We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views & Room but terrible bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Views & Room but terrible bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

Stayed at the Elephants Crossing mainly due to lack of alternatives. Read a review about the rudeness of staff and dismissed it, but when we arrived the receptionist was actually that rude. We checked in and asked to book a Bus ticket as the sign advertised that the hotel could do this. She said no not today come back tomorrow. We straight away went to town and got one at a travel agent.
The room and bed were fine and clean. The bathroom was terrible with bare piped taped up with electrically tape and not clean at all.

Breakfast was good and the view of the river and mountains are awesome.

TIP: Vang Vieng is a backpacker party town and the music is pumping till way into the early hours and can be heard anywhere.
The place next door to the Elephant looked nicer.

  • Liked — It was in Vang Vieng
  • Disliked — Rude staff, Bad Bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveo_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    166
    116
    40
    19
See reviews for
40
200
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the elephant crossing. The property is very peaceful and "zen" like. it feels like you are at a nice spa. Oh and the view is just amazing! The breakfast was great with a good variety, just make sure you wake up early enough for it. It is so delightful to enjoy a meal on the peaceful, quiet riverfront with the reflection of the mountain.

The rooms are small, but the view is amazing (provided that you have one with the view). The soap and shampoo provided by the hotel is great! Don't try to take them home though, its labeled "to be used during your stay only". I actually ended up buying some to bring home.

I did not have a bad experience with the owner (Aussie Woman). She was quite nice and courteous, greeting us with nice smiles at every interaction. We actually chatted for a bit.

One note: The deluxe room was good, though the shower head holder in our bathroom broke. We had to stay in a standard room the 2nd night because they were booked up. The standard (non-deluxe) room is pretty bare and has no view. There is no TV nor hooks to hang your clothes. Definitely go for the deluxe if available.

Highly recommended Hotel.

  • Liked — If I had to pick only one, then its the location
  • Disliked — dragging my rollerboard down a hill and through gravel before arriving at hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights after a v late arrival from Luang Prabang. We too were seduced by the lovely views - a shame that they were hidden by clouds and rain for some of the time!

Room:

We stayed in a deluxe room on the first night. V big with a fridge, TV, aircon, bath tub etc. The decor was a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint / scrubbing. The view wasn't so great as it was only on the first floor.

We moved up to the top floor the next day - better view - but only a standard room. Much smaller and no fridge. Similar state of decor. They could fit a fridge in but choose not to at the mo.

The deluxe rooms were good value if you can negotiate a discount (350,000). The standard rooms are expensive at this rate. However, quite a decent breakfast is included - you can even get muesli / yoghurt / fruit rather than just eggs! You can top up your water for free too.

Location:

Great. Fab views, peaceful and only 5 mins into town for tubing / bars / restuarants.


Staff:

Seemed fine and quite helpful. No run ins with the owners (as mentioned in some reviews).

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Disliked — The rooms could do with an update
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Cassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

This is a nice hotel on the side of the river with really excellent views.

My "deluxe" room was pretty basic but clean and I liked it. The rest of the hotel was quite pleasant and I loved sitting on the riverside with a cold beer and my book.

I found it hard to find decent food in Vang Vieng, so ate twice at the hotel and it was quite nice. Breakfast was good too.

Free wifi in the lobby worked on my balcony too.

Only problem was the loud-mouthed fellow guests yappering away whilst looking at the view from the deck in the morning.

  • Liked — Amazing Views
  • Disliked — The town of Vang Vieng was awful.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MacDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed at the elephant crossing because we had read reviews on Trip advisor as well as from the lonely planet books.

I must say we were EXTREMELY disappointed.

The hotel owner (an Australian women) was very unfriendly and in some cases rude to some hotel guests.

The hotels calls itself a boutique hotel....hahahahah that is hilarious. the hotel is hardly boutique at all. Our room was quite shabby. The room was falling apart. There were huge gaps between the windows and outside, so every night we had to kills mesquitos that came into our room. We also had lizards in our room, that came in through the windows cracks. We had ants all over the bathroom. There was a moudly shower curtain in a shower that had no pressure at all. Our bathroom had open pipes, along the ceilings covered with duck tape. This is just to name a few things...

Every morning we woke up to the owners screaming children. Not a pleasant way to wake up in the morning on a relaxing getaway.

The lobby of the hotel was more of a day care for the owners children as well.

Breakfast was awful, fruit has bugs all over it, bread was stale, coffee was instant.

The only positive thing about this place was the view, but then all the hotels in this area have the same great view.

Had we not prepaid for our room, we would have found a different place to stay upon arrival.

I agree with someone else who called this place The elephant droppings.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — everything else.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly1234Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

(Note: This place is in Vang Vieng, not Vientiane as categorised on this site)

Wow, what a let down. I have spent 6 weeks in Laos and this was easily the most overpriced and substandard accommodation I stayed in.

The two twin rooms were a VERY pricey 350,000 kip each, which after a terrible exhange rate to USD and commission ended up costing about $95USD. This is in 'low season' too.

I naively relied on the mostly positive reviews on this site and on arrival it was raining heavily and we were told these were the 'last two rooms.' This turned out later to be an obvious lie as there were plenty of other empty rooms we later discovered. We made the mistake of taking both the rooms in the induced rush and a member of our group who wasn't fit for looking elsewhere.

These rooms were what you would usually pay around $14-16USD for, not $45. They were small, basic, and were in need of some fresh paint and maintenance.

Both these rooms had great views, and that's where the positives ended. Remotes for the TVs and aircons didn't work in either room. Both rooms had hundreds of ants in the toilet paper which was a nasty but funny surprise. The door in one room refused to lock. The towels in both rooms were also very dirty. The list went on...

The 'breakfast' was a joke. We walked down to the riverside with our tokens to be met with a buffet consisting of 1 small baguette, a quarter of a watermelon, an almost empty bowl of cereal and some juice. This was at 9:00am. After having our juice we immediately left as there wasn't enough food for even one of us, let alone three. Successive groups and couples did the same thing as we did as the morning went on.

All in all this place was an epic let down and we were desperate to just get out to somewhere else. The views were nice, yes, but so are the views at many of the other nearby places. We moved next door and ended up getting a family riverside bungalow for only $30USD. We met several other groups/couples who did exactly the same whom with we had a good laugh about how we all relied on tripadvisor.

A staff member at the Elephant Crossing even noted that they used to work next door and that it was 'better'. And for only a third of the price, perfect!

I would definitely not recommend this overpriced and poor serviced 'hotel.' I ponder whether the fact the owner is Australian has something to do with the good reviews on this site.

Cheers

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank radiohead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

Its true - location is everything. This hotel would have to have some of the most amazing views of any place we have ever stayed. Right on the river surrounded by karsts, rural life going on right before your eyes. The australian owner is really helpful and full of local knowledge, and if you have kids like us, her two kids are more than happy to share their toys. Much needed when you are traveling light! If you think the price is a little high, you can share the family room that has 2 king beds for $60 and throw an extra mattress on the floor. It easily fit us 4 adults and 2 kids.

  • Liked — the views of course
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiafan12oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing