We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good grub”
Review of Veggie Tables

Veggie Tables
Ranked #26 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Good grub”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We only went there the once and I must admit the food was good and I am a meat eater, staff and manager friendly and chatty, importantly it was reasonably priced.The WiFi in here was fairly fast as others who have used WiFi in Vang Vieng will testify it can be very slow. The Lao beer was cold and we enjoyed the overall experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I suspect it is not organic”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a pumpkin burger and a tofu burger each as well as a tea and a mango lassi. Also tried the spring rolls.
It took a very long time for the food to come out, one of the 3 staff left on his motorbike 3 times while we waited to buy single ingredients... clearly really disorganised. The burgers were completely free of flavour and very dry, each one had a ridiculous amount of lettuce on it, presumably the old trick to make it look bigger. Asked for peanut sauce when we ordered, it came out much later and we had to pay extra for the weird tasting sauce to put on our cold burgers. The chips were soggy and terrible. I saw no evidence of organic ingredients being used. Spring rolls were pretty good. Saw other tables which were getting meals individually at 5-10 minute intervals. Don't go with a group. Our mango lassi was made with unripe mango and was really unappealing. Overpriced as well. Sorry for my harsh criticism but I am a chef. :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leeluu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Food”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Being a vegetarian was so delighted to see the restaurant. Beyond that the food was great too. The service was nice and friendly and its a nice quiet and peaceful in there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rohankothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian food in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We've had an amazing experience with this cafe despite all previous bad reviews. As for me this is the best food you can get in Vang Vieng for fairly small price. We've been twice there, first time ordered pesto spaghetti and veggie rice with tofu - was delicious!!! second time soup - the best broth I've had in South Asia. Also they serve cheapest tea and Lao coffee (only 3000 kip). Highly recommend this place!!!

Actually need to mention that tea in Laos is problem (kind of) and doesn't matter where you go (unless its 5 star restaurant) you will get the same Lipton tea only price will be different. So far I've seen Lipton tea at price of 5000 (the most common) and up to 15000 kip. Be aware))

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheremetushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's OK, fairly standard veggie fare in country where it's not always easy to be veggie”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Went at lunch time. Staff were friendly, food not too tardy appearing. Went for a noodles with tofu, nice enough, maybe could've done with something a bit more (more veg perhaps) but it filled the gap.

Helpful?
Thank CJBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Veggie Tables also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Veggie Tables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing