We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Thakhaek
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This place is a gem”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I came here with a couple of people I met in Vientiane at a backpackers. We opted to stay in the 8 person dorm. The dorm was clean but not immaculate. No bedbugs! It was only 30'000 a night so you basically get a bed and fan. Not all the showers have hot water but it's not a huge problem. There aren't any lockers in the rooms and they only give you one key so I'm thinking that the rooms are generally left unlocked in high season, which may trouble some. It was ok for us as we were the only ones in the dorm. I just carried the things I most valued with me all the time. The farm is about 3.5 km from town. We walked it once for the experience. A tuk tuk shouldn't cost more than 10'000K. Everyday we had the option of either observing farm work or taking part. I loved the goat milking and general feeding and got to help most days. Watched a couple of ducks being slaughtered and prepared. The food is very good, even if you pay a little more. Large Beer Lao is 15'000k and a Chicken Lap is 30'000k. Try the goat cheese. Made on farm. Apparently all the food is organic. Not sure about all but they grow lots, including Mulberry wine which is a must. Coffee...well I'm a coffee snob so I shouldn't comment. Locally grown however. Go to their website if you want more info but this place is just delightful. I will be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Goobang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Very rustic but the whole atmosphere of the place really allows you to unwind. The animals are very well looked after and you can help as much or as little as you like. The owners son, "One Love", really looked after us and made our time there even more special. If you are looking for something with a lot going on, it is probably not the place for you. However, if you just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the town, I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gee2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow for 180,000 kip per night, there were cheaper options but the room was big with good shower and balcony. It wasn't the cleanest place but when you stay on a farm in Laos I think it's all part of the fun! We really enjoyed being out of the town and the crazy drunk people! The family who run the farm do an amazing job both running the guest house and with the project to educate the local children at the youth centre up the road so you know your money is going to a good cause.
We ate at the farm restaurant for all our meals and it was very tasty, we particularly loved the harvest curry, sticky rice and the goats cheese!!!!! You have to try the toasted one! They also make a interesting star fruit wine which is nice for one or two glasses!
We chatted to the managers son One Love - great name! - who was a lovely chap and lit us a big fire each night. Each day from 12 noon till about 3 pm the tubers arrive and the farm garden becomes the first stop for the crazy kids that take part, it's an interesting watch or you can escape to the local cave - Lom cave over the bamboo bridge or read or go to the farm and see the animals.
You can watch the pigs, goats and guinea pigs being mucked out in the morning and help if you speak to one love. They are not the best at communicating things to guests but if you ask they are happy to help etc. definitely worth a stay esp if you have kids!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elspeth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights recently and did some volunteering on the farm.

The workers Haiyone, Raktione and the owner Mr. T. are friendly and work hard and there are some interesting projects you can help out with. If you come in Dec/Jan, bring some very warm clothes as the rooms are basic and don't have heating; it's dropped to about 5 degrees on some nights!

Pros:
-excellent organic food which is reasonably priced.
-beautiful setting next to the river.
-chance to do as much or little farm work as you like and learn about the farm and village.
-70% of all profits from the farm are put back into educating and helping the community.
-fast wifi in the restaurant.

Cons:
-difficulty reaching and coming back from the town early in the morning and after 5pm, due to out-of-town location.
-slow service, especially the food.
-room rates are pretty high, considering the basic rooms which lack any form of heating or regular room service.
-often few guests so a bit isolated.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kstar664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The farm is absolutely amazing! We visited the farm and got a tour by its owner mr. T. A very friendly and clever man as he made this farm completely organic and sustainable. Even the gas to cook is produced by the farm itself! The food is very good and we even bought little mulberry trees to plant in our garden. The animals live a happy life there and you can pet little goats an eat goat cheese. It was so much worth the money. You really should visit the farm and take some time to enjoy the beautiful landscape around it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiff_girl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. We wanted to be away from the main party town (which only was annoying if you wanted to drink down there - you had to find a ride back to the farm). The organic farm is beautiful. They have many different options of bungalows and private rooms. You can work on the farm in the mornings if you want to - its not required. I worked 3 days and cleaned up after the pigs and goats, milked goats, made goat cheese, helped with regular farm work, etc. It was really fun and the people treat you like family. The food at the restaurant is all organic, made right at the farm. They specialize in Mulberry, and make delicious shakes, teas, and pancakes with it. If you want to do the infamous river tubing, you head into town and get your tubes, ride back to the farm where everyone is dropped off anyways, and start the tubing there. You can stop into the farm and have a few beers before tubing down. The tubing is so much fun, there are still about 4 bars set up to party at. Give yourself at least 5 hours to do the whole experience.

If you want to stay at the farm for 2 weeks, you can even be a part of their teaching program where they teach English to local students.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We didn't stay at the organic Mulberry farm, but we was given a tour by the founder of the Organic mulberry farm - Mr. T. He gave us an allmost two hour tour of the property and was very informative all the time. We saw his mulberry trees, but also mango, papaya, durian, avocado, cotton - and many more. Cute little mud brick houses and a lot of different animals. If you want to know about the nature and culture in Laos, Mr. T is your man... highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryllehest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
2.8 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bearlin Bungalow
Bearlin Bungalow
#4 of 97 in Vang Vieng
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#26 of 97 in Vang Vieng
124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vangvieng Central Park Hotel
Vangvieng Central Park Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vang Vieng
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#11 of 23 in Vang Vieng
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Organic Farm

Property: Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Address: | Village of Phoudindaeng, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first change didn't work at all, I tried to set the address to 13th Street, we are here in the Phoudindeang Village, I tried to set this location already in another request, including the change of our business name to Organic Mulberry Farm. Thanks in advance, Organic Mulberry Farm Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vang Vieng Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangviang Organic Farm Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing