We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, but over-priced and underserviced”

Cliff View Bungalows
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff View Bungalows
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice views, but over-priced and underserviced”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here in February and wouldn't stay again. The room, for 150,000 kip, was nice and clean, while basic, and there was an extra mattress which we didn't need (a double bed and single). After checking in we tried the wifi and it didn't work. As the staff didn't speak English this could not be communicated and eventually the staff member called the owner. I told the owner the wifi didn't work and the owner said it didn't work in the room, however we were trying to use it in the common area and I told her that. She then proceeded to hang up on me. We tried again later and it didn't work the rest of the evening our first night. After taking a shower in the bungalow, an army of ants (there must have been a hive underneath) came out and our bathroom was covered by thousands of ants. We did our best to wash them away with the shower hose but they kept coming. We informed the staff and someone came and Raid-ed the bathroom for 20 minutes and the problem was resolved, although little English was spoken and no apology or anything was given. The next morning the advertised banana and coffee included weren't brought out when we sat in the restaurant, we had to ask, and were given coffee (begrudgingly) and told the banana was for the premium bungalows customers only, what a joke. We left and found a much nicer room across the river with great view, good service and cheaper price (100,000 kip at Domon Guesthouse). The Banana Bungalows next door also have nicer service and comparable bungalows for 80,000 kip.

Room Tip: The bungalows further back have balconies overlooking the fields and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Booked two bungalows for 2 nights for a family of four. Booked a significant period of time before my trip to Laos on Agoda, which included my wife and her mom and aunt.

Arrived at about 4pm from our drive from vientienne only to find our rooms were not available? Just as I start enquiring what is going on, another traveller arrives, also with a booking from agoda, also with no room. As it turns out, the last three rooms to check in, all on agoda where " cancelled" by the hotel on the day.

In other words, the accepted walk ins and in the event anyone is a no show, the pocket the cash, while also getting the fee on the double booked room. Complete SCAM, especially since they had exactly the right amount of rooms available at their cheap sister hotel across the river, where the owner threated to have the police arrest me after I raised to his attention a potentially hazardous and slippery floor on which my wife slipped while carrying bags.

This was a family trip, we were not loud or rude or what some immediately think of - teenage backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

These bungalows are great value for money. They are in a prime location -just across footbridge from town and the views out the back door are amazing. Had a few problems with closing and locking the front and back doors but apart from that would definitely recommend staying here, especially if you want to be near but not right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and if we were't so antsy to get to Luang Prabang, could probably have stayed longer. I enjoyed staying away from the hustle and bustle of the town and this place was just a short walk over the free (!!) bamboo bridge.

The bungalow was clean, had hot water, a sweet deck and the owner/manager was a trip. For $10 a night, you really can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpsanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

These bungalows have an amazing un obscured view of the mountain. you have to cross a bridge to get to them, but it is just a short walk and close to all the action. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and we pain 80,000 per night and cheated the air con. (sorry!) We loved it and stayed a week! Although on our last couple of days there was monsoons and the rickety bridge fell down.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River View Bungalows
River View Bungalows
#25 of 52 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banana Bungalow
Banana Bungalow
#11 of 52 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#49 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff View Bungalows

Property: Cliff View Bungalows
Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cliff View Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing