We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here with a friend in a twinroom. Our room was really dirty and the beds were more like wooden bunks. Saw a cockroach in my bed. I did meet some nice people, but you can get a way better room somewhere else, for the same ammount of money. We ended up going to the place across the street, was a lot better, clean and for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chill V, Owner at Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Firstly, I'd like to apologize for your experience with Southeast-Asias common little bugs but all of our twin rooms are on the 3rd floor where no cockroaches could ever be.

Our bunks have always been metal barrack style actually made by the military so you may have mixed our place up with another one nearby as they all look very similar and some have VERY similar names.

Regardless, I hope you have had an enjoyable stay in Laos and I wish the best to you in your future endeavors, travels, etc.

-Dev :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

Everything in one place . Bless the staff here for being so kind in so many ways. Vv is magnificent and it sure helped having Terri there to answer all my questions... The guy can literally hook u up with anything ! Ciao

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ppmmuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great people, great atmosphere, and the owner goes out of his way to see to all your needs. Very good prices too. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay... They give you good prices too for trips, bus tickets, the cheapest in town. And the place right next door has the greatest fruit pancakes in the world. What else do you need??

Room Tip: Water pressure is the weakest (but still good most of the time) on the top floor, but it is a good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sytse-z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great basic hostel on the main strip of in Vang Vieng. A bed in the dorms cost me 2.50$, cheapest that I encountered on my entire 4 months of travelling through South East Asia. That being said, it's very basic..so don't be expecting anything fancy. It's got everything that you need though, free coffee, secure lock up for your possessions and friendly/insightful staff! It was really nice to see a fellow canadian again (behind the front counter). The only complaint I have was the bathrooms...a bit grungey..but like I said basic. Also they put mosquito coils out at night because there are no screens on the windows, I would suggest having a bug net on hand. I slept on the bottom bunk and just squeezed it through the boards above me. The owner also matched us on our bus ticket prices to 4000 Islands. Super nice!
Definitely stay here if you're on a budget and looking for some friendly staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloé G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Really good value rooms and dorm beds here. 20000 for a dorm. Free coffee and drinking water and towel/soap/toilet paper. Owned by a really sound Canadian chap. Guy's a hero and as chilled as you like living up to the hostel name. He's also great with the info on vang vieng.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRGirdlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

definitely the place to stay in vang vieng, lives up to the name! Everyone around was great backpackers and hostel owner alike. Devin (owner) was fantastic he knew everything and was amazingly helpful! Motorbikes, waterfalls, bars, markets, buses, hot air balloon rides etc...Thank you for everything and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeLouise773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great hostel just outside main strip. Really friendly and helpful owners that can recommend the best things to do and places to hire cheap scooters! Rooms were clean and cheap - had private double room with hot shower for not a lot of kip! Communal area good to meet others, spent many nights drinking and playing cards and the free coffee was great the next morning! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amywhite86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 26 in Vang Vieng
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Army Barracks Hostel
Army Barracks Hostel
#2 of 57 in Vang Vieng
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.1 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#7 of 101 in Vang Vieng
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

Address: 100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of town, close to all that Vang Vieng has to offer. English speaking staff, Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning (optional), Dorms, triple rooms, etc. Just tell the tuk-tuk driver "chill Lao" and you will be on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing