We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful”
Review of Vieng Tara Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vieng Tara Villa
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was the perfect place for us to experience vang vieng. The location is great with spectacular views. Its just across the river from the main town so is really peaceful. It is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of vang vieng, although this does include a toll bridge... However it only around 30p per return journey for a pedestrian.

The restaurant serves really good food, we ate at there for 2 out of our 3 nights because you can't get views like it anywhere in town!

We stayed in a bungalow which I think are a good price and spacious. We didn't have a problem with insects apart from a fair few ants.

The only complaint we had was that we weren't told that rooms were only cleaned on request. After not having it cleaned after the first night we asked specifically the next day but for some reason it still wasn't cleaned so we had to take our bin bags to reception and ask for new ones.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BSmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Firstly, let me say that the place is beautiful, absolutely stunning. The view was as good as any in the world (from the Villas) and for that alone I am happy I stayed there.

However, my poor review will hopefully act as a kick up the bum to the people who are running the place. They didn't create the view, several million years of shifting rock formations did. What they have done is created some nice villas (didn't see the bungalows, but they looked a bit small and restricted) with a comfortable bed and lovely views.

But it is important they don't stop there.Because currently they have. As a previous reviewer has said - there is a toll bridge which you are not informed about whilst booking. It was a mega pain to be ripped off to the tune of 30,000 Kip by a tuk tuk driver, and dropped at a bridge to pay a further 8,000 Kip to haul our luggage, (2 suitcases, one pram, and a 10 month old baby) across a rickety bridge and about 500m through wet and muddy roads.

Once there, the welcome was a little cold. Information was sparse.We were shown to our room, which as mentioned is really very nicely decorated with an excellent bathroom and nice amenities. The internet was poor and intermittent. There was a large space on the wall where a TV should have been but was not. No communication as to why this was.

The next day as we ventured out, we left our key - gone for 2 hours on return, our room had still not been cleaned which was disappointing. Also my requests for chairs to be put on the balcony had been seemingly ignored. The room was later cleaned to a good standard, I must admit.

I just felt that with a little care and attention the place could be amazing, the staff need to understand that customer service is free, and really helps. All the man at reception appeared to do all day was surreptitiously smoke around the back of his reception, which although hidden to those who were arriving was in plain sight to our villa. More communication (pre stay and during the stay), warmer welcome and friendlier staff would make this place instantly better. It is very easy to change.

We never got the chairs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mahindra_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really enjoy our stay in this place. We stayed one night in the bungalow and one night in the villa. Quality - price of this place is really good. Both accommodations were clean, spacious and with all necessary amenities. To reach the hotel you will be required to pay a small fee to cross the bridge ( public pathway) but it will be worth it. The breakfast is a la carte and really good (and include in the rate of the room). People really attentive and helpful. Only good things to say about this place

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veingtara, Resort Representative at Vieng Tara Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property to stay during your trip in Vang Vieng. We are glad to hear that you are very happy to stay at our property and satisfy with our service. Our customer may need to pay for the public bridge in order to cross the river but we just arrange free long tail boat in order to cross Song River to our resort (advance notice is required).

Hope to have a chance to serve you next visit at Vang Vieng.

Thank you,
Vieng Tara Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just stayed two nights at the Vieng Tara Villa Hotel. It is a brand-new accommodation that opened in Jan 2014. Be warned- they are still working the kinks out. The four villas and four bungalows + a reception area and restaurant are built across the river from Vang Vieng, literally over the rice paddies. You can't beat the ambiance - it's quiet, gorgeous, and everywhere you look is postcard-worthy. A raised platform connects the villas and the way they have set it up has a lot of potential. The staff is extremely friendly & nice. The restaurant food is decent with a million dollar view. The internet did not work for the majority of the time we were there and the tv in our room did not work at all (it's the World Cup for crying out loud!).
HOWEVER - Here are a few pieces of advice before booking a room here.
1) Book a villa. Don't bother with a bungalow. They are small, cramped, and don't have a view.
2) As I mentioned above, the hotel is located across the river from the town. The ONLY way to get across this river is over a privately-owned bridge. The owner charges 4,000 kip per person to walk across and 15,000 kip for every vehicle that drives across. Therefore your tuktuk driver will likely drop you off at the bridge. Be prepared to haul your suitcase over the river and about .5 km down a muddy road to reach the hotel. The hotel does not provide a pick up service.
3) The reception will try to sell you a day trip with TCK tours. The full day kayaking/tubing/elephant cave tour is listed as $40 per person. BUT when we walked into town and priced the tour at the TCK office, turns out that tour is only 85,000 kip or ~$11 per person. I understand a hotel charging a small commission but upselling by 400% is outrageous.
4) Same thing happened with the mini bus from Vang Vieng to Vientiane. They charge 70,000 kip and say that the mini bus will pick up right at the hotel. Turns out the mini bus WILL NOT pick you up at the hotel. It will stop at the town-side of the bridge. Also the mini bus price is 40,000 kip if you buy it from the office in town.

Long story short, because of it's remote location, Vieng Tara Villa feels much more authentic than the Riverside Boutique Hotel or some of the other nicer accommodations in town, but it has a ways to go before it can charge more than $55 per villa per night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veingtara, Resort Representative at Vieng Tara Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, it's our pleasure to have a chance to serve you in the past few days. Please accept our apologize for any inconvenience cause during your stay. Concern about the way to come to our resort, you are able to come by using the bridge but it's owned by outsource not government, so the fee is required. On the other way, we also provide free long-tail boat to cross the river to our resort, advance notice is required.

Concern about Kayak, our resort provides private tour instead of join tour, so the price will be more expensive. We may consider to improve this service by offering variety of programs for our guest to select in the future. The Wifi will be our first priority to improve, this project will be finished within next week.

However, another issues that you raised will be taken in our mind to improve. We plan to update every steps of improvement and communicate with our guest on the FaceBook, so you may follow us to see our improvement.

Last but not least, all of your comments will be taken in our mind and we will try to improve and develop our service to meet all guest's satisfaction. We hope to have a chance to serve you next time.

Best regards,
Vieng Tara Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed bungalows with either mountain views or riverside. Peaceful and stunning setting located close to everything. Fantastic staff that can't do enough to help you and organise tours/busses etc. one if the best places I've stayed while travelling.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jameswilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veingtara, Resort Representative at Vieng Tara Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us. It's our pleasure to welcome you and hope to have a chance to serve you in the near future.

Thank you,
Vieng Tara Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in the villa for 3 nights in June. Set apart from the main village, this beautiful residence is quietly tucked away. The villas are connected to the reception by a 2 foot high catwalk that stretches over the paddy fields that surround all the villas, the view of the karsts is magnificent.The villa was stylish, have hot water, tv, aircon and outdoor seating area. Breakfast which was included was tasty and plentiful. Dinner we eat was proper thai food which is served in an outside eating area. really enjoyed our stay. would recommend.

please note there is no swimming poor even though we rated one although there is a river we saw children playing in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veingtara, Resort Representative at Vieng Tara Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us. Hope you enjoy our service and will come back to our resort again next time. The swimming pool is not available at the resort but as your comment, mostly guests will play the natural water in Song River nearby the hotel only few steps.

Hope we have a chance to serve you next time.

Best regards,
Vieng Tara Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

this hotel is located in an amazing place, inside the ricefield, facing the mountains. take the villa not the bungalows which do not have the same view.
the staff is very very nice, sou is amazing, and thom is great too.
Sou made our stay perfect.
the villa is not managed at his best: the room is not made sometimes, wifi not working all the time, but i would say that you do not come for this.
we has dinner and it was really good, as good as the amazing breakfast.
Our stay will stay an amazing memory thanks to the very kind staff and location, thank you sou for everything!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sl17000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veingtara, Resort Representative at Vieng Tara Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for for staying with us. We are truely happy to hear that you got the good memory during time at our resort. Sometime our guest may would like to upload and share their impression on any social network immediately, so we will try to improve the quality of wifi network and hope to have a chance to serve you next visit.

Sou and his friend will be always waiting to serve all guests with service mind.

Best regards,
Vieng Tara Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 26 in Vang Vieng
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 26 in Vang Vieng
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 26 in Vang Vieng
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 26 in Vang Vieng
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieng Tara Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieng Tara Villa

Address: 111 Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng 82995, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieng Tara Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vieng Tara Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing