We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A two star (western standard) in a perfect location, bit overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A two star (western standard) in a perfect location, bit overpriced.”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Situated in a beautifully manicured garden, this hotel is in a perfect location, right on the river , facing the dramatic karstic mountains. It is a bit of a boutique hotel. The terrace overlooking the river is a nice place to take an evening drink at sunset (use your insect repellent though) and also where you have a quiet morning breakfast. The rooms are not worth the 100$ they are charging though. A bottle of shampoo in the bathroom does not make a 3 star hotel. No TV, no cupboard , no safe, pretty basic!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    58
    44
    15
    5
See reviews for
18
94
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I must agree with another review, this place is a scam. I had booked this ahead as I liked the pictures, and I had a lot of trouble in Vientiane getting a hotel as everything was full. A room like this would cost $35.00 in Vientiane and I paid $120.00!!! The room: a dungeon, no refrigerator, very dim lights, nowhere to put anything, no wardrobe, minute bathroom, no safe, no chairs. The restuarant was in a delightful setting but then so are many riverside hotels here, but: expensive drinks, tinned mushrooms, tinned pineapple for breakfast need I say more. The place itself has beautiful gardens and most rooms have an outside seating area (shared) . It's a lot to pay for a pleasant garden atmosphere Wish I'd just arrived and found something myself there was a lot of choice available.. this in mid November.. very disapointed

Room Tip: They all looked to be, dark, small and dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaScaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Vientiane and felt very lucky that we had chosen such a nice hotel with lovely gardens, beautiful views and friendly staff. We enjoyed dinner on the terrace soaking up the atmosphere. Vang Vieng itself is a rather scruffy town but the countryside along the river is fabulous.

Room Tip: The river view rooms have a little terrace which is nice to enjoy the those fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

LOCATION: Right by the Nam Song River overlooking the mountains. Excellent location for a sunset drink. A short walk to town centre. Right by the long boat rental pier.
HOTEL: We booked and paid for our stay via a travel agency, and apparently this meant no check-in and no check-out. Staff simply gave us the room key, no signature nor passport details needed. At check-out, we handed back the room key to a bellboy. Quite strange. Lots of mosquitoes and ants in the room. Simple, but dusty room. Ceiling not watertight during the rain. Slow sink water drainage. OK shower. Good Lao dinner served at the restaurant.
CONCLUSION: Good location. OK for a short stay outside the rainy season.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent two nights here on the trip from Luang Prabang to Vientianne.

Location:
This hotel is in an excellent location - just away (but within walking distance) from the main town and downstream from the excesses of the bars on the river Nam Song - so no noise. The gardens are beautifully maintained.
Rooms:
We had a river front view with a shaded verdandah in front of our bedroom window. The room was clean, we had a ceiling fan as well as air con and mosquito nets - all worked. There is no in room safe and no hairdryer although a hairdryer is available to borrow from reception - would have been nice if to have these in our room. We had plenty of hot water in the shower so no complaints there. Relaxing on the verdandah after the drive down from Luang Prabang was excellent.
Restaurant/Food:
Again the restaurant is in an excellent location overlooking the river. Breakfast was included in our deal. The breakfast was adequate, not exciting - on our second morning we were presented with scrambled eggs despite ordering omelettes. Silly things spoil the breakfast such as using tinned mushrooms - don't bother fresh local food is always best; service at breakfast was very slow despite that there was only us and one other room occupied.
We ate here on the two evenings and on both occasions had good meals - we did order local food.
Criticism:
Very late into the evening of our second night a family was booked into the adjacent room to ours, despite the late hour their children ran riot over the verdandah waking us. The noise woke us throughout the night - surely the hotel could have told the family that their adjacent room was occupied if this was the only appropriate sized room - the family seem genuinely shocked when we opened the room door in the morning. When we left the next morning, there was no one in reception to hand the key to - we just left it on the desk - seems quite rude to do this.
Overall:
This hotel has potential - it could be excellent with attention to the details we have come to expect. However, I appreciate the current situation in Vang Vieng makes investment and improvements a very tricky problem. Will travellers still come to Vang Vieng if the authorities do not control the bars/activities upstream? The message about Vang Vieng is spreading both to those who frequent the tubing bars and to the ordinary traveller. Encouraging the former, detering the latter. Hoteliers/restaurant owners etc need to get the authorities to get the situation under control.

Room Tip: Has to be a river front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JREDartford_Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and although the hotel is in a very attractive location right on the riverside and with lovely gardens we thought that it was a little overpriced compared to the other excellent hotels we stayed in during a 5 week trip around Indochina. The room was perfectly acceptable although we did have to change rooms due to the air-conditioning breaking in the first room. The room size and facilities were good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good compared to anything else we found in Vang Vieng and we ended up eating all our meals here. The riverside location was perfect for relaxing in the very attractive gardens. The only drawback is the cost, which we found to be somewhat more than we would consider good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1957Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a bed journey from Vientiane to Vang Vieng, We’ve stayed the hotel. It is good-looking; great view, quite, lovely garden, Clean room, comfortable bed. I have had best shower. Good food and very good selection of wines. The hotel would be pleasant if they have a spa. Staffs are helpful; Hotel manager Mr. Hussein is very well. I’ll come back to the hidden paradise.

Room Tip: Garden,mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlover123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 23 in Vang Vieng
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng

Property: Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Address: Ban Viengkeo Village | Near the River Banks of Nam Song, beside the Boat station, Vang Vieng 54124, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nam Song Hotel is the 1st hotel to operate in Vang Vieng, Laos. A charming hotel in Vang Vieng located near the Nam Song River and the beautiful lime stone mountains with great hotel gardens. A 3 hour drive from Vientiane, or a 6 hour drive from Luang Prabang. It is the ideal place for a stopover on the road to Luang Prabang, or for getaway week-ends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng
Hotel Nam Song Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing