We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice bungalows, roosters were very noisy whole night... Hard to get sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vang Vieng Boutique Resort
Ranked #28 of 100 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The owners of this resort are very nice and helpful. Good value for money. The yard and gardens very nice. Less than 10 minutes walk where the restaurants, shops and tubing is...

If they eat all the roosters, you can sleep perfectly, no its hard to get any good sleep...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

I really liked my stay at Phongsavanh Resort. The managers Pan and Neil (from New Zealand) are really nice and helpful.
The resort is a little footwalk (5 mins) from the town center away, but that was no problem for us. The big advantage of the location is, that you feel like you are in a little jungle. Lots of trees and plants around you make this place extra cool and relaxing. You also have the sounds of nature around you. Bullfrogs, roosters and cicadas create a cool atmoshere at night. We didn't hear much of their sounds in our room.
We upgraded to the superior room for only a little money more. It was definately worth it, because we were 3 friends travellig together, so we had 3 seperate beds and didn't had to cuddle. ;-)
Our room was very clean and had AC, a fan, hot shower, and a TV (which we didn't use).
We liked the resort that much, that we extended our stay.
The food/breakfast of the resort kitchen is good and plenty.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the superior room for only a little money more. It was definately worth it, because w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfLoboLupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In our room on the regulations sign someone had added "be careful because they go into your bags when you're out". We should have taken more note as we had a substantial amount of money stolen from us during our stay (which we didn't realise until after we left). We contacted the resort by their Facebook page (the only contact we could find) but they didn't care to respond. Stay here at your own risk!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomStevens36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phongsavanresort, Manager at Vang Vieng Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Tom,

Sorry for not responding to your message on Facebook as I don't check it that often. It is a pity it took you a week after your stay to post your review as we do have camera surveillance around the resort but it only saves the previous 3 days. We also have a policy that our staff do not go into any of the rooms unless specifically asked by the guest. Personally I very much doubt anyone took anything from your room as we have never had any problem since we took over management here 6 months ago. However I cannot prove that just as I feel you also cannot prove you actually lost your money while staying here. Thank you for drawing my attention to the note written on our regulation sign which I see was dated January 2013 which is rather a while ago now. I must admit we were rather amused that you tell us you read the sign and still did not make sure your valuables were safe ( we also do have a safe available if you had cared to use it). Obviously you do have a problem looking after your stuff and my advice , when you next go travelling, is to take your mother with you.

Cheers
Neil and Pan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at VV. Location is a little off the main street but a convenient walk to the river. Staff is friendly and helpful with transportation and tour arrangements. Breakfast is ok but a little pricey.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Phua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked for 3 nights with PS. When we arrived we were shown a superior room and decided to upgrade our stay from the standard room. We thought this was worth the money as the room generally had a nicer decor and feel about it.

We decided to extend our stay and told a member of staff. I saw her clearly mark this in their system.

We then decided to further extend our stay by another 2 days (due to flights being booked up!). Before we did this we checked with the manager, he said this was fine (English speaking Aussie guy), he said to let them know and it wouldn't be a problem.

We then booked our transport to Luang Probabg based on the fact we could stay.

We then confirmed and paid with another member of staff... Or so we thought.

On our final day, whilst lying in bed, we were interrupted and asked if we were leaving today. We answered and said, no, as confirmed before, we are leaving tomorrow.

20 minutes later there was another bang on the door. We were told we had to leave the room, we hadn't extended our stay and we had to move room immediately. As you can imagine this was a complete annoyance, inconvenience and absolute let down.

After speaking to the Aussie manager it became apparent we had no choice but to move, and it also shown through the staffs lack of communication with each other and lack of English understanding - which ultimately caused this issue.

We received no apology. At all.

We moved to a not so nice standard room, in an out building behind the main area. The room was slightly dirty, had dust and cobwebs along with spiders and lizards in!! The bathroom had ants and no lid on top of the toilet cistern. We were not happy.

There was no loyalty towards us as existing customers and no sympathy towards moving us. They didn't even help is move out stuff. They sent the cleaners in before we had even finished packing.

The WORST thing though was seeing our original room remain EMPTY that night! What a joke.

A note regarding both rooms and the hotel:
- Cold showers
- Loud cockerels everywhere making noise all through the night
- Internet temperamental (even the manager complains about it)

Plenty of other places closer to town centre at same (or lower) price.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris2hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phongsavanresort, Manager at Vang Vieng Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

I would like to reply to this review , which I agree is factually correct but does imply that the staff are all callous, heartless people. I feel that on the contrary , we go out of our way to try and make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. We have a lot of guests who extend their stay and we do our best to keep them in the same rooms wherever possible. However we do have an obligation to fulfill new bookings that we receive often on the day prior to their arrival. As the guest mentions, their stay was extended a couple of times and at some point a misunderstanding occurred. I would have thought an apology was offered but in the circumstances maybe not heard. As also mentioned, in the end the guest who was meant to arrive didn't which just added insult to injury for all concerned.
As far as the cold showers. These are always available but if one does know how to operate the heating device , hot ones are always available too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and were very happy with our stay, and this accommodation is a real bargain which makes it even better! Although basic the rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, and have a really nice balcony. The free wifi didn't work very well in our room but was fine in the communal area which was really nice; a good place to relax, have a beer, and plan our onward route. There was a good drinks, lunch and dinner selection and we really enjoyed the food we had, and breakfast was tasty too with again a good selection (though at extra cost if I remember correctly). We really liked the location, only a 10 minute or so walk into the centre of Vang Vieng across the old airfield (and we did it with heavy backpacks), but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Finally, the owners are great, laid back but efficient, and always friendly which is a big plus for us. For budget travellers, I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very friendly and welcoming and helped us with everything we needed!
The room was clean but very old fashioned and the tv did not work properly!
Wifi did not work in the room and only in the lobby.
Very gd location off the main road so its very quiet and peaceful!
Overall worth the money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Starkiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.6 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#9 of 25 in Vang Vieng
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#23 of 100 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#27 of 100 in Vang Vieng
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sisavang Guesthouse
Sisavang Guesthouse
#16 of 100 in Vang Vieng
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 100 in Vang Vieng
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Boutique Resort

Address: 13 North Road | Phonephang village, Vang Vieng 01000, Laos (Formerly Phongsavanh Resort)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £25 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value 3 star resort in Vang Vieng. Clean, new rooms in a tranquil garden setting only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We pride ourselves in offering excellent customer service and providing comprehensive information on the many things to see and do in the area. A la carte restaurant, free Wifi, great atmosphere, we promise to make your stay in Vang Vieng one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vang Vieng Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing