We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

White Orchid Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Orchid Guest House
Ranked #11 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

White Orchid's OK: the rooms are a little on the dark side, surprisingly damp and smell a lot like wet-dog, and you can't get Wi-Fi anywhere but in the lobby, but things could be worse . . . But, what's nice about the White Orchid is that the staff can help you organize trips to the jar sites, and there are also several other agencies just a minute or two from the Guesthouse. (Be sure to check out Amazing Lao Travel which offers treks and tours of some of the less frequented jar sites. If you drop by Amazing, ask for Khem. He's a real pro.) Also, Nisha Restaurant (a great little Indian place), Bombie's, Craters and Simmaly are all within 2-3 minute walking distance of the guesthouse. Simmaly's offers the best bag for the buck, in my opinion. There's also a Chinese restaurant nearby, but, unless you can speak Chinese, don't expect much. Even if you can, the place can be a little underwhelming (especially considering how bad the service is). Last but not least, there's a bank with an ATM pretty much across the street from the guesthouse, which makes getting cash easy if you're strapped. Last point: don't accept a ride from the "taxi" drivers at the bus station. They charge outrageously high prices to get you from the station to the Guesthouse; money that can very well be saved if you're willing to walk 20 or so minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akramarczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

It was recommended by a guidebook. In fact, its location is good. Service is also acceptable. But, compare to the price, nothing was better than other newly built hotels and guesthouses. I felt a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louga925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for one night and the only available room was priced at 220,000kip. No choice because it was past 1:00 am and we were very tired from a long bus trip and most of the hotels were closed.The hotel didn't lived up to the price as it was dark and cold.There were two soft beds but we were worried about the cleanliness we saw some dark spots on the bed cover so we used our bed liners.The bathroom is usable and there was hot water but the towels were old. When we learned that breakfast was baguette and egg we opted to eat in a nearby restaurant.Staff were friendly and helpful.There are lot's of hotels and guesthouses in Phonsavan to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badsnickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 100,000 kip double room. The room was dingy and cold (we had to ask for extra blankets), but perfectly fine for our three night stay. We were most excited by the enclosed shower - the first we'd seen in a while - no wet floor in the bathroom!

We heard from others that a hotel along the road to the minivan station was much better and cleaner for 80,000. The guesthouse had a sign saying China Food outside - so that may be a help.

We didn't even bother with breakfast at the White Orchid and instead ate most meals at Bamboozle - a great brand new restaurant catering to tourists.

There was a guide connected with the hotel but he charged upwards of $120 for a tour! I can't believe people pay this for a private tour when you can with a small group for $18 anywhere else in town.

If you have an extra day I'd recommend the silk farm outside town (50,000 return tuk-tuk) and the market - we had the best noodle soup at a stall there (10,000).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Firstly, in small aeroport, when I was finding some transport to Phonsavan, Jan (manager of guesthouse) had found me and very comfortable mini-bus was driving me in the hotel. Then, because I had very small amout of time - just 3 hours in departing day and near 4,5 hours next days and would like to see all, Jan helped to manage my trip and - voila - 30 min after I've gown to old city... Good wife, clean room, handly location - near this guesthouse there are some restorants.
In conclusion, the manager of a hotel can help you with everything!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_A-Doni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had trouble finding information about places to stay in Phonsavan, and finding something at a reasonable price was even harder. We booked here knowing that it was only for two nights, so would have had to have been pretty bad to move. It was just okay (leaning towards bad). Because we were four, we got the "executive" room on the 4th floor (no lift). It had two very soft and saggy beds - which is unusual for this part of the world where beds are usually rock hard. Towels were dingy and old, bathroom was not particularly clean but usable. There was always hot water, but we did notice that whenever one of us had a shower there was water leaking in the nearby hallway, dripping down the tile staircase. Since the last set of stairs is small an steep, it was a terrible slipping hazard and we were constantly being extra cautious. The breakfast was meagre with one egg and some toasted bread. There was never enough butter or jam and you only got one cup of coffee, which is never enough for us! On our second night a french tour group arrived. They were all in their 60s an 70s and were given no help hauling their bags up the stairs to the third floor. The next morning when we came downstairs early to catch our ride, there were people sleeping in the lobby in sleeping bags. For the price, we expected more - even though the pickings are clearly somewhat slim in Phonsavan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this place. The staff is friendly but the room was normal. It was noisy in the morning and expensive for what it is (150'000 kip). Humidity in the room and moisture in the bathroom. We recommend this Hotel only for his tourist agency called Natural Travel. We did an excellent two days trek (Phakeo Trek) + 1 night homestay in an authentic village. Book the trek with them. It was our best experience and we did not see any tourists during two days!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Napoliangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#7 of 33 in Phonsavan
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
#6 of 33 in Phonsavan
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namchai Guesthouse
Namchai Guesthouse
#2 of 33 in Phonsavan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Orchid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Orchid Guest House

Address: Angle route No7 et Rue de l'ancien aeroport, Phonsavan 0900, Laos
Region: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your White Orchid Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing