We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing farm escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing farm escape!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow for 180,000 kip per night, there were cheaper options but the room was big with good shower and balcony. It wasn't the cleanest place but when you stay on a farm in Laos I think it's all part of the fun! We really enjoyed being out of the town and the crazy drunk people! The family who run the farm do an amazing job both running the guest house and with the project to educate the local children at the youth centre up the road so you know your money is going to a good cause.
We ate at the farm restaurant for all our meals and it was very tasty, we particularly loved the harvest curry, sticky rice and the goats cheese!!!!! You have to try the toasted one! They also make a interesting star fruit wine which is nice for one or two glasses!
We chatted to the managers son One Love - great name! - who was a lovely chap and lit us a big fire each night. Each day from 12 noon till about 3 pm the tubers arrive and the farm garden becomes the first stop for the crazy kids that take part, it's an interesting watch or you can escape to the local cave - Lom cave over the bamboo bridge or read or go to the farm and see the animals.
You can watch the pigs, goats and guinea pigs being mucked out in the morning and help if you speak to one love. They are not the best at communicating things to guests but if you ask they are happy to help etc. definitely worth a stay esp if you have kids!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elspeth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights recently and did some volunteering on the farm.

The workers Haiyone, Raktione and the owner Mr. T. are friendly and work hard and there are some interesting projects you can help out with. If you come in Dec/Jan, bring some very warm clothes as the rooms are basic and don't have heating; it's dropped to about 5 degrees on some nights!

Pros:
-excellent organic food which is reasonably priced.
-beautiful setting next to the river.
-chance to do as much or little farm work as you like and learn about the farm and village.
-70% of all profits from the farm are put back into educating and helping the community.
-fast wifi in the restaurant.

Cons:
-difficulty reaching and coming back from the town early in the morning and after 5pm, due to out-of-town location.
-slow service, especially the food.
-room rates are pretty high, considering the basic rooms which lack any form of heating or regular room service.
-often few guests so a bit isolated.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kstar664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The farm is absolutely amazing! We visited the farm and got a tour by its owner mr. T. A very friendly and clever man as he made this farm completely organic and sustainable. Even the gas to cook is produced by the farm itself! The food is very good and we even bought little mulberry trees to plant in our garden. The animals live a happy life there and you can pet little goats an eat goat cheese. It was so much worth the money. You really should visit the farm and take some time to enjoy the beautiful landscape around it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiff_girl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. We wanted to be away from the main party town (which only was annoying if you wanted to drink down there - you had to find a ride back to the farm). The organic farm is beautiful. They have many different options of bungalows and private rooms. You can work on the farm in the mornings if you want to - its not required. I worked 3 days and cleaned up after the pigs and goats, milked goats, made goat cheese, helped with regular farm work, etc. It was really fun and the people treat you like family. The food at the restaurant is all organic, made right at the farm. They specialize in Mulberry, and make delicious shakes, teas, and pancakes with it. If you want to do the infamous river tubing, you head into town and get your tubes, ride back to the farm where everyone is dropped off anyways, and start the tubing there. You can stop into the farm and have a few beers before tubing down. The tubing is so much fun, there are still about 4 bars set up to party at. Give yourself at least 5 hours to do the whole experience.

If you want to stay at the farm for 2 weeks, you can even be a part of their teaching program where they teach English to local students.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We didn't stay at the organic Mulberry farm, but we was given a tour by the founder of the Organic mulberry farm - Mr. T. He gave us an allmost two hour tour of the property and was very informative all the time. We saw his mulberry trees, but also mango, papaya, durian, avocado, cotton - and many more. Cute little mud brick houses and a lot of different animals. If you want to know about the nature and culture in Laos, Mr. T is your man... highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryllehest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for over a week at the Organic Farm where we stayed in the standard double room (shared bathroom) for 70,000 kip a night.

The location is really beautiful and tranquil. There are only 3 river bars left now so you don't hear any of the music so it's really peaceful. Great for reading a book by the river! 

The restaurant has lots of great food mostly using the organic products produced at the farm! Musts are a Mulberry shake in the morning, the toasted goats cheese baguette for lunch followed by the Harvest curry for dinner. 

There's a great choice of rooms, from dorms to mud houses with porches overlooking the river! 

You can either volunteer on the farm milking goats, collecting eggs, fruit and much more or help teach English to local kids from 5 til 7 in the evening. 

Plus the staff are lovely and really helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay nice!

If you stay, you will probably end up staying longer than planned! Its a great place! 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubbard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed for over a week at the Organic Farm where we stayed in the standard double room (shared bathroom) for 70,000 kip a night.

The location is really beautiful and tranquil. There are only 3 river bars left now so you don't hear any of the music so it's really peaceful. Great for reading a book by the river! 

The restaurant has lots of great food mostly using the organic products produced at the farm! Musts are a Mulberry shake in the morning, the toasted goats cheese baguette for lunch followed by the Harvest curry for dinner. 

There's a great choice of rooms, from dorms to mud houses with porches overlooking the river! 

You can either volunteer on the farm milking goats, collecting eggs, fruit and much more or help teach English to local kids from 5 til 7 in the evening. 

Plus the staff are lovely and really helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay nice!

If you stay, you will probably end up staying longer than planned! Its a great place! 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubbard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
2.7 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 99 in Vang Vieng
350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#30 of 99 in Vang Vieng
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jammee Guest House
Jammee Guest House
#17 of 99 in Vang Vieng
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 99 in Vang Vieng
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
#42 of 99 in Vang Vieng
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Organic Farm

Property: Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Address: | Village of Phoudindaeng, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first change didn't work at all, I tried to set the address to 13th Street, we are here in the Phoudindeang Village, I tried to set this location already in another request, including the change of our business name to Organic Mulberry Farm. Thanks in advance, Organic Mulberry Farm Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vang Vieng Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangviang Organic Farm Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing