We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viman Vang Vieng

Viman Vang Vieng
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: German, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: This restaurant has original dishes as in Thailand and Germany, where the cook comes from.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Mr Kaz is a Thai chef now living in Vang Vieng. My husband and I each had laap (fish and beef) at his restaurant and it was by far the best we had in our three weeks in Laos. After we had ordered the laap Mr Kaz went downstairs to his herb garden to pick the herbs for the lapp then indulged us in showing us the herbs and sharing why he had chosen them whilst we drank the gorgeous Radler everyone mentions. We LOVED the food and returned in the evening for dinner and yes his Schnitzel is definitely worth seeking out - FABULOUS. The restaurant is a quiet haven overlooking the river and Mr Kaz is the most charming and interesting of men. A kind and generous soul whose heart is thrown into his cooking. Do go there, its not far from the main highway and most definitely worth the small effort of seeking out. Annoyingly we discovered the restaurant on our last day. Mr Kaz, a great big thank you from Tony and Val.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VCully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    82
    25
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Great german food from Mr. Kaz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here for lunch on Xmas eve, partly because we fancied a little bit of home (we both live in munich at the moment).

We had the Wiener Schnitzel and the Bratwurst, both were handmade by Mr. Kaz, the chef, and both were excellent.

The service was great and he took the time to come around the tables and chat to all of the guests. He was especially proud of his homemade Radler!

The only improvement point from my side is that he could do with a second set if hands as he was managing everything himself - cooking and waiting. Maybe it's different at dinner time, but for lunch it resulted it waiting a while for the good. No an issue though, as the restaurant is right be the river so you can just chill and relax.

The restaurant is located across the river from the main part of Vang Vieng and can be easily walked via the a bridge that connects the restaurant to the mainland. It's the biggest bridge here with stone supports. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Ast29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in vang Vieng, great for gluten free travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Mr Kaz was so lovely and helpful and cooked us the most delicious meal with fresh herbs. He runs the place completely alone so be patient as he deals with each table in turn. I'm a coeliac so need gluten free meals, I suffered elsewhere in Laos but Mr Kaz was very understanding, I only wish I'd discovered the place sooner when visiting vang vieng. This is the best place to eat in the town and the food was brill by any standards, let alone laos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fylogypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Inhaber at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Monosodium glutamate( MSG ) is usually containing in typical Laos Foods, wellknown here as the most selling "seasoning"!
Viman Vang Vieng is one of the less restaurants with homemade seasonings and very fresh garden herbs, free from MSG. I feel resposiblity for cooking "green foods" and I am thankful for your telling Tripadvisor readers about where one gets it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achel
1 review
“Fresh from the herb garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

On Mr. Kaz' quiet riverside terrace, we had the best laap so far and an excellent Thai curry. His service is fantastic. He even got up early to make us a tasty rice soup for breakfast! What a relief after the same sameness around here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natenbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“same same, but different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Viman does a original and creative cooking. Both thaï and german dishes are very nice, surprising, home-made radler is so refreshing, and it's very fun to have a currywurst by the river in Vang Vieng!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antoine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VimanV, Manager at Viman Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests!

Viman Vang Vieng is now in the new address at the street, which from the old airport or city entrance leads to Silver Naga Hotel and Hospital. The Restaurant has now music bar for jam session and a gallery. I enjoy to meet you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viman Vang Vieng also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Viman Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing