We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The riverside location with karst vistas is stunning and worth the price of admission alone. On top of that you've got cosy wooden bungalows nicely furnished with comfy beds. No tv - no problem; I enjoyed 2 nights without. No fridge... Hmmm. Might have been nice. Free breakfast - appreciated. Only thing I might complain about is something that is perhaps relevant to Laos in general. They're not particularly geared up for cold nights and when it's cold - and cold it might be - you'll feel it and there's little respite other than the morning sun which rises high and helps you forget until the next night. Some people rate the restaurant here but based on my meal there, I'd give it a miss. Instead, walk around a bit and spot where the locals eat - go there and you won't go wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingoftheslums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We only stayed one night as the hotel we were at for the previous 4 nights was fully booked. We had a room facing the river at the ground level with a great porch. The room is was simple and just perfect. We ate dinner and it was packed. Sitting at breakfast and dinner facing the river, watching all the activities on the water was incredible. Spent hours after a long day just sitting there. The staff was very friendly and kind. The bathroom towels were worn thin but for the rest it felt clean and safe. The stairs are very steep stone steps to get down to the river level. This is one of the good places to stay in Vang Vieng. Had a totally quiet sleep.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a river view. I think all the rooms on any level would have a good view. i li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have been in Vang Vieng on several occasions and I can sincerely say that Ban Sabai could very well have the best location of VV and area.

The warm welcome of the Ban Sabai staff starts with a delicious welcome drink and continues with endless sincere smiles.

Highly recommended to those who prefer to stay a bit out of the party town but who are in Vang Vieng for its beautiful nature and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The place is beautiful and you have great view of the river from the room balcony. They even serve you fruit punch upon check in. Great for taking pictures and its near all the restaurants. What I didn't like was the lighting. The room had only one small light bulb and it was impossible to read at night. Oh! and there was no TV.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are very nice. The beds in Laos all seem to be very hard and uncomfortable, but aside from the beds the room is comfortable. I took a nice hot bath. I did feel a bit uncomfortable with bath as the bathroom has glass walls and my friends could see my silhouette when in bathroom. Not very pleasant for diners or those at restaurant nor for my privacy.
The breakfast included was very good. We had to switch hotels because rooms were full end of our trip, I was disappointed to go.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emmy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice place to stay for some unwinding. Staff are very friendly, the breakfast is very nice (some of the best we had on our low budget SEA trip) and the location right by the river is peaceful and quiet. Hire a bike and you're 'downtown' in no time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Such a beautiful place : rooms, garden, panoramic view of Song river and delicious breakfast... Of course!! Their services are great too..Staffs can guide you to do activities such as kayaking and floating in the river.. Let's sip Wine here in the evening.... Wonderful!!!

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoeinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £20 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing