We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vang Vieng Boutique Resort
Ranked #30 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice quiet retreat”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This place is excellent in every way (except service is wanting). Good big rooms with balcony. Beautiful grounds. Nice restaurant/chill-out area. Only 10 minute stroll across highway and old airstrip to town centre. A great choice for cheap accommodation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    25
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
3
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emu Plains, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just across the highway from the town it was a short walk to all the action - about 7 minutes.
Big grounds and well-appointed rooms. Everything about it was lovely. Trying to get some service was not so easy. I hope it was just because the male owner (a NZer) was away.
We would definitely come here again though.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the restaurant also pick up wifi service. More distant ones do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipL1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely resort though not for someone who has a massive problem with creepy crawlies...not the hotels fault at all it is a foreign country and it cannot be helped...the only drawback was the location yes it is only 5 mins from the main area but u have to cross a big area that is full of uneven ground and cars and tuktuks fly by, in the day time perfectly fine but at night fairly unsafe and not somewhere for a lone traveller to cross no lighting at night either crossing

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aoife F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very good for the price paid, clean, spacious and everything working as supposed to. The location is good, just a few minutes walk from the city center.

My only complain is their travel advice, booked a tour and bus with them, and both were not as they described. Book those in the city, or directly with the company.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Kiwi/Lao run resort is lovely. It's located off the main road through Vang Vieng. It's only a 5 min max walk to the main tourist strip where you have many restaurants, bars, food stalls etc. Very quiet, peaceful, lush setting. Very spacious and clean room with a nice private balcony. Felt very safe there :) Food was great, especially the (huge) omelettes and the spaghetti bolognaise. A great place to stay if you want peace and quiet but still want to be near enough the action.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful place, lovely big rooms with TV, ensuite and aircon. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and they serve food and drink all day long, with free tea, coffee and water. They also book tours, buses, and have bikes and motorbikes for hire. Slightly out of town but only 5mins walk, and means it is in a nice and quiet area. Only downside is that the wifi is intermittant and slow when it does work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Reading some of these reviews makes me laugh! Having just stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 4 nights (extended our stay) and reading some of these comments it's like I stayed somewhere else.

From arriving, Neil, the "BRIT-KIWI" couldn't have done more to advise us on what's what in Vang Vieng. Very accommodating with us extending our stay, moving rooms when our friends turned up, then when they cancelled, then turned up! He had great banter and made us feel really welcome.

The resort is in a sleepy and peaceful place - clean, big rooms and great food at the restaurant. The room cost about £4 a night - what would that get you at home?? Not much.. so if you want to be close to the action, but in a peaceful spot, I would highly recommend and maybe not read too much in to the slightly negative reviews for this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#25 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#20 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Boutique Resort

Property: Vang Vieng Boutique Resort
Address: 13 North Road | Phonephang village, Vang Vieng 01000, Laos (Formerly Phongsavanh Resort)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value 3 star resort in Vang Vieng. Clean, new rooms in a tranquil garden setting only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We pride ourselves in offering excellent customer service and providing comprehensive information on the many things to see and do in the area. A la carte restaurant, free Wifi, great atmosphere, we promise to make your stay in Vang Vieng one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vang Vieng Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing