We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Ban Sabai...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great stay at Ban Sabai...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived at Ban Sabai after staying in our first night in other hotel we didn't like...
We passed by and decided to check the rooms... We loved it, so we decided to book for the next two nights.
We stayed in one of the upper bungalows, with a double bed. Mosquito net is provided, but as we travelled during winter and it wasn't really hot, it wasn't really needed (we didn't try the swimming pool for the same reason).
Room is simple, but nice. Not tv (really relaxing) and not fridge.
Bathroom is ok, perhaps new shower curtains would be better... But everything was really clean, which was what we were looking for...
Some people talk about animals inside the room... We didn't see anyone. But it is true that a bit of maintenance would make the bungalows 5*.
We loved the balcony, we used to stay there in the afternoon, reading and relaxing.
The restaurant is also good, just in the river, with paper lamps that give a great atmosphere at night...
Breakfast is included, and it is enough...
So, yes, I would recommend the hotel. The best thing is how relaxing, quiet and beautiful all the place is!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macavigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    131
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
33
150
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in Vang Vieng for one night (en route to Vientiane from Phonsovan) and that was more than enough for us.

We wanted to eat somewhere quiet and this restaurant had a lovely location right by the river, with pretty paper lanterns overhead.

We both rated the vegetable spring rolls as good (although "she" found them a bit greasy).

"He" thought the chicken egg fried race was good; "she" found it a bit bland.

But both agreed that the chicken and vegetables in banana leaf was very good - wished we'd ordered two.

Service was fine - and the BeerLao was well chilled.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheSaysHeSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice and quiet place to stay-
Good view from Restaurant and Bungalows. We used one of the upper ones. Pool ist very small, we didn´t use it, also the Fitness centre (no use, not seen).
Breakfast was good. Price is in european Standarts comperable to 3-4 **** Hotels, 42Us Dollar incl. breakfast
*no backpacker- Party-People and beer buckets*

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

What can I say, bungalows, no tv and the river just outside what more could you ask for. We were greeted with a welcome drink and shown to our bungalow. The rooms were extremely clean and all had a balcony which was great to relax with a beer. The breakfast was good and you could sit at the restaurant and enjoy food or a drink and watch the boats and kayakers go by. There was a mosquito net but to be honest did not see many mosquitos during my stay. The town Centre is just a short walk away and the hotel can arrange a bus or mini van to Luang Prabang or Vietianne at a price of course. If you are Vang Vieng and just want to relax then this is the place and reasonably priced. So glad we found this place and if you like a bit of peace and quiet after a hard day you can’t go past this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul24101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed in one of the bungalows in Nov 2103, the location and views are amazing which is why I’ve given a very good rating. The bungalow its self like other reviewers have pointed out needs upgrading, the room is very basic but it adds to the authenticity of the place. Might not be to everyone’s taste but for a couple traveling through Laos it was perfect for us! The welcome drink on arrival was an added bonus on a hot day - thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamkitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are basic but quaint and all you need. Although small you don't spend much time in there anyway so the location makes up for the size! Right on the river with the beautiful mountains surrounding we couldn't be happier waking up to such a beautiful sight every day! The restaurant has delicious food and a 10% discount for those staying in a bungalow... Our favourite dish that we had at the restaurant was the steamed fish in a banana leaf - yum! The free breakfast is also great and the service is quick. Would definitely come back

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank livschweik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Ban Sabai is by far the nicest place we stayed at during our 3 week holiday in Laos.
The staff is very friendly and speaks very good English.
The bungalows are very cosy and the location of the restaurant alongside the river is also very charming plus the food is really good.
I can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank inge309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Property: Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing