We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

On dropping in was told fully booked. Little good accommodation in Vang Vieng so with no luck at the better establishments went online and found it available via booking.com. Obviously didn't like the look of me when cold calling. The location/views are magnificent, this is what you are paying for but still way overpriced compared to nearby accommodation. The room was very clean and spacious but absolutely bare. No TV, or wardrobe space, just a couple of wall hooks for hanging clothes and one small chest of drawers. More importantly it didn't even have a fridge. Had to keep the noisy air conditioning on all night to drown out the noise of the 3 air conditioning units situated outside our room window, otherwise would have made do with the ceiling fan. Gardens very well kept and restaurant setting beautiful, right on the river, fantastic views.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    58
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
18
93
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

A secluded and quiet hotel, facing the river and the karst mountains, set in a relaxing and well tended garden.
Simple but more then adequate rooms, the front rooms having a wonderful view, the back rooms being probably a little less pleasant.
Nice staff, could just be a little more smiling.
Nice restaurant over the river, good diner (especially considering other available options in Vang Vieng).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatBoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

We ended up here by accident - we checked out the place next door Thavonsuk which was really bad. The grounds here are really nice, it is at the quieter end of town and because of the higher prices you are not stuck with backpackers and rowdy people. Unfortunately however the higher prices don't mean nice rooms - the rooms are very average - there are quite a lot of mosquitos but no mosquito nets and if you get a room not facing the river it is obviously not as nice (yet same price as those facing the river!!). It is quite dark. But it is most likely better than anything else on offer in town. Although the grounds and people are quiet the neighbouring hotel was blaring music until past midnight. This is not the hotel's fault but unfortunate. The grounds are great, the views are great, the variety of snacks and drinks and their price was good. The food was average though much better than other places in town. Vang Vieng has so much potential yet it does not appear that there are high quality or high end places in town - this place has potential but still needs work. Vang Vieng just needs some competition in town to lift the standards of places.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

This was the third time we have stayed at Villa Nam Song having visited in 2006, 2007 and 2010. Each stay has been very enjoyable and the staff could not have been more helpful.
This time (October 2010) we were a large group of motorcycle adventure riders. (20pax)
Everyone in the group had a wonderful stay, the food was great and the riverside location is hard to beat

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Loved this place. It has the best views of the cliffs and the river.
And you a right in the middle of town, yet very quite location.
The staff could not be more helpful.
While the rooms are sparse, they contain everything you need.
And if you need anything or help, just ask the general magaer, Hussein is great.
From this location you can easily take a boat ride up the river.
Also, if you do the tubde ride, you are walking distance to end of the journey as wll as the retun of the tubes, back to the shop.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpmenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

We were placed at this resort from a package tour we had booked.We were told that they always put the Americans and Brits here as it is alittle more upscale and quieter than others in town.Rooms were adequite there is no TV,the a/c was very loud.The grounds were beautiful and the sunsets great.Resturant was good also food probaly batter than in town.There was no place to lay outside and read a book besides some hard benches. Managment seemed interested in you having a good stay. Highest price in town for a room but no rowdy backpackers to worry about so it's a wash.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

If I learnt one thing when planning this trip and using tripadvisor.... don't ignore the negative reviews just because the place looks nice or is one of your last options in town!!

The Good: The location! Couldn't be better - away from the backpackers, riverfront views from the restaurant. The food. The 2IC (girl with reddish/orange hair in the restaurant - her english is great, her attitude and dedication to making sure you have a good time is second to none.

The Bad: The rooms! Unbelievable!!! For the prices this guy charges its utterly ridiculous. For $65 USD a night (room only) you get very little. Insufficient lighting (seriously dark rooms) no safe, no minibar, toiletries that literally define single use (pity if there are two in a room!) no alarm clock. The other thing to be aware is that half of the rooms are at the BACK of the building, so no views except of a narrow path and garden. Lastly.. no reception! All check in./out and tour enquiries are done in the managers office. I previously worked in 5 stay hotels for 5 years taking corporate clients to various international destinations. A good reception creates a neutral atmosphere. Meeting in an office is a business transaction and thats what the environment felt like. Finally there is NO internet at this place... almost a joke when you can get free wi-fi by buying a can of coke at a cafe in town.

The Ugly: The manager. I hate making reviews personal but he truly is the one and only reason we had a disappointing stay. Upon check in there was some confusion over the prices (my fault, Id booked the Internet Package which included dinner and 1 tour for two ppl - however the price was Per Person and I thought it was per night. The information on the website is unclear at best). Due to my questioning the managers comments his tone turned very quickly. Matters got worse when he asked us what time we would be taking dinner in the restaurant. Dinner was included in the package if you recall. It was NYE and we hadn't made specific plans - I knew there was a Gala Dinner but the manager had failed to email the prices or information. As a result we were told it was "only a little bit more...just an extra $56 USD" for dinner (it's Laos!!!! $56 USD is two days food budget!). When we declined he became more agitated as he claimed we had confirmed that we would attend the dinner as ALL the other guests would be aswell.

In the end we were offered a separate set menu. After heading into town we bumped into some fellow travellers and ended up having a few drinks and returning to the hotel around 9pm. In the morning we were practically scolded for not being at the dinner the night before and the manager insisted on getting a specific time from us that we wold eat dinner that night. We confirmed a time and then were kept waiting 30 mins before anyone would serve us any food.

The same thing happened with the prepaid tour... we committed to a time and then were kept waiting 30 mins before the staff member was ready to go.

Having had dealt with the most lovely Cambodian and Laos locals on our trip, dealing with this man was very difficult. It was the sarcasm, short comments, and judging tone of voice. It was the awkward comments about separating our bed when we were shown to our room even though I had specifically booked the room as a double for my partner (male) and I (male).

The final straw that broke the camels back was he was unable to process our account by credit card. When you are paying a $270 USD bill that's a HELL of a lot of Kip (2.3 million actually!) We tried two credit cards but his machine failed. He blamed the Laos bank system. Id paid rooms in Laos/Cambodia via paypal or an online gateway. Here's a man who claims to be raising the quality in Vang Vieng and he sent us into town at 8pm to withdraw 2.3 million kip and walk back. Not cool.

Overall, this place is fantastic for tour groups of travellers who like a very regimented routine. We like SOME freedom to chose when and where we will eat and while by no means having crazy expectations, we expect some standards for the prices paid and to feel welcome in a hotel that we are paying for.

Out of the 9 hotels we stayed in, numerous attractions we did, tours we went on, this is the only negative review I have given :(

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ads77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#10 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng

Property: Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Address: Ban Viengkeo Village | Near the River Banks of Nam Song, beside the Boat station, Vang Vieng 54124, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nam Song Hotel is the 1st hotel to operate in Vang Vieng, Laos. A charming hotel in Vang Vieng located near the Nam Song River and the beautiful lime stone mountains with great hotel gardens. A 3 hour drive from Vientiane, or a 6 hour drive from Luang Prabang. It is the ideal place for a stopover on the road to Luang Prabang, or for getaway week-ends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng
Hotel Nam Song Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing