We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place allround”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice place allround”
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Chose this based on other reviews here so we had made an email booking, though its as easy just to turn up and stay. Good value for rooms with a view over the river and limestone mountains as you can watch the rafters and water tubers coming past the hotel. Breakfast is reasonable and the friendly staff and owner are knowledgable about the various activities available nearby. A good tour company is VLT just 2 minutes away. Rooms are clean though a little dated but bathrooms have a bath and shower. The busy part of Vang Vieng town is a 5-7 minutes walk away.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    168
    120
    44
    19
See reviews for
42
205
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

What a find! Away from the crowds of Vang Vieng's main drag is a hidden jem. On the river with a green garden and large terrace, the Elephant Crossing Hotel is calm and relaxing. The rooms are simple, stylish and clean, with extra attention paid to the bathrooms - how often do you get a deep bathtub in Asia? fantastic... and with a sliding window out to the views.

We found the price to be good value - you usually need to pay much more for a large room with your own balcony overlooking one of Laos' best views. I felt like I was in the countryside, overloking the river, rice fields and those incredible mountains as a backdrop. Pretty spectacular at sunset, especially with a nice cold BeerLao.

Rachel, Somphanh and their staff really work hard to make people feel welcome and enjoy their stay. They have a wealth of knowledge to share, and welcome families with small children.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

We just had a wonderful stay at the Elephant Crossing - so good it's prompted us to write our first Trip Advisor review. As others have said, the rooms are large and spacious with gorgeous views, lovely furniture, mini-fridge and TV. But the real difference with this hotel is the service. Not only is everyone genuinely friendly and helpful, making for a great atmosphere, but this is the only place we've ever stayed in SE Asia where they've fixed a problem straight away (nothing major - broken light and malfunctioning key socket) - we told them in the morning and it was fixed by the time we got back in the early evening. Plus, they easily have the best food in Vang Vieng (amazing chicken curry!) and even gave us complimentary - and delicious - baguettes for our onward bus journey. Really somewhere special - thank you to the owners for such a lovely stay! Jen & Des, UK.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Hemel_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

Wonderful little boutique-styled hotel on the river, and magnificent views of Vang Vieng's spectacular range of limestone peaks, the river and peaceful farmland beyond. Walk 30m to your right and take a slow boat ride down the river, or go tubing and plop yourself into the water via flying fox up river like all the young 'uns. Close to restaurants and internet cafes on the main road, but quiet and peaceful on its own, topped with impeccable service. Owned by a Lao-Australian couple, they bring a unique combination of modernity and tradition to their hotel. Great for families and people who like serenity and calm. Stayed at the family suite with glass panels that overlook the limestone peaks - a priceless view to wake up to.

  • Liked — The breathtaking view.
  • Disliked — That the fans and air conditioner didn't actually face our beds! Quite a torture if it's a hot night!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jwleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

This hotel is just beautiful - excellent views, lovely outdoor dining over the river, close enough to walk into town in 3 minutes for dinner...but Rachel & Somphan the owners get a great wrap in the book "Ant Egg Soup" about food in Laos so eating in is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pidg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2007

Arrived on the bus from Luang Prabang and walked in. This hotel has everything you need, and everything you want. It's on the riverbank, with lovely views of the limestone karst mountains. The rooms are good, large and well equipped; and you have a balcony. You can dine or have a drink on the riverbank terrace, or in the cool open air Sala. The food is good. The Beer Lao is cold; and the wines are delicious. The staff are suberb, the owners very welcoming. This is a good place to stay. Cost about $30-35. [----]

  • Liked — The friendliness of everyone there
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

What a great place - run by a lao and australian couple, complete in March with a little goat running around the garden - backs onto the river with a great view - if we hadn't been there during slash and burn.Extremely friendly place - very caring
Fan and airconditioner, which was wonderful for those of us who don't like the airconditioner on all night. A bathroom witha sliding window that allows you to watch the view or tv from the bath. About 3 minutes stroll from the main shops, restaurants and massage places - but you can have a traditional Lao massage in your room for $8 usd.
Wonderful

Helpful?
5 Thank kbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savanh Sunset View Resort
Savanh Sunset View Resort
#10 of 23 in Vang Vieng
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing