We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside location and nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riverside location and nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a riverview room, which despite not being right on the river was a nice, clean room with two single beds pushed together and a small ensuite (with a great shower!). We stayed two nights over new years 2013/14 and booked through agoda - the staff were expecting us and had keys ready when we arrived after our long car trip.

The rooms are set around a small garden and restaurant which looks out onto the river and amazing scenery. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and thought the food was great (as were all our meals in Laos).

The hotel is about a 5min walk from the main "strip" in VV and was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a balcony and close to the entrance of the hotel as they have uninterrupted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingausfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    58
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
18
91
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

On a positive note, the views from the terrace are stunning, the rooms are set in pretty gardens and the reception staff were friendly. However, for the price of this hotel, the rooms fell well below expectation. Clean but basic is a fair description. There was no phone, wardrobe, hair drier , kettle, water, fridge or safe. For a hotel of this price this is unacceptable. In addition, the shower cubicle had no curtain and totally flooded the bathroom when used. We had to get more towels to mop up the floor. The breakfast is the worst in a hotel we had in our 3 weeks - no buffet, you had to choose off a very limited menu and the western options are very poorly executed. The fruit was a basic banana and apple, the plastic textured omelet came with some kind of spam and the bread was not exactly plentiful.
We failed to see why this place can command such high prices. Relative to the other hotels we stayed in on our trip, this hotel would be poor value at half the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Relaxing with a cold beer or cup of tea on the terrace restaurant overlooking the river and mountains and just watching local activity is v therapeutic indeed. Great location. Staff couldn't have been more helpful when we had a slight hiccup with our travel agents. The rooms are basic but clean. Breakfast could be improved but evening menu was v acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R5Bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

you may call it boutique hotel, even if the adjective is too used these days. But it is, thank to the foreign touch (I guess depends from the owner, and for sure from the very attentive and kind hotel manager).
Garden and terrace on the river perfectly compensate the dimension of the rooms (they are small, but OK, clean and nice). I abolutely loved staying there.

Room Tip: if it is available, obviously ask for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Fabulous food, delightful staff & beautiful spot on the river. The food is fresh and well prepared and served by friendly staff in a BEAUTIFUL Riverside garden terrace. The pricing is very even by local standards and surely a bargain for visitors. We plan on revisiting and sampling other dishes from the Lao and Western menu. We ate there during the day and at night--both really enjoyable. The service was excellent as well. There is also a very good wine selection. The house wine is very good and by glass not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundowran Beach, Qld Aus
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

The hotel is set on the banks of the river within a nice garden.
The rooms are what you would call basic just a room and a shower, no tea or coffee making and no TV.
The resurant was adiquate for dinner but fell well short on breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Highly recommend sitting at its restaurant/bar in the morning for the light breakfast and viewing the hot air balloons flying across the mountains on the opposite side of the Nan Song river. Impressive view and it was a good place for reflection and quiet time. The garden was nicely maintained which was an additional plus to staying at the place. The room itself was ok, not bad. we also liked staying at the garden in the dark to count the stars.. though with the mosquitoes

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#14 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#10 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng

Property: Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Address: Ban Viengkeo Village | Near the River Banks of Nam Song, beside the Boat station, Vang Vieng 54124, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nam Song Hotel is the 1st hotel to operate in Vang Vieng, Laos. A charming hotel in Vang Vieng located near the Nam Song River and the beautiful lime stone mountains with great hotel gardens. A 3 hour drive from Vientiane, or a 6 hour drive from Luang Prabang. It is the ideal place for a stopover on the road to Luang Prabang, or for getaway week-ends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng
Hotel Nam Song Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing