We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty clean and cheap hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vang Vieng Central Backpackers
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a good stay at Central Backpackers in Vang Vieng. Great space to meet other backpackers and the dorms were clean, comfy enough and cheap. Good location and close to tubing place and most of the bars. They really need to work out their website though, you can only call to make a booking and the email address on the site sends you a bounce back. I got a bit stuck here waiting for my Vietnam visa and by the end was very ready to leave. Don't recommend staying long in Vang Vieng but if you're passing through to do the tubing central backpackers is a good hostel. The staff are pretty friendly and there's one guy there on staff who's a bit weird but in the end he kinda grew on me.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Shelby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

While in Vang Vieng I got into some troubles so I had to stay 1 night more, and I heard that Vang Vieng Central Backpackers was the place I need to save a few bucks. And it lived up to its reputation: very good prices and a OK place to stay.
In a nutshell, you got what you need here: clean room and towels, decent services. Nothing upsetting, also nothing memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

During my trip to Laos, I stayed one night in Vang Vieng and just happened to book a room in VVCB through a local friends. The staffs were OK and friendly, the room was lovely - well not really lovely but still very good in comparison with the amount of money you pay. I didn't have any particular complain, but nothing memorable. In a nutshell, recommended for budget traveler.
Just wondering in Vang Vieng, where did all the locals go? Just foreigners everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Admon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As the title states, this hostel isn't bad by any means. Great atmosphere, the stuff shown on TV is varied (not just Friends, though be prepared to watch repeat movies a few times), and location is perfect. With that being said, there is always some sort of confusion when trying to order food as it either comes out wrong or takes much longer than it should. Most of the staff is friendly but there is one who is overly friendly, to the point of being inappropriate with female guests. With a few minor adjustments, I would rate this place higher. The rooms were quite cheap, but be prepared to pay extra for air con.

Room Tip: It's an extra 30,000 kip for air con so stay in a room with friends to share cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmills83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Best place to stay in VV. Staff are nice. The place is clean with clean towels when you need.
Got a private room for four with two big fans which kept it very cool.
The bed was SO comfy which was a nice change to the usual SE Asia beds.
Downstairs food and drink is good. The fruit smoothie was the best I had in Laos.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jennifer112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After weeks of sleeping on stiff mattresses with just a sheet, I was pleased to arrive here and feel that the beds were soft and we had a nice pillow and comfy duvet!

The hostel is in a good location and was clean enough as well...not really any complaints

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Big clean cheap rooms with comfortable beds located on the main road through vang vieng excellent value for money and a good atmosphere on the bar area only complaint is the service can be a little slow and rude but still would stay here again for the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-k-189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel 2
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.4 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Central Backpackers

Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing