We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supercalafragalistic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I've been staying for 4 days at the Chilllllllao. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave.
Upon arriving I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met Laura. She explained everything I had available and gave me a cable for internet access and the password to use the service very quickly.
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. The shower seems to be bigger than my house. ( I have small house)
The bed was one thing that if I could take home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable....
Very rich and tasty breakfast next door, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around. Chocolate Brioche also were fantastic. With each breakfast I became more spoiled.

On the Wednesday of the week, when I was at Chilllao was ASEM summit ceremony. I saw it at the stadium, Vientiane this was

These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

Room Tip: Checkout any time but let them know first. I leave at 16:00 but put bag in special room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoiKorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Friendly, family run hostel, and great value for money too. The staff are really helpful if you need any assistance or information about anything, and I met a lot of great people just by staying in the dorm. It's also not right next to the main nightlife area, but easily withing walking distance (Vang Vieng is a very small town), that you won't be disturbed by the noise at night. Free wifi, and free coffee in the morning too. What more could you want. Definitely going to stay there again the next time I'm in Vang Vieng! One last thing, the balcony at the back has great views of the sunrise if you're up early..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed there for almost 3 weeks in september. Cheap (especially if you stay for longer), central, clean, very friendly staff and good internet. The owner Terry gives good advice on dos and donts in Vang Vieng and invited me to have fish bbq with his family. Definitely gonna stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

What more do you want? This place had everything a backpacker needs. It was close to some good restaurants and drinking spots, but well enough away for a good nights sleep. The rooms were tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have stayed here for many months during high season and the place as well as the people that work there are amazing. For what you pay, you get a lot, and the company and kindness of all the staff just makes it even better. The location is ideal as well, being in the city center, close to all facilities, restaurants, bars, tourist offices, internet cafes etc.

I would definitely recommend Chilllao Guesthouse if you are planning to stay in Vang Vieng, Laos.

I have personally been backpacking for around 2 years, through many different countries, and i've been to many different guesthouses during the time. I am not a high maintenance person who needs luxury in my life and am happy enough with the necessities.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to have a look at the rooms first before deciding which one you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryuki U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Fantastic everything!! Big, comfy bed... Amazingly helpful and friendly staff (Terry and wife)... Warm, powerful showers... Poker Tuesdays..... Mr. Chicken across the street.... I miss the heck out of this place!! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: 208 was my favorite... 1st or 2nd floor if you like to socialize, 3rd if you want more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TeeeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Cheap and full of fun sums it up. The thing that first got me was that the front desk was run by a happy Australian! I loved the ease of obtaining answers to my travel questions...... English helps in the travel world. Oh ya, and I checked in at 4am of the late luang prabang bus no problem.

Room Tip: Lower the better for wifi. I higher the better for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lonewandererisnotalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vangvieng Homestay
Vangvieng Homestay
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.0 mi away
Army Barracks Hostel
Army Barracks Hostel
#2 of 55 in Vang Vieng
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

Address: 100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of town, close to all that Vang Vieng has to offer. English speaking staff, Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning (optional), Dorms, triple rooms, etc. Just tell the tuk-tuk driver "chill Lao" and you will be on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing