We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hostel, cheap and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hostel, cheap and good location”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great hostel just outside main strip. Really friendly and helpful owners that can recommend the best things to do and places to hire cheap scooters! Rooms were clean and cheap - had private double room with hot shower for not a lot of kip! Communal area good to meet others, spent many nights drinking and playing cards and the free coffee was great the next morning! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amywhite86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    22
    7
    8
    11
See reviews for
1
15
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Realmonte, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

you want to go to vangvieng to enjoy the outdoor activities right. Chilllao is the cheapest I have seen in the whole world (not even kiddin). Its clean, has free water,tea,coffee,translation and information as well as booking of tours, tickets, flights, you name it.
I dont even think the bloke at the counter wants to make money as he will always sell you tours for cost....CanAdIans!!!!
check-in, pay your dollars or few then hit the mountains or the river or the lagoon, you name it

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franciss788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

FRE COFFEE, I think I drank my rate worth in coffee but thats okay it kept me alive and energy for events!
I pay 4 Euro for room with privacy and hot shower inside, my room was right next to balcony so I can play music and lay in the sunbed and drink beerlao
So relaxing, Not LUXURY but I do believe it is the CHEAPEST in Laos
Back again soon, thanks for having me

Room Tip: Have some chiken on north side so natural alarm clock if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vientian
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

This place rocks!!!
Great rates and efficiently knowledgeable staff make chilllao highly recommendable.
Wifi and clean showers are really important parts of a backpackers life, and they are right on the money here!
Vibrantly infused environment and people made my stay here top notch.
I wish I could drop in all the time, alas Laos is a bit of a commute.

I hope I see you aagain soon vv and all your quirky inhabitants!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkarmalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

4 Day waterfight! so much fun!
The hostel was perfect. Everything we needed and one of the cheapest places in town.
for only a few bucks per day I couldn't expect anything more. Location is excellent.
Restaurant downstairs had really good food so make sure you eat there at least once on your visit.
The owner is from Canada but has lived in Laos for many years. His adorable little girl hangs out downstairs during the day and we even had her helping in the water fight!

Room Tip: Go for the aircon and if you stay near the front of the hostel over the lobby your wifi will work be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Well what can I say, the place was perfect..
clean dorms, good showers, friendly atmosphere, free coffee (instant) but hey your a backpacker..so shut up!
Wifi access, great location (within stumbling distance of fat monkeys)
Devin, the owner is an english speaking expat who also speaks the local language, and can help organize things for you... I needed a motorcycle to rent and he drove me to a renter and said a few words in Lao, and next thing I know Im riding away on the cheapest price in town.
Cheers Dev see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianluca225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

In a beautiful city like this it was great to be treated in a complimentary way. The Lao people are so kind and chilllao is no exception. I would recommend this guest house to anyone planning on staying in Vang Vieng. English and Lao staff were more than happy to help us get the most of our time here at the best prices. Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel 2
0.3 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 99 in Vang Vieng
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vangvieng Backpackers Hostel
Vangvieng Backpackers Hostel
#6 of 53 in Vang Vieng
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

Property: Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Address: 100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of town, close to all that Vang Vieng has to offer. English speaking staff, Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning (optional), Dorms, triple rooms, etc. Just tell the tuk-tuk driver "chill Lao" and you will be on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing