We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Chittavanh Hotel

Chittavanh Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chittavanh Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Given that almost all reviews of accommodation in Phonsavan speak of rodent infestations, we were pleasantly surprised to find this place. There weren't many people staying here, so it was easy to get the price down to 100,000 kip for a double or twin room.

The rooms were clean and pretty big. A piping hot shower at all times and a TV with an English movie channel made it absolutely worth it.

The service was unremarkable, the wifi seemed to work on some devices and not others, and it's a 5-10 minute walk to restaurants.

But it was clean, good value and there were no rats. Compared to reviews of other places in Phonsavan, it seems like a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We turned up in Phonsavan looking for an economical place to stay and ended up here. The hotel is nice, with clean rooms, air-conditioning and usable wifi. Despite not speaking a word of English, the staff were unfailingly helpful and communication was done via improv. We spoke with some other travelers in higher-priced guest houses who felt we had a much better deal. Its no 5 star hotel with English speaking concierge, but if you want a nice place to stay I don't think you could do much better. We didn't manage to eat at the restaurant out back ... it seemed to never be open but the hotel is situated near downtown and so we ate at Crater's cafe and other joints.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjhtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was truly a terrible hotel. The whole experience started with the front desk clerk, who spoke some English, but appeared to be "on something". He asked us the same questions several times. Then giggled stating he had already asked us and received answers. He had no idea what the room rate was and made us wait while he called someone on the phone. He was unable to give us change for a 5,000 kip water and seemed baffled by the most rudimentary tasks (like adding 40K kip to 150K kip).

This should have been our first clue as to what the room would be like.

The fungus growing on the bathroom ceiling and walls had a life of its own. The room was dirty along with the towels, sheets and carpet. The walls and ceiling in the room (also covered with mold) are paper thin and you can hear everything above and below you along with every word uttered in the hallways.

We had no idea that there was a nightclub attached to the rear of the hotel that started up at 8 PM with hundreds of people, music, and a bonfire. At 8:30 PM realizing that we would never be able to sleep, we packed up and changed hotels.

What a nightmare. Do yourself a favor and skip this place.

Room Tip: Skip it, donate the money to a charity if you have to give money away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicharone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Agde, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed 4 nights.
Large bedroom with comfy bed, A/C, fridge and decent Wifi.
No breakfast but free coffee/tea in the Lobby
Some staff speaks good enough English.
Prices are seriously negotiable in low season.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmfbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

There is not a lot of choice for hotels in Phonsevan but I would try for somewhere else if possible. Yes, the hotel is modern but it is very sparse and cold. We shared one night with a large party of Thais who left at 6am and started moving around at 5am. We heard every door open and shut! There is no lift and they were up and down the noisy stairs too.

The breakfast (separate building out the back) is somewhat limited. The staff are very anxious to please but have very little English and not much idea of what is required,

There are no reading lights and the electrical arrangements did not look too safe. It is also a noisy ten minute walk along the main drag to restaurants etc.

The front desk staff varied from helpful to asleep behind the counter. It seemed as though anyone could have walked in unchallenged.

  • Liked — The staff at breakfast who were so anxious to please
  • Disliked — The noise and cold
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Chittavanh Hotel
-brand new (opened 12/07) 2 ½ star, centrally located hotel in Phonsavan, Xieng Kouang Province (www.ctvhotel.com)
-staff was very accommodating and friendly.
bathroom was typical of a 2.5 star hotel in Asia wherein the shower area has no enclosure.
-no air-condition or heater (yes it gets cold in Xieng Kouang in February) in the room. Luckily we were prepared so sleeping in a cold room was not a problem. A fleece jacket is enough.
-internet access is free if you have a laptop. Otherwise, it is 500 Kip per minute.
-has hot water but you should consider taking very short shower as the hot water runs out quickly.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rxchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phouviengkham Resort
Phouviengkham Resort
#3 of 6 in Phonsavan
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
#5 of 33 in Phonsavan
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dokkhoun
#7 of 33 in Phonsavan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chittavanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chittavanh Hotel

Property: Chittavanh Hotel
Address: #7 Road, Phonsavan, Laos
Region: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chittavanh Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chittavanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing