We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“same same, but different”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viman Vang Vieng

Viman Vang Vieng
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: German, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: This restaurant has original dishes as in Thailand and Germany, where the cook comes from.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“same same, but different”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Viman does a original and creative cooking. Both thaï and german dishes are very nice, surprising, home-made radler is so refreshing, and it's very fun to have a currywurst by the river in Vang Vieng!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antoine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    82
    25
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Holy schnitzel!!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Kaz is an amazing chef and an interesting character. The chicken and pork schnitzel blew my mind. I highly recommend this place and his homemade Radler which you might need to drink slowly as sometimes he can be very busy but the food is definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Inhaber at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you my dear and thank you for all my lovely guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious food!!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

For schnitzel, worth the wait!!!! I hate beer but I loved his homemade radler kaz is the man! He was working the room like no other

Helpful?
Thank Elunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All About Kaz”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Kaz (the owner) is the main attraction at Viman.
Considering this is one of maybe 3 places to eat on this side of the bridge in Viang Vang, it is worth the experience. Viang Vang is far from a foodie destination. For value, head to the snack stalls around the corner for some simple noodle soup and papaya salad, but if you want a little more ambiance than a stool on the dirt road, this place is worth it. Kaz is very entertaining - he will tell you all about how his very confusing menu (organized by price in ascending order, as opposed to course or even breakfast lunch and dinner) was once 300 pages long (later he said 200 pages, but who cares?) He is very proud of his Thai-German heritage, so much so that he claims to import everything from Thailand (including the average tomato he used for our salad).
The papaya salad was decent, and the Tom Yum was good enough (nothing compared to what we had in Thailand). To be fair, we didn't try his German food, not a fan in schnitzel in general, but it is probably good.

The Radler - Beer mixed with lemonade and ice, and put in the blender, now that is the main event. Drink one (or three) of those, look out over the bridge and just let Kaz spin a yarn. This is definitely a unique experience, full of character, and he is happy to entertain you. We appreciated his enthusiasm (and verbose signage) and found ourselves returning the next morning for breakfast (Dinner was better, but no regrets).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juls11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Inhaber at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Julia,

after a few days I feel responsible to clarify some points of your review.
Let me first express my thanks to your twice visits!

It was fun having you as guests but it should not mean that the entertainment has more meaning than the cousines.

I apologise that in Vang Vieng rarely to get the main ingredients for Tom Yam. As you said tomatoes ( and I used tamarind as old Thais do - only here in Laos- naturally Thai Tamarind! ) and co. come from Thailand, anyway many and more fresh herbs are from my organic garden or from neary villages!
So I understand you and agree with that one can get better in Thailand.
But where can one get best and so original in Laos?!

Due to my very confusing menu:
Onces it was for exemple for "Thai-Curry" with has over million kinds ( and also for any Thai foods too! ) filled a book, it should be as a menu not bible! so now the guest has just 3-4 pages menu and you has just "Thai Curry any Kind" to read. And the whole purpose, the design my menu is to oppose the "Fast Food Menu", which you see mostly over Vang Vieng.
Anyway I have also the sets of menus ( 3-4 courses ) and I cook any what one orders for Thai and German foods.

Dear Julie! I love to entertain you. But never do I've interest as stage entertainer, but prefer staying as a passionated cook and try to be best of Vang Vieng.

Love and always welcome!
Your sincerely
Kaz.Freiburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, nice & quiet place”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Escaping from the busy main road in Vang Vieng, I spent a couple of days on Paradise Island after meeting Mr Kaz, who fed me for 3 days. The unique Radler was just perfect after rock climbing in the sun and trying different kinds of meals (fantastic Schnitzel, very special papaya salad to name but a few) convinced me that leaving the noisy part of VV was the best thing I could do then. The excellent chef and friendly entertainer even helped me to get one of the nice bungalows next door. One of the best restaurants I have been to, but don't expect to get any fast food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maredro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viman Vang Vieng also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Viman Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing