We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BREATHE OF FRESH AIR”
Review of Le Cafe de Paris

Le Cafe de Paris
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A BREATHE OF FRESH AIR”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a surprise. In a town like Vang Vieng we never expected to have such a treat. The delightful Frenchman who owns this little restaurant cooks everything himself from scratch with the freshest ingredients. The menu is small but enough choices to suit everyone. We wanted red wine so the owner offered us a taste of one from California and one from Chile. Both excellent. The duck pate was beauuuutiful. Actually we thought pate had to be made from liver but clearly we were wrong. This was from duck meat with spices and pressed. What we usually call a terrine. But really, really nice. The stuffed aubergines were delicious, as was the home made mayionnaise with the salad. However the boeuf bourguignon was out if this world. Well done. Credits all round

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    37
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halong Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Little gem of a restaurant in this town!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

In a town like Vangvieng where you can only find cheap and street food, I was so happy to find at last a real restaurant. Richard, the owner, set up his restaurant in his house together with his lovely wife. For a very reasonable price, 8 euro, you will be served a full menu (starter and main course). My recommendation, homemade rillettes and boeuf bourguignon mash potatoes. Wine selection is great and prices are cheap. Food products are all freshly coming from the Vangvieng market. To do a perfect boeuf bourguignon is not an easy thing, but doing it that good with a local beef meat is a master piece of a dish.
Wish I would come back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hpleveillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Havre
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, just go there ! Nothing else to say...”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hey guys !

First proper French meal in a year ! Oh my god, it was goooood !

It is not the best french meal I ever had, or some of my favorite speciality, but you're in Laos, and it is impossible to get some special kind of cheese, so don't expect A tartiflette :) Just and already awesome nice "paté", "boeuf bourguignon", really good "mash potatoes", nice "french fries with a good steak" etc...

The owner is a really nice guy and cook his meal perfectly. I was so full and happy at the end of the meal. The wine was not so expensive and good as well, as the meal in fact !!

What else can I say ??

If you're not a poor backpacker that can only eat for 2 euros a meal, go there spend 6 to 14 euros . 6 for a meal, 14 for a menu (entrée, dessert and wine) , you won't regret it !

A must go in, in Laos !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keklaquoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome well executed French and Laos food.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place made our stop through in Vang Vieng memorable. The menu was not elaborate but everything we had on this simple menu was impeccably well executed. The crepes with fried bananas are not to be missed. We enjoyed the steak frites, duck pate, and pad lao (better than any pad thai we had in Thailand or elsewhere in Laos). Our Ti punch was perfect, the wine was good. Loved the setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurainMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal there last night. The French owner was very accommodating nothing was to much trouble
The bœuf bourguignon was lovely mash potato could have a little more seasoning
Salad french dressing was to die for
The restaurant is more expensive but worth every penny

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe de Paris also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Le Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing