We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & great location”

Viengvilay Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Viengvilay Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 100 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Probably the best hostel in Vang Vieng, location-wise. The rooms are not the best though. They are old, but the staff keeps it clean all the time. The Internet is actually pretty good, for Vang Vieng where most connections suck. Best to check the rooms first before checking in. I ended up staying here for a week though because the owner is friendly, lovely lady who's been really helpful. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stayed here for 3 years and am good friends with the bosses it is a great place for travellers very helpful and informative. Am back in August and plan to stay again for a few months brilliant place and amazing people. Peace Love Qbar

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The owner lady is friendly and helpful, she is good in english speaking. We stay in a single room since the charge just 30k rip per person per night. However, we found that the toilet piping is leakage all the time. The air circulation is poor in fan room due to window is blocking by neighbour building. Stay if that's no choice or you just look for a bed to lay down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canndyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We arrived in Vang VIeng unsure of where to go, and quickly came across Vieng Vilay. The room for 2 was a very reasonable price. The first room we were shown wasn't that good, but we went with the second one and spent 4 nights there. It was a comfortable bed and basic room with shower room, but you can't expect much for the price when you consider you are in a backpacker party area. A couple of guests played loud music on the balcony but it was all done by midnight. We didn't get much noise from the street at all, and the guesthouse is a fiarly central location for tour operators, shopping, bars and restaurants.

The owners were lovely - especially the woman and her son. Both were very welcoming and helpful! It isn't luxury but I don't think many places are in Vang Vieng unless you want extortionate prices.

Room Tip: Top floor towards the end of the corridor seemed to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

This place is great if you are up early hours of the morning drinking.... but not for those who like a good night sleep!

The room was basic but very clean, staff friendly and polite. Location is central for eating and tubing. Overall it would be very good value had on both nights we stayed we had not been kept awake between 3am to 4am by pub crawlers who insisted on having loud conversations across the corridoors. This is not any fault of the guesthouse, i understand, however it still comes under rating of the overall experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadoo-pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

The lovely lady at reception was charming when looking at the place. English is good and very cheerful. We gladly paid money....

On reaching the room, it was AWFUL. Blood on bed sheets, cobwebs and a bathroom that resembled a construction site. Luckily we booked for 1 night with the option to extend. We slept in our sleeping bag liners to avoid any nasties.

When we were walking down the stairs the nice lady had been replaced by a sour faced pillock who told us to take our flip flops off otherwise he'd throw us out. No signs to say so, but we put the aggression down to the language barrier. But... We then paid for the rest of the room the following morning only for him to literally throw the change at us. Ignorant, and when we let him know he got very verbally aggressive and threatening. Walked right on out of there. He was a wankor wat.

There's better places. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillyhilly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We didn't stay here but booked bus to Luang Prabang with them. BIG MISTAKE! We are so angry with this company for lyinng to us and ripping us off and have to say it has left a really bad impression of Vang Vieng.

We had already endured the journey on windy roads from LP to VV in a cramped and stuffy minivan so decided to get a larger bus back to LP in evening time when it would be cooler and we would have more space.

Specifically chose to book here as they were one of the few places in town advertising a 17.30 bus. On booking we asked what level of service it was and the lady stated several times that it was super VIP (which includes air con and toilet - important to us as my friend had been unwell). There was no case of misunderstanding what she said as we had an in depth conversation about the difference between bus we would be getting and minivan which we had previously travelled in. Paid 150,000 kip (going rate for super VIP) - happy out.

Day of bus we arrive at 17.00 as advised. Wait in the office with little information until 18.30 when a songthaw arrives to bring us to meet the bus (saving time). On meeting bus we see a local bus (no air con, no toilet) on which we are the only westerners. We were extremely unhappy with this but nothing we could do having been dumped on the side of the road. Bus was filthy, stank of fumes and stopped every 15-20 minutes for pick ups, drop offs and toilet breaks. On reaching the first of many hills (quite gentle ascent) bus couldn't make it up so majority of the passengers had to get out and push. Struggled like this for another hour or so before stopping in a town for dinner and unloading cargo for 40 minutes.

Again continued on at a snails pace stopping and starting continuously, but managing to get up the hills this time. Finally arrived in LP at 3.15 - almost 4 hours later than the 23.30 arrival time advertised.

Appreciate that bus services in Laos are never going to be amazing but we really resent the fact that they blatantly lied to us and charged us up to double what it should have been for the service in question. The proprietors cannot be trusted and I have no hesitation in telling people never to use any of their services.

Room Tip: Do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#9 of 25 in Vang Vieng
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
#35 of 100 in Vang Vieng
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viengvilay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viengvilay Guesthouse

Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Viengvilay Guesthouse Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing