We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

The hotel is nice but a bit overpriced in my opinion. The rooms are ok, but quite old, the bath was mouldy and the sink was leaking (that was a superior room!). The views are great but then there are a lot of places in vang vieng which have great views.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    157
    105
    37
    18
See reviews for
39
183
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
161 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

I stayed a couple of nights at the Elephant Crossing around Christmas. It's ok, but it has several problems.

One thing you should know, it is in Vang Vieng, not Vientiane which is around 3 hours away.

The first problem was check in. It appeared that only one of the staff knew what she was doing, as we, and other guests tried to get our room keys / find out if rooms were available. The owner / manager (western woman) stayed in the background and did not get involved. We finally got our room, but when we were taken up there we found that someone had already taken it. Further confusion before everything was finally resolved.

The excuse for this later was that the staff were new. My answer is that you should train your staff before inflicting them on your guests. However, I do understand that well trained staff are a problem in Laos. In many places I ate / stayed, there only seemed to be one staff member who was professional.

The room was ok, with good views from a balcony out over the river and hills. However, the seats on the balcony were uncomfortable - not something you could sit on for over half an hour. I'm not sure how old the hotel is, but our bathroom was in need of renovation. There was mould around the bath, and the toilet seat was broken. The water was hot - but the pressure was high enough to be able to stand under the shower.

Breakfast as others have noted was not great. I don't need much, but in a country that produces great coffee why have instant? We got down before nine but there was not much food left. Other guests complained and a couple of fried eggs were put into a greasy buffet container. There was also some hard bread - this in a country that produces fantastic fresh hot baguettes for around US cents 15.

The place is a great place for kids - there is a lawn and a sand pit for them. Those who want somewhere quieter should take note of this.

The Elephant Crossing styles itself as a boutique hotel, but it really needs to raise its standards. It should perhaps look at the Lao Orchid hotel in Vientiane and see what it gets right.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — value
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

As flashpackers on a 5 month trip we thought we would follow the reviews listed and treat ourselves to the Elephant Crossing. Yes its in a great location but there is serious building work infront of the property which we were not advised about. We paid the top price for a beautiful deluxe corner room. What looking at 8 Thai builders all day hammering and drilling and completely blocking the view. The room was ok but the bathroom was dirty with damp and exposed pipes. The owner then explained we had to move next day as she had sold our room to a long term guest sorry if you don't like it check out! Unbelivable. We moved to the other end of the hotel so we could then be disturbed by the more builders hammering and drilling on a new restaurant again to block the views which we all go there for! Breakfast was a random arrangement and each morning they ran out of food and juice which perhaps was restocked or perhaps never was. Even then the bread was stale.

We wanted to pay more, we realise the standards are not the same as Europe but the owner's attitude of if you don't like it move I have a queue of customers. Well thats what makes or breaks a hotel and its breaking this one bad. Don't pay the overinflated prices for staff who couldn't care less about you only your dollars...

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flashpackers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

The World
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Fantastic place, unrivaled views, great to watch life on the river, while enjoying the sunset.

Very comfortable rooms with powerful hot showers (very welcome after a day of activity on the river)

I have to agree 100% with all other reviewers - the staff are the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered in Laos.

An added bonus, if you are traveling with a laptop, they have a reliable WiFi Internet service available.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AGMTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

The hotel is located right on the bank of the Nam Song and overlooks rice paddies and Karst mountains that abound in around Vang Vieng. Waking up every morning and looking out across the river and then to the mountains beyond was a great way to start the day!

The rooms are clean and comfortable. All of them have air-conditioning. The hotel has a variety of rooms including Family, deluxe, doubles and singles so there should be something to suit every ones budget and taste. I stayed in a variety of rooms and can say they were universally good.

The restaurant was undergoing refurbishment while I was there but despite this the food was always great. I never had a bad meal while there. The restaurant provides both Laoation and western foods. Sometimes it is nice to have a change and taste a bit of home. Breakfast consisted of fruit, cereal, coffee, bacon or ham, eggs and toast and was invariably good. You were able to mix and match to your taste as well.

The owners, Rachel and Somphan, and their staff are helpful and friendly. They also have a great knowledge of activities that you can do in Vang Vieng and its surrounds. They can help book activities such as Kayaking down the Nam Song, treking, caving and tubing. They can also help book transport to other parts of Laos. While in Vang Vieng I suggest you make a visit out to the Organic Cafe. The mulberry tea is great.

Overall, I found The Elephant Crossing a really great place to relax, unwind and de-stress. Vang Vieng offered a variety of activities to keep you occupied so you weren't bored. I hope to be able to go back there next year if possible.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank simoncb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

Chose this based on other reviews here so we had made an email booking, though its as easy just to turn up and stay. Good value for rooms with a view over the river and limestone mountains as you can watch the rafters and water tubers coming past the hotel. Breakfast is reasonable and the friendly staff and owner are knowledgable about the various activities available nearby. A good tour company is VLT just 2 minutes away. Rooms are clean though a little dated but bathrooms have a bath and shower. The busy part of Vang Vieng town is a 5-7 minutes walk away.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

What a find! Away from the crowds of Vang Vieng's main drag is a hidden jem. On the river with a green garden and large terrace, the Elephant Crossing Hotel is calm and relaxing. The rooms are simple, stylish and clean, with extra attention paid to the bathrooms - how often do you get a deep bathtub in Asia? fantastic... and with a sliding window out to the views.

We found the price to be good value - you usually need to pay much more for a large room with your own balcony overlooking one of Laos' best views. I felt like I was in the countryside, overloking the river, rice fields and those incredible mountains as a backdrop. Pretty spectacular at sunset, especially with a nice cold BeerLao.

Rachel, Somphanh and their staff really work hard to make people feel welcome and enjoy their stay. They have a wealth of knowledge to share, and welcome families with small children.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
1.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 19 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 19 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 19 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 19 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#14 of 19 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#11 of 19 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing