We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed two very relaxing nights at Riverside recently.
Pros:
Amazing view.
Relaxed straight away - great atmosphere.
Awesome spring rolls.
Friendly staff without being overbearing.
Umbrellas everywhere, great as was raining.

These pros are all great, and outweigh any cons. However, the cons are what is holding Riverside back from good to great. It has been nominated for a luxury award, I think through TA, but, on my stay, felt these small things added up so that Riverside is just not 'there' just yet:
No food in minibar - annoying when arrive and it's raining too heavily to go out.
No way to switch lights off from bed - need to go to front door and then walk back to bed in dark.
Not very dark in the rooms, hard to sleep, woke up early.
Shower took a long time to heat up, sprayed EVERYWHERE also.
Shower gel and shampoo provided, but no conditioner?
Mould on bathroom roof.
One bathroom light not working.
Main light switch cover loose and fell off.
Reception staff couldn't understand a landmark wanted to go to and was asking directions for - partially my fault. When did understand it was then no instructions given, I had to prompt again.
Hideously expensive food in the restaurant. Have eaten here before for work and definitely not worth the price.
Very uncomfortable balcony chairs - needs more pillows.

Also the mini bus company recommended by Riverside was atrocious. Not riverside's fault but they should be aware of the quality of service providers they recommend.

Overall a lovely, relaxing stay. Riverside is definitely the best hotel in Vang Vieng, but has a while to go before it is truly 'luxurious'

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAroundTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights after 3 nights in Vientiane. We wanted a more upscale hotel away from the backpacker scene and this was exactly that. It was perfectly situated along the river and the staff was very pleasant. The pool was the focal pool and the mountains were right there with the river.

Wonderful breakfast (both western and eastern) and free bike rentals if you book directly with the hotel (not through agoda or hotels.com). This was nice as we used the bikes to explore the local caves and villages one day.

It was the prefect location as we could walk to town in 5 minutes, yet were far enough away that is was an oasis and restful place.

Wifi worked well in the room and the rooms were well kept.

Only area that could use improvement is the A/C. It really wasn't that cold and it was hot and humid during our stay in June and would have liked a cooler room when we slept but we couldn't make it cooler. Hopefully that would be improved upon.

I would highly recommend this resort to others as I think it's the nicest in town.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool/mountains if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 13_Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Everything went smoothly. The resort and the rooms was beautiful, nicer then the pictures. The room had terrace, you can sit there and look at the wonderful mountain view even if it's raining since it has a roof. The room was big, clean and very nice. Bathroom the same. The food is great, try the set menu. Breakfast was ok. Service is very good.

It is possible to use the bicycle to the blue lagoon which is a really nice trip, 7 km. Dont't know if it was just bad luck that the chain on my bicycle fell off and it wasn't possible to fix it. Besides that we had a really nice stay here and could certainly recommend it to future visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nsatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay in this hotel. Staff was incredibly friendly, the room was beautiful and breakfast was great. The hotel looked even better than we expected, as usually the pictures tend to be a little bit better than reality. This was not the case!
The only point of improvement would be the temperature of the pool. This could be a little cooler to make it actually refreshing.
We would certainly come back here!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Riverside Boutique Resort was our favorite hotel in Laos. We spent 2 nights here and could have easily spent more if we had the time. The room was great and the view from both the room and the pool can't be beat. There was a good storm on our second night so we sat on the huge covered balcony and watched the lightning for over an hour. Vang Vieng is not the cleanest town and there's a lot of partiers but this hotel was clean and quite, a great place to relax at. the breakfast was good but we didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner. If you walk about 5 minutes down the road there is an amazing restaurant called AMD Restaurant and we ate there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Riverside for 2 nights and had a great experience. We decided on this hotel from all the positive TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were looking for a place to relax for the weekend and this was perfect. Vang Vieng is a bit of a party town so it was nice to have a quiet place to chill at away from the party/backpacker scene. The views of the mountains are gorgeous. The food at the hotel was really good. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights and had really good meals made with fresh, local ingredients. Try the goats cheese salad, its outstanding. The staff are really friendly and will bend over backwards to assist. If you're looking for a quiet place to spend a few days relaxing at, this is by far the best choice in Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper level with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are also very nice with great views out over the river and the karst mountains beyond. The wifi is excellent and the breakfast the best we had in all of Asia. Unfortunately it wasn’t perfect – the pool is great but it could do with being colder, and it was also closed one day we wanted to use it; it’s also a little out of town meaning a walk to the centre, and room cleaning wasn’t 100% great. It’s maybe a little more than most places in Vang Vieng, but probably worth it as a bit of a treat – I didn’t feel overcharged for what we got. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diveboard_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#18 of 25 in Vang Vieng
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Viengkeo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £91 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the bank of the Nam Song River, multi-award winning Riverside Boutique Resort is a luxury hotel with charm and character. It is laid out around one of the most inviting swimming pools to be found in Laos, and offers stunning views of the surrounding lush landscapes and forest-clad limestone mountains. Thirty-four rooms with large balconies are located within the tranquil gardens, as well as a traditional herbal spa and an elegant restaurant overlooking the river. With a beautiful design that blends local traditions, ethnic arts and French colonial architecture, Riverside Boutique Resort celebrates the exceptional diversity of Laos. Prominent artists and artisans have contributed their talent to help create a unique and authentic atmosphere that allows guests to fully appreciate the charm of Lao hospitality. What makes Riverside Boutique Resort truly special is this combination of culture, tradition and nature - and this stunning backdrop of mighty karst mountains, just a short drive away from Vientiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Riverside Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing