We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vieng Tara Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vieng Tara Villa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazing location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

this hotel is located in an amazing place, inside the ricefield, facing the mountains. take the villa not the bungalows which do not have the same view.
the staff is very very nice, sou is amazing, and thom is great too.
Sou made our stay perfect.
the villa is not managed at his best: the room is not made sometimes, wifi not working all the time, but i would say that you do not come for this.
we has dinner and it was really good, as good as the amazing breakfast.
Our stay will stay an amazing memory thanks to the very kind staff and location, thank you sou for everything!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sl17000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veingtara, Resort Representative at Vieng Tara Villa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for for staying with us. We are truely happy to hear that you got the good memory during time at our resort. Sometime our guest may would like to upload and share their impression on any social network immediately, so we will try to improve the quality of wifi network and hope to have a chance to serve you next visit.

Sou and his friend will be always waiting to serve all guests with service mind.

Best regards,
Vieng Tara Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    51
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
19
88
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely quiet setting with beautiful surroundings. Villas are the best. Perfect romantic getaway. A bit far from town center but easy by bicycle. Excellent rooms with all amenities. Can very easily hang around the villa the whole day instead of going into 'town'. Great restaurant and breakfast in the open with lovely views.
Value for money it's on the expensive side(US$60-70/night). But then again they only have four villas.

Room Tip: Any of the four villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srk0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in one of the four villas with an amazing location right in the rice field. The room was very nicely furnished and had great guest amenities. Cleanliness was a bit of an issue. It looked like the room wasn't used for a while and housekeeping wasn't in there before we checked in.
The hotel only opened in January (I think), but the place looks already much older.
The staff was very friendly and tried to help as much as they can, but they obviously haven't had enough training yet and didn't really know their way around, as they have just started the company.
Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay a lot - mostly due to the amazing location.

Room Tip: There is a very big difference between the standard bungalows and the villas - I don't recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiniccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful villas and bungalows. We as a couple absolutely loved this place. It is so peaceful and the staff is extremely kind and helpfull. Brandnew bungalows. The view is amazing with the ricefields and mountains on the background. Breakfast was delicious. Rooms are super clean. Also, Viang Tara villa's are located on the other side of the river, which is much better since this is the most beautiful part of town. Definately worth the price!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The view from the restaurant and villa's is probably one of the best in town, but you can get more comfort at half the price at other places.

There are two types of rooms, the cheaper bungalow and the more expensive villa. Both are bamboo and wooden cottages on an elevated concrete platform. The bungalow is very basic and small (approx 15 sq meters), with only a double bed, a desk, a/c, fridge and a bar with 4 clothes hangers, serving as closet. There is no chair or place to hang towels. The front door only closes when locked and because of cracks, does not keep out all insects. The bathroom is really small: When showering the toilet gets wet. The shower is a hand-held. (be carefully after finishing your shower, because when you turn off the water, 30 seconds later the shower head will suddenly release very hot steam and water). Our room was not serviced on a daily basis (while plenty of staff around doing nothing). The little balcony has no seats, only a big cushion. The view is on the river, but you can also see a bit of the carst mountains. The villas have the better views, but the room is even smaller than the cheaper bungalow, but it looks at bit better, has coffee/tea making facilities and the bathroom is bigger and more comfortable.
The breakfast is fine, but (western) choice is limited.
This all would have been perfectly fine if it was in the middle of nowhere, but it isn't. For this price level rooms are really below par, but in return you'll get a nice view (from the villa or the restaurant) and also the general setting of the hotel is really nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Pol de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is located within a working rice paddy, with eight small buildings jumping out of the paddies connected by paths. By day you see the local mountains and the river, along with birds flying and sometimes people working the rice, by night you hear nature all around you.

The hotel is located on the west side of the river, away from the noise and bustle of the town. There are two bridges to cross- the free bamboo bridge on the north (then walk along the river for a couple hundred meters) or the car bridge which will charge you a modest 4k kip to walk across (more for cars and bikes). You are well located for either meals and shopping in town, or walks and pictures.

Service was excellent, very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was great and very flexible, including a generous serve of local fruit.

We also had a dinner at the restaurant- excellent Lao food.

Wireless internet is provided from reception and may reach some rooms.

Room Tip: Bungalows are near the river, villas nearer the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taolxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The first thing that strikes the visitor when coming to the Vieng Tara Villa is the fact that this is neither a hotel nor a resort. It's a group of bungalows and villas in the middle of a rice field which is actually being worked by the farmers of the place. Therefore, views from the stilt houses guests live in are amazing. We went there because of the high ratings and we believe they are well deserved. Breakfast is good, abundant, and rooms are well equipped with a touch of Lao culture in the decor. The only noise that will keep you awake is that of crickets, frogs, and other kinds of animals. And, on top of all, staff is attentive and kind. They even went to buy our mobile phone top up cards at no cost. Oh, all this at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows, B4. Even if that was great, I think it's worth investing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZigorAldama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 21 in Vang Vieng
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 21 in Vang Vieng
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieng Tara Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieng Tara Villa

Property: Vieng Tara Villa
Address: 111 Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng 82995, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieng Tara Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vieng Tara Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing