We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect, idyllic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This would have to be the best, or at least one of the best hotels in Vang Vieng and very good value for the price. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with a cosy balcony overlooking the pool. The pool is very inviting and overlooks the river just a few metres away. Indeed there could be no nicer place in Vang Vieng to watch the sunset from one of the poolside lounges - the ideal spot to watch the sky go pink against a beautiful backdrop of mountains.

The service at Riverside Boutique is outstanding - staff are friendly, courteous and always eager to please. Standards are very high for Laos. The manager Emanuel was charming and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable.

Food was also good and good value. We ended up eating here every night rather than venturing out to try other local fare. Once a week the hotel has a poolside buffet of excellent traditional Lao food accompanied by Lao dancing.

I would definitely return to Vang Vieng simply to stay here - it is the ideal getaway for a relaxing weekend or few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antipode222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a great hotel situated in a stunning quiet spot, the photos are a true representation of the setting. We stayed in the VIP suite, it is large, the bathroom is just huge, it is well equipped and has the best views of the river and Kaast mountains. The pool is excellent and the restaurant was fine. The service we got at this hotel was very good, we parked our car (we self-drove across Laos) in the hotel car park and when we came back they had washed it, really they washed the car. If you have a car or a bike see if you can find a tiny sign saying cave down a local road, if you see it go and visit this cave, rather then the one the tourist go to. The tour is organised by a mute little person and it is a really good spot, hardly anyone goes there but the river and cave are both excellent. Also visit the local wet market for a look at live beetles, many types of bush meat and a black moving blob that turned out to be pork once the flies cleared. There is a good carver in the main street, you can see him on the opposite side of the road to the monkeys in cages.

Room Tip: The VIP room is the one to get, it has a wrap around balcony and huge bathroom. TV in the lounge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nglenjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 2 week holiday visiting Thailand and Laos, this was by far the most beautiful property. The location is stunning, the design of the rooms and grounds very well thought-through tastefully incorporating traditional Lao features and using local and organic produce where possible. What truly differentiates this place is the service especially considering it has only been open for a bit over a year. Emmanuel is managing the hotel with great care and attention to detail and it is a pleasure to see how he instills his staff with confidence and gives them the guidance they need.
The restaurant is very good. My husband had an upset stomach and the manager prepared a special guava leaf drink for him.
I work in a five star hotel myself and we would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a treat in Laos.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a room with a view, it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freya-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stunning views. Super friendly staff. Great rooms. Wonderful breakfast. Clean and nice pool. Best hotel we have visited in Laos to date. We still have another week an Laos and it will be hard to find anything better. I want to go back again. Right now!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Manfred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is well a away from the backpacker areas of Vang Vieng, and overlooking the river. Each room has an outdoor balcony which overlooks the fresh water pool, while some also have a view of the tranquil river.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
The showers are part of the bath, and may prove difficult for some to get into.
The dining room and bar area are in a separate building overlooking the river and bridge.
You have to get to breakfast early to get a table overlooking the river.
Each morning and evening we were treated to the lovely view of hot air balloons going over the hotel.
It is only a short walk to town to access the many inexpensive restaurants.
The food, especially breakfast, at the hotel is awesome.
There are two computers with free internet access in the bar area, which comes in handy for those not carrying their own technology.
The staff were all very polite and helpful.
Wish we could have spent an extra day here just enjoying the ambience of the place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank patsy_hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A jewel of a hotel that will spoil you for any other hotel experience in Laos. It's really quite perfect in so many ways: the swimming pool with a view to kill for, great service, amazing breakfast, beautiful rooms... We tried to think something to fault this place for and it was quite hard to come up with anything - the only things we could come up with were things such as 'it would be great to have a jacuzzi in the pool'. But if I could wish for anything else it might be extending the breakfast until 11 at the weekend.
The hotel is clearly under very capable management and I can only hope it'll stay that way. Yes it's expensive, but it's more than worth it for the occasional treat. Make sure to book early as they are getting booked months in advance now, actually that was our greatest regret that we could only stay for one night due to non-availability.
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All deluxe rooms have a great view of the river/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent two nights here and loved the views of the mountains, plus the river right behind the resort. The pool was cold but nice and had plenty of nice lounge chairs. Breakfast was good but when food runs out on the buffet you have to ask for more, which happened when a large group was there before us. Room was pleasant and nicely appointed with all amenities altho we were given a room in back with no view. But the bed was so hard and uncomfortable i couldnt sleep the first night! Such a shame they would skimp on such an important thing. The bikes were a mixed bag, mybhusband tried the mountain bike and it was terrible altho my cruiser style bike was fine for the bumpy ride across the bridge.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stekype, Manager at Riverside Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Riverside and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry your room did not have a river or mountain view. However, you had booked a classic room, which are clearly described on our website as being "the most private of the Resort with individual balconies facing a small garden." Only our Deluxe rooms have a river, mountain and/or pool view. We are also sorry you found the mattress too hard. There is no easy solution to this one. While we provide both hard and soft pillows to accommodate various preferences, some guests love soft mattresses, other guests want harder mattresses. If you visit us again, and we hope you will, please tell us about your preference in advance and we will arrange to have a mattress pad for you. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 24 in Vang Vieng
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 24 in Vang Vieng
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 24 in Vang Vieng
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Viengkeo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £111 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the bank of the Nam Song River, multi-award winning Riverside Boutique Resort is a luxury hotel with charm and character. It is laid out around one of the most inviting swimming pools to be found in Laos, and offers stunning views of the surrounding lush landscapes and forest-clad limestone mountains. Thirty-four rooms with large balconies are located within the tranquil gardens, as well as a traditional herbal spa and an elegant restaurant overlooking the river. With a beautiful design that blends local traditions, ethnic arts and French colonial architecture, Riverside Boutique Resort celebrates the exceptional diversity of Laos, just a short drive away from Vientiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Riverside Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing