We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel in a great position.”
Review of Thavonsouk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thavonsouk Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Skip this hotel if you can. The beds were so old and uncomfortable we had them changed which was a bit of an improvement. Breakfast was basic. The eggs had been precooked and looked a bit tired. Shame as the hotel position is really nice.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mandv888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Well maintained gardens and great view but would not stay here again.
The standard room did not have a fridge, the TV didn't work and the hot water was unreliable. Wi Fi reception did not work most of the time.The bed was rock hard and the pillows may as well have been besser blocks.
The staff did not seem to be particularly happy or helpful and I couldn't get a smile out of the dining room staff.

The included breakfast was very basic but edible. French bread rolls were nice.
The dining room wasn't operating the three nights we stayed there, but there were decent eateries in the centre of town.

The driveway and pedestrian access to the "resort" is very steep, uneven gravel surface and anyone with limited mobility/fitness would find it difficult walking up and down down it to reach the main road into town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Thavansouk and had an excellent stay. The bungalows are lovely, the resort is very well landscaped, and many rooms have stunning views across the river and the distant mountains (viewed from some very comfortable chairs from our room's private balcony!). We had some minor language difficulties with some of the staff but they were very helpful and arranged our onward bus travel to Luang Prabang. It's a short 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Vang Vieng and close to the walking trail to the nearby caves.
Negatives? The breakfast was adequate but not as good as similar hotels we stayed in. Also, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. These were minor complaints and I would definitely recommend Thavansouk.
Tip: pay a few extra £ for a River View bungalow - it's worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Situated on the riverside, Thavonsouk Resort arguably has the best view in Vang Vieng looking across the river & paddy fields with the spectacular Karste Mountains as a backdrop.
The owners & staff were attentive and friendly and any problems I had were immediately dealt with.
The Resort which is locared a 5 minute walk from the town centre is continually being upgraded, English & French are spoken.
Not the cheapest place in Vang Vieng but well worth the cost as I left with nothing but good memories.
Even if this hotel is not in your price range the Sunset Restaurant which shares the same great views is well worth a visit but beware it closes at 8.30 !!!!
Note: Make sure you do not confuse Thavonsouk Resort with the nearby Thavisouk Hotel & Resort, closely named but very different !

Room Tip: Riverside Cottages have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

During our (me and my wife) last trip (a tour around Northern Laos), we stayed one night at this hotel. But both the hotel and the environment at Vang Vieng made us feel that we should have stayed longer there: the surroundings are marvelous, the views beautiful and the hotel, although a little old-fashioned, very charming, especially the nice gardens and well-placed bungalows. The room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet. The staff was also friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmlousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Arrived here after travelling from Vientiane, thought we were booked into somewhere else so that didn't start us off too well. Our rooms weren't ready so we waited in the bar for 2 and a half hours before we realised they were finished an hour before( no one bothered to tell us). As we settled in we realised there were no towels,soaps,toilet paper,or fresh water!!! What had they been doing??? The television was as useful as a paperweight or doorstop, no internet unless you sat at reception. Our daughter hopped into bed then it collapsed to the floor, we all had a good laugh, didn't bother telling management we fixed it ourselves. The grounds were well kept with a nice view over the river to mountains beyond.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelling_Spuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel’s elegance and serenity is subtle at first, but I quickly fell in love. The staff is top notch. They really want to work there, and should since the whole setting is indescribable. Our room clean and cozy and it was terrific. I'm afraid we will have to compare future trips to this property. A tough act to follow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertotir71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 24 in Vang Vieng
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 24 in Vang Vieng
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 24 in Vang Vieng
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavonsouk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavonsouk Resort

Address: PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos (Formerly Thavonsouk Bungalow)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £30 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thavonsouk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thavonsouk Hotels & Resort in Vangvieng. Thavonsouk is your accommodation choice when you travel to Vang Vieng. Stay with Thavonsouk if you are in Vang Vieng. Thavonsouk Hotels is located on the riverside with the gorgeous view of the Phadeng (Red Cliff) Mountain, green forest and Stunning sunsets. Our resort hotel is your magnificent private holiday home, just 3 hours drive from Vientiane; the capital city of Laos and 5 hours down from Lungprabang, the World heritage town. Vang Vieng and surrounding areas offer unsurpassed natural wonders, still unspoiled...explore by yourself or with an tour / activity company which we can arrange. We offer a free shuttle service from the bus station and can arrange airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thavonsouk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavonsouk Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Resort Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing