a bit crowded so we left to explore other caes this one was my favourite of the day though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stamoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Magic place to relax!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place absolutely rocks! We rode scooters to the Blue Lagoon which took us about 45mins slow pace... The road is crazy bumpy and incredibly slippery after rain. The scenery is lush, epic mountains either side for most of the ride out. Entrance was reasonable 10,000 Kip and free parking for scooters. The cave will blow your socks off, but be prepared for the steep climb up rocks to reach the entrance though. Enclosed hiking shoes is my recommended choice of foot ware and I also suggest bringing your own flashlight because the head torches they have are cheap and nasty, also save yourself 10,000 Kip by bringing your own.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

enjoy the surrounding area, which is amazing, but in my opinion forget the cave. The lagoon is not a lagoon but a river (usually) muddy. The climbing to the cave entrance requires a lot of energy, the cave is nothing special and absolutely dangerous because it's slippery and you have to climb inside too. They don't tell you all this (because they charge you 10,000 to enter...)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun lagoon, safe jumping, and a creepy cave”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Definitely worth the trip there as the blue-green lagoon (except in wet season [aug-sept mostly] when runoff turns it more brown) has some great jumping spots and a fun bungalo/voleyball atmosphere. Plus, up a steep climb into the limestone karst nearby is the Tham Phu Kham Cave which is very cool and goes pretty deep (pitch black once you get in far enough so rent a torch for each person, you'll regret it otherwise). Watch out for the fist sized cave spiders that hang out on the walls though ;)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Demosthenes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing