We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potentially wonderful”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was lovely and the location beautiful, but they were having problems with leaks in the thatched roofs. We were told that the place was closing down the week after we left so that they could refurbish the rooms and address the leak problems. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast very good in the restaurant which has magnificent views over the river to the spectacular mountains.
We liked it very much in spite of having to change rooms because of the leaks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down at the level of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    131
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
33
150
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The resort is outside the center but easy to walk to the center. On the other side of the resort is the hospital situated. There is a little, clean swimming pool. I booked a cottage and the bed was good. The bathroom was very small. The manager gave good service. They had the intention to restore the resort.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice bungalows and good breakfast with a beautiful view alongside the river. Walking distance from the center of the town. We also enjoyed the restaurant for dinner (couldn't find a better place in town); with a very nice atmosphere (see pictures). Wish you a nice stay !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ariane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Following lonely planet we decided to have diner here, with seven. It was a big disappointment. Pasta carbonara cannot really go wrong, but the other dishes were not good at all, especially the quantity. The 'spareribs' were four in number, with approx 50 grams of meat. The coconut chicken red curry, was amazing... It was soup, with lots of lemongrass and would say 30 gram chicken.
When I complained, the manager laughed at me, telling me that the recipe said there is 150 grams of chicken in it.... Got a discount of 15%, and we went to another place to fill the stomach...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederik_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Wow stunning views. Those cliffs. The beautiful river. Cute huts.
We stayed in a river view bungalow for four nights. Welcome drinks were lovely! Air con upon room entry was a relief after the trip from Vientiane.
There was no fridge. I was hoping to stock up on local fruit and store multiple servings of delicious local takeaway. For example there was (and hopefully still is) a lady outside the hotel making these delicious pancakes, the thin ones that then get folded in half with something sweet inside....). The no fridge was to discourage food in the huts, which attracts animals. There was a note about it. Completely understandable. Yet I had to learn the hard way. Beware. They will come....there were many ants on the bed when I came back from my second walk (the first walk being to acquire fruit and pancakes). Once I removed the crumbs from the bed they left it alone. My fault. Had to be a rebel.
Ants love computers, cameras.... I lost the letter R, F and V to some ants eating wiring last year so I was very careful and kept my laptop in the safe when not in use. Air tight. My camera was constantly in use. Did I mention the amazing view? Seriously it is worth staying here for that alone. The staff were polite and helpful. Room was clean. Towels crisp. Hot water system easy to master. They do laundry too. Very handy.
I have one complaint, the lighting. Because there were bright lights along the path just outside, and the curtains were thin, our room was bright at all hours. There's a glass wall in the shower so your silhouette is visible to people outside at all times. For toilet privacy closing the shower curtain was my solution.... I'm hoping that didn't just enhance the silhouette. Guess I'll never know. Sorry restaurant diners!!! Oh that reminds me. The restaurant was lovely. Fried rice in a pineapple. Delicious! Breakfast was good too.
Eating by the river gave me such a feeling of peace. The chairs outside the room were extremely comfortable, therefore I reclined happily by night and stared at the stars. What beauty.
We hired a moped each day. It's the best way to get around and so cheap. The hotel staff were very helpful in recommending a close by business (across the road). They went out of their way to keep the moped safe for us by wheeling it inside the gate that night.
Overall, a charming place by the river. I'm happy we stayed there.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HouseGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location at the river is nice, the beds are comfortable, the service is OK and the breakfast very good (e.g. scrambled eggs, baguette, butter and jam, fresh fruits, juice and coffee or tea).

So why only three points? This is due to the rooms.
We checked in in bungalow 5, which was not really inviting and there where big GAPs in all windows and below the door. When taking a shower, we had to kill 12 mosquitos first. At that point we would have liked to check out, but had paid already in advance.
The problem seemed not to be uncommon and so we were able to change to bungalow 3. It was better there, since the bath window was sealed. The GAPs in windows and doors still existed, so that we had some animals, but OK, there were mosquito nets.
The real problem came up when we tried to sleep: The walls between the bungalows are partly only out of straw and so you hear literally everything what your neighbours are doing. That is especially a problem, when the neigbours at your left go out partying until 3AM and the neighbours on the right have a baby which wakes up early....

It is a pity that we can only give 3 points, since the location could be really idyllic. But we can not recommend the place in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bunglalows where the bathroom window is sealed. In some there is a huge GAP in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltreiser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Ban Sabai for about six days. We had a nice bungalow, #13, right on the river. The bungalow had windows on the side as well as in the front, providing both great natural light and a wonderful view. We could lie in bed and watch the boats go by. The room itself was somewhat shabby but pleasant enough. The more expensive bungalows appeared to be bigger and had nice, new chairs (unlike ours) on their porches but lacked the great, unobstructed view directly onto the river. Breakfast was included and served at tables along the river. Decent food but the tea was never hot. There were lounge chairs by the river and by a small swimming pool. Staff were pleasant. The location was not only beautiful but quiet. No noisy partiers anywhere near.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Property: Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing