We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, everything else very average given the price”
Review of Thavonsouk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thavonsouk Resort
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing view, everything else very average given the price”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I splurged hoping the price would deliver good value. The river view room delivered on its promise with a gorgeous outlook onto the garden, river and cliffs. Everything else was pretty disappointing. The room was fine and mostly clean, however the shower had no water pressure, the mattress was a rock, the pillow had blood stains on it and the outdoor chair was broken. The buffet breakfast was miserable, made worse one morning with staff cleaning all the floors around us using strong smelling chemicals. The restaurant and bar were closed each evening (best go next door for happy hour, delicious menu, great service and same river outlook.) The cleaning staff were found going through draws containing belongings and seen throwing baskets of rubbish over the fence into the river. The front desk staff gave very limited service. It's definitely a good location between the two bridges and a few minutes walk from the main tourist strip. But you can probably find a better option for the same price (or even less) else where.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    101
    75
    36
    22
See reviews for
31
109
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on the way to Vientiane from Luang Prabang. The resort has a nice garden with stunningly incredible view overlooking the river and picturesque limestone hills in the background. The view at sunset was really amazing too.
Our room was basic, sparsely furnished, clean and spacious. The 2 single beds are adequate in size but the linen and towels are old, tired and poor quality. Breakfast was very basic at the terrace by the river. The resort is walking distance, 10-15 minutes, to Vang Vieng town centre and less than 5 minutes away from the main road of restaurants, bars and tour operators. It is located far enough away not to by disturbed by the backpackers partying. It is a very short walk away from reception to the boat service hut to hire a boat ride along the Nam Song River to enjoy the scenery.
Overall, it was quite a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I hadn't read the previous reviews before my friend recommended we stay here which is good!. Actually we had a nice time here. The gardens are lovely and the view is amazing. Rooms were decent but just very very hot, we had a problem with our aircon and were allowed another room (though no help with moving). The lowest we could get the temp in the room was 30 degrees so with kids not the best. Very good shower. Excellent cleaning service. Sadly the front deck furniture was falling apart and dangerous. Vang Vieng itself is a small place- a couple of days here is enough. I think it is the best bet in town. For us, the manager and staff were very friendly and helpful, and we had a good breakfast with variety each day.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights here on the way to Vientiane. Lucky to get a river view room. The room was basic but comfortable. The room was clean and roomy, however, the soap did not lather, and the switch for the bedside light was on the opposite wall. The first night's sleep was great but on the second night the neighbours were very noisy. I do not think they were intentionally noisy, the rooms are not very soundproof. I could here them walking on the floor boards and also could here the doors being opened and closed. The noise went on until 2 am. Breakfast was served overlooking the river, breakfast was adequate but was nothing special (I don't think the Lao can do a good western breakfast). The accommodation was within walking distance of a great restaurant and bakery. I would recommend this place if you can be guaranteed no noisy neighbours

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Lovely place. There is a nice view of the river and the hills. The room has access to a meadow with small garden. Quite comfortable room. We saw a few hotels on blank , but for the price (about $ 50 per room), this option seems best. We have no bath but shower is good. Wifi is not always steady .
We have booked the room without breakfast. But we ate in the restaurant 1 times- it was not impressive). The waiters almost do not understand English. Food was nothing to write home about .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A lovely and very peaceful hotel in amazing location with stunning views. Accommodation was very good, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Furniture and fittings were good but no hair dryer - although one could be borrowed from reception. Staff very friendly and accommodating. There was a reasonable choice of both hot and cold food for breakfast and a highlight was sitting having breakfast on the terrace by the river with the stunning karst mountains in the background. Hotel has lovely peaceful and colourful gardens which are a delight to sit in after a busy day in hot sunshine walking and cycling.

Room Tip: Its not necessary to pay extra for riverside rooms as other rooms have views of the lovely gardens a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the banlao house and expected a house with 2 rooms and a bathroom. But unfortunately the banlao house is nothing else than a large room that just had enough room for the 5 of us.
Private terrace with excellent views of the karst mountains.
Bathroom was old, no shampoo but good water pressure.
Breakfast was very basic with gummy omelettes and sour pineapple, not in line with the prices of this hotel.
Staff in restaurant seemed totally bored with their job. Reception guys were friendly.
Every morning we were waken up by loud Thai guests chatting away on the lawn in front of our room or on their balconies.
We have had much beter for less ( for instance e-tu waterfall resort, sainamhai resort, hotel beau rivage mekong)!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 23 in Vang Vieng
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 23 in Vang Vieng
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavonsouk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavonsouk Resort

Property: Thavonsouk Resort
Address: PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos (Formerly Thavonsouk Bungalow)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thavonsouk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thavonsouk Hotels & Resort in Vangvieng. Thavonsouk is your accommodation choice when you travel to Vang Vieng. Stay with Thavonsouk if you are in Vang Vieng. Thavonsouk Hotels is located on the riverside with the gorgeous view of the Phadeng (Red Cliff) Mountain, green forest and Stunning sunsets. Our resort hotel is your magnificent private holiday home, just 3 hours drive from Vientiane; the capital city of Laos and 5 hours down from Lungprabang, the World heritage town. Vang Vieng and surrounding areas offer unsurpassed natural wonders, still unspoiled...explore by yourself or with an tour / activity company which we can arrange. We offer a free shuttle service from the bus station and can arrange airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Thavonsouk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavonsouk Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Resort Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing