We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in a strange town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the new Elephant Crossing Hotel (actually it was still being finished outside when we stayed) for one night as part of an organised tour. The hotel is excellent in every respect. The room we had was spacious with a lovely balcony and very efficient air con overlooking the river. There's an excellent pool and a super terrace again overlooking the river. Vang Vieng is a strange place that seems to have grown too quickly (the Hotel brochure said that 10 years ago there were 2 Guest Houses in the town now there are over 100) with only backpacker Guest houses and poor quality eateries; we also noticed quite a lot of noise in the town on the night from 'night clubs' although the Hotel double glazing meant this didn't stop us getting a good nights sleep. The shower in the bathroom was excellent although we (and others in our group) found the spray had a tenancy to spread across the floor into the bathroom entrance- perhaps longer shower curtains could help. Unfortunately one of our group broke her arm tripping over the slight step into the bathroom, personally we didn't find this a problem. One slight problem was that staff on reception didn't spak hardly any English at all.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobBonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

i had a double room for my own and was perfect:i open the windows and i see slow boats on the NamSong and the gorgeous mountains from my terrasse.So relaxing.I wish to take a boat on the beautiful river and in 5 minutes reception organize me 2 boats for me and my friends!they just arrive at the hotel!in a while!i will reccomend this place!hope to come back!

Room Tip: ask river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simpleminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel was superb located, wonderfull view of surrounding mountains and river.
Pro's
-one of the best views we had, but this is thanks to Vang Vieng...
Con's
- service level average
- wifi not very good, not even in the lobby
- not cleanest place we've been in Laos
- hotel quite tricky to find
- restaurant closed already at 21.00 / staff could give a bit more effort
- general impression: hotel in need of an upgrade

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinebergjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed overnight in a comfortable room on a high floor with a spectacular view directly of the river below and mountain scenery, able to watch the passing of cattle and horses on the banks and life of local people. The garden setting is tranquil and well maintained and the dining area on the deck beside the river is a perfect place for romance or relaxation. Excellent value, attentive and helpful staff make for a memorable stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam20092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Elephant Crossing hotel during our stay in Vang Vieng. This place was very good. The rooms were ample and clean, and have a balcony that faces the Mekong river. The bathroom was well kept. And out room was cleaned daily. The rooms don't have a safe, but you can use the hotel's safe at the reception. There was a small mini bar and complimentary water. The hotel is conveniently located just outside (a 10 minute walk) to the center of the town where most bars and larger restaurants are. It is also pretty close to the smaller and perhaps more authentic Laotian eateries in the area.

The breakfast buffet was very good and offered Western and Asian offerings. The service of the hotel's staff was excellent: they were friendly, caring, and accommodating. We'd certainly use this hotel again when visiting Vang Vieng.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CJToti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Location and views great but the hotel needs a lot of work. Our so-called deluxe room had no hot water in the sink, no plug, the tap was fitted backwards and came off in my hand. Bath was clean but all tiles cracked and mouldy. Room was shabby and the curtains were torn. The bed was fine however. Staff were indifferent and we had a problem getting a drink on the terrace once thedinnerservice was over. We only stayed one night and that was enough. Did not like VV at all. Full of noisy drunken youngsters.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I must say I can't understand what all the enthusiasm is about for this HOTEL. The setting and views, yes. The hotel, NO.
Contrary to what apetite4travel says below, all rooms DO NOT have a river view - I know because I had one! It was on the ground floor, next to reception and the parking area, shut in by all the foliage round the water feature. So it had no view, was noisy, the light outside is kept on all night and the frog in the water feature croaked all night: not a recipe for peaceful sleep!
Apart from that, the place is run down, in poor repair and scruffy. In our room, the shower hook was broken, the curtain rail was broken so they wouldn't close, pealing paint, grubby mats on the floor and only one bedside light (and NOT between the 2 single beds! So no reading for me before bed!)
The views from the terrace were grand indeed, but the whole evening meal, and breakfasts, were spoilt due to the log fire that was smouldering on the terrace the whole time, impregnating your food, clothes and hair with it's acrid smell, and hurting my eyes - not to mention spoiling the view! (Not sure why they had it: no one sat near enough to benefit from it's heat, due to the smoke!)
On the plus side, it has a good situation away from the noise of the main road, it's close to restaurants, laundry and massage places. We didn't have to remove our shoes, and the matress and pillows were comfy. Staff were pleasant, and the owner has two delightful dogs that are very guest-friendly.
There are some delightful walks directly opposite the hotel on the far bank; cross the river and follow the signs to a cave, good path winding through farmlands and forest: about 2 hours should do it.

Room Tip: If you want a view - and no noise - don't take a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angtravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#8 of 26 in Vang Vieng
189 reviews
0 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 26 in Vang Vieng
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 26 in Vang Vieng
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £29 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing