We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rather lousy for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“rather lousy for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Big disappointment, especially since it is considered numer one.
Owner and staff not very friendly, hardly any hello when you enter the hotel. Dining place dirty, especially the tables. Table cloth would not be out of place in this price category.
Flies on breakfast fruit buffet served on a unhygienic difficult cleanable plastic cloth. Fruits should be on a plate and covered with a net.
Bathrooms rather old with horrible bath tub.
Price unfair. I booked through the internet and paid $50 per night while the price for people walking in was $35. $30 would be the fair place for the place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    166
    117
    40
    19
See reviews for
40
202
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the rooms great (a little expensive though) but the views of the mountains from the rooms were amazing. The location is a little out of the way but only 5 minutes walk into town for all the re-runs of Friends episodes.

The owner was Australian and spoke Loas and was very knowledgeable about the area and things to do. The rooms were clean and I would difiently reccomend this place to anyone travelling in Laos.

Also this hotel is away from all the nightclubs which is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongGoneNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

Yes, the views are definitely the main attraction here and give this hotel an above average rating for me. The rooms are fairly basic but ours was clean. The bathroom was a little tired and looked as though there had been some home renovations done on it. The notices there seemed to suggest that guests might steal towels etc if not reminded that they were hotel property.

There is no lift and certainly no offer to carry bags was made. However we travel lightly and this was no problem. Moreover the hotel was operating under considerable difficulty on the day/night we were there as the electricity was totally off in the town until 5pm and after 7am the following morning. This seemed to be affecting morale at the front counter and it was hard to get a smile from the check in person. The Australian owner made no effort to speak to us but her mother was very friendly.

We ate at the hotel and dinner was about average- not startling. Breakfast was also not wonderful but I put this down to the lack of electricity.

I think the hotel definitely trades on its position, the seeming lack of attractive alternatives for anyone other than young people and on the fact that it is a mercifully quiet getaway from the backpacker scene. And yes, I would stay there again at least for a night or two.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

Stayed at the Elephants Crossing mainly due to lack of alternatives. Read a review about the rudeness of staff and dismissed it, but when we arrived the receptionist was actually that rude. We checked in and asked to book a Bus ticket as the sign advertised that the hotel could do this. She said no not today come back tomorrow. We straight away went to town and got one at a travel agent.
The room and bed were fine and clean. The bathroom was terrible with bare piped taped up with electrically tape and not clean at all.

Breakfast was good and the view of the river and mountains are awesome.

TIP: Vang Vieng is a backpacker party town and the music is pumping till way into the early hours and can be heard anywhere.
The place next door to the Elephant looked nicer.

  • Liked — It was in Vang Vieng
  • Disliked — Rude staff, Bad Bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveo_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the elephant crossing. The property is very peaceful and "zen" like. it feels like you are at a nice spa. Oh and the view is just amazing! The breakfast was great with a good variety, just make sure you wake up early enough for it. It is so delightful to enjoy a meal on the peaceful, quiet riverfront with the reflection of the mountain.

The rooms are small, but the view is amazing (provided that you have one with the view). The soap and shampoo provided by the hotel is great! Don't try to take them home though, its labeled "to be used during your stay only". I actually ended up buying some to bring home.

I did not have a bad experience with the owner (Aussie Woman). She was quite nice and courteous, greeting us with nice smiles at every interaction. We actually chatted for a bit.

One note: The deluxe room was good, though the shower head holder in our bathroom broke. We had to stay in a standard room the 2nd night because they were booked up. The standard (non-deluxe) room is pretty bare and has no view. There is no TV nor hooks to hang your clothes. Definitely go for the deluxe if available.

Highly recommended Hotel.

  • Liked — If I had to pick only one, then its the location
  • Disliked — dragging my rollerboard down a hill and through gravel before arriving at hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights after a v late arrival from Luang Prabang. We too were seduced by the lovely views - a shame that they were hidden by clouds and rain for some of the time!

Room:

We stayed in a deluxe room on the first night. V big with a fridge, TV, aircon, bath tub etc. The decor was a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint / scrubbing. The view wasn't so great as it was only on the first floor.

We moved up to the top floor the next day - better view - but only a standard room. Much smaller and no fridge. Similar state of decor. They could fit a fridge in but choose not to at the mo.

The deluxe rooms were good value if you can negotiate a discount (350,000). The standard rooms are expensive at this rate. However, quite a decent breakfast is included - you can even get muesli / yoghurt / fruit rather than just eggs! You can top up your water for free too.

Location:

Great. Fab views, peaceful and only 5 mins into town for tubing / bars / restuarants.


Staff:

Seemed fine and quite helpful. No run ins with the owners (as mentioned in some reviews).

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Disliked — The rooms could do with an update
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Cassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

This is a nice hotel on the side of the river with really excellent views.

My "deluxe" room was pretty basic but clean and I liked it. The rest of the hotel was quite pleasant and I loved sitting on the riverside with a cold beer and my book.

I found it hard to find decent food in Vang Vieng, so ate twice at the hotel and it was quite nice. Breakfast was good too.

Free wifi in the lobby worked on my balcony too.

Only problem was the loud-mouthed fellow guests yappering away whilst looking at the view from the deck in the morning.

  • Liked — Amazing Views
  • Disliked — The town of Vang Vieng was awful.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MacDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing