We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Le Cafe de Paris

Le Cafe de Paris
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Moorine Rock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fantastic host, beautiful Boeuf Bourguignon. Absolutely wonderful evening. Would definitely recommend this place to friends. Away from the usual Vang Vieng restaurants, but to us 'oldies' it was just great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBird_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    37
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family restaurant”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the quality of home made cooking in a rainy night.
Boeuf bourguignon was simply wonderful and goat cheese made us think to be in Europe. Friendly and warm service completed the experience. Definitely worth to be recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cute, quaint, simple menu, good food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The menu is on a chalkboard. For 100,000 kip ($12.50 USD) you choose a starter and an entree. I had the goat cheese on french bread and the boeuf bourguignon.

The meal also came with a simple green salad and bread. I also said a nice red wine.

The drinks menu is also on a chalkboard.

In the background you hear mellow French music and it is located on a quiet street to the right of the hospital (if you are facing the hospital).

Service was good, they had wifi, everything was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good French Food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

No fancy stuff. Good French Maman et Papa business. But great food. Try Goatcheese and Boeuf Bourguignon. Delicious. If you are "riced out" an excelllent place to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Expected better!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner on our only night in VV based on the very good reviews. However we were disappointed. Or maybe we don't know what standard to expect in VV. The restaurant itself is nice and the French owner is friendly and professional. The menu is limited as per other reviews. Being in a group of six we ordered most of the menu, the Margaret duck was good, the beef Bourgogne was poor, the fillet boeuf was average, the duck terrine was homemade and very good. The goat cheese in the goat cheese salad tasted like paneer (cottage cheese). The Aubergine was very so so.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kovit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johndeefool, Propriétaire at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
i am very sorry you donc like it. but 1 point, the bourguignon was poor? your are the first one who don t like my bourguignon, maybee because you are indian and living in thailande, the french food is completely different, we don t use 2 kilos of chili for one plate, so i understand is not in your taste, but don t say is poor because you never eat that before and you don t lke the taste. for the steak, 6 euros, with salad 2 sauces, you expect a "cote de boeuf" import from france, sorry but i use local product, and my meet are good. for the eggplant, is the same, not in your usuel taste. for the cheese i no india and thailande are very famous for that, it s local, from the mulberry farm, and it s a good cheese, and for finish, what did you expected in vang vieng, a 3 stars michelin, so for all people who want to come please, it s familial restaurant, a small menu, fresh and local food, we do or best to make you happy. i hope you have a good trip in lao, but next time, teel me in front if there s a problem.
a wish you the best for you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe de Paris also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Le Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing