We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked hard, learned a lot, and only good memories are left.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worked hard, learned a lot, and only good memories are left.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

The organic farm is a place to learn and practice something wonderful: the biological cycle of farming. Goats and mulberry trees are the main subjects in the cycle of this farm. We stayed here around six days, and that was a very good experience. In the morning we woke up early to help in the goat farm: cleaning, milking, feeding baby goats, etcetera. The owners and local staff, some of them volunteers like us, were very friendly.

We stayed in a building with two rooms and a dorm room. We were the only guests in that building, so actually we rented a house with attached bathroom and toilets. The bed was well springed, maybe the most important comfort that you wish after a day of hard working!

The main problem of the farm is that it looses their volunteers and even butterflies (needed for mulberry silk production) because of the disco. Forbearance is a required mental quality when you want to work in the farm during the afternoon time. Because of the multiple disco sounds coming from here and there, every afternoon we escaped and made a trip to either Vang Vieng downtown or the caves. We returned at about 5pm, the time that disco time would be over. After assisting in the farm again during sunset, we felt satisfied about our day and very relaxed. Our six days passed so quickly, and the only thing left are good memories. The trip to the caves with the local staff in that funny greens-vehicle is most memorable! Wish I could have an organic mulberry juice right now.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed at the Organic Farm with two adults and two daughters (14 and 12 years old). It was a very beautiful place with good atmosphere and the food was superb. The nature is great but you hear in the background the music of the bars along the river. Thus, it is not a totally quite place during the day. I didn`t feel disturbed by that but I know that others did. For families with teens it might even be of interest to have some of the activities (e.g. rope-swinging) in walking distance. In the evening and in the night it is very quite.
My daughters loved the farm part of staying there, i.e.: the helping with the goats in the morning. That is just great for children! Before going there I was a little bit worried about hygienic issues being at a farm in a third world country. I was positively surprised that anything was clean (restaurant, rooms, ...). We had a mud house with a great balcony and my daughters had a bungalow with a deck overlooking the river . The service was great and the team was also very helpful to assist us with activities and the transport. Furthermore, it was a great experience having the opportunity to help in the educational program located at the organic farm (helping out in a local school).
Thus I highly recommend the organic farm for folks who prefer to stay away from the partylife of Vang Vieng. It is great for people who like to have some romantic atmosphere. But it is especially highly recommended for families with children.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siriuskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We booked here as we knew someone who had eaten here and thought it was a nice spot. When we arrived they knew nothing of our booking which had been for a mud hut. After about 15 minutes waiting we were told all of the mud huts were being repaired so we could only have a bungalow which was more expensve. We looked at them and they were ok, but very overpriced. We asked for a discount, but the staff didn't seem to even want us there in the first place. No-one else was staying there. It took 30 minutes of waiting around and then we decided we were better off leaving.
We had thought it would be a relaxing place out of town, but it was right at the start of the tubing and near all the bars which meant loud music from 9am - 7pm. Totally unrelaxing. If you want relaxing out of town stay at the eco lodge. In town we had a pleasant stay at Vilay Vong guest house.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Vang Vieng Organic Farm is not really set up as a hotel or guesthouse. It is a working farm, and they have some accommodations available. We stayed for three nights in one of the mud houses. Our two-story house had a large deck that overlooked a mulberry tree orchard. We had two extra house guests too - two kittens that decided they wanted to hang out and play. The farm is right on the river, and we would swim in the river to cool off on hot April afternoons. There is an excellent restaurant on-site too, where they make all kinds of wonders from mulberries. Try the mulberry wine!

The pace here is slow and quiet - a welcome change from the party atmosphere on the island in Vang Vieng. Volunteers are welcome on the farm, and we helped herd pigs, feed baby goats, make goat cheese, weed an asparagus patch, and water mulberry trees. It was a very satisfying and enjoyable stay, and we wrote more details on our blog: http://www.alliemark.com/2010/04/vang-vieng-organic-farm/

We highly recommend Vang Vieng Organic Farm if you're looking for something off the beaten path!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
2.7 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.8 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
#42 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#10 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Organic Farm

Property: Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Address: | Village of Phoudindaeng, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first change didn't work at all, I tried to set the address to 13th Street, we are here in the Phoudindeang Village, I tried to set this location already in another request, including the change of our business name to Organic Mulberry Farm. Thanks in advance, Organic Mulberry Farm Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vang Vieng Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangviang Organic Farm Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing