We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and coming location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Up and coming location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Amazing views over the valley. We stayed in a suite (part of our tour) and it was great. Full size fridge, separate lounge area and huge bed-although it was as hard as rock! Staff struggled with English however they were really polite and attentive-lovely people. Not far to the centre of town. Nice grounds. Wifi wasn't working but not a big deal as we were only there a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    82
    110
    42
    14
See reviews for
25
137
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our stay was for one night. We arrived at the main building in the middle of a downpour; after checking in, the staff could not produce umbrellas for us or our luggage for the walk to our room. Not acceptable; so I insisted that some plastic sheet be provided at least to cover the luggage. Wet clothes were not in our plans for the morrow. The venue, being on top of a hill, is outstanding, especially in the morning as the surrounding villages wake up; the rooster calls carry a far distance. The rooms are triplex bungalows. There were Wi-Fi access points in each group. Breakfast was mediocre (as others have noted) and the coffee awful. The rooms are large and stark; hard floors and walls. Considering the location of the town, and that the Plain of Jars is the only attraction, the hotel is better than most in similar circumstances.

Room Tip: The rooms to the right have the porch back to the town; the opposite side faces villages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Likes: Big room, balcony with chairs and views, nice garden, good location on hilly ground, fairly clean, fruits platter during breakfast.
Dislikes: No coffee in room, only tea bags; 15-minute walk to town, longer if going to town centre with restaurants; wifi only in reception area, not in room; hand-held shower head.

The room has no air-conditioning but weather was cool in early May, so it was OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarissachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Positives - clean bathroom, bedding and towels. Wifi. Shuttle to town (it's on the top of the hill overlooking Phonsavan, about 15 mins walk). We had a big room with a sitting room. Apparently this hotel is the best of a bad bunch.
Negatives - no aircon, though there was a fan. It was in the 30s when we were there and just too hot. The bathroom was clean, but my 5yr old niece would not get wet under the shower it aas so low! Breakfast - there were 4 choices - eggs (1 fried, 2 boiled, 3 scrambled, 4 omelette) and fairly bland at that.
Despite this, we would still do it again to see the Plain of Jars sites. Amazing.
Phonsavan could really do with a decent hotel or two!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_on_Ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This could be a very nice place to stay. We checked out a few others in town and this was definitely the best choice. The location is superb: elevated, so great views, and a nice garden. The room was ok: clean, spacious, balcony, fridge.
We were told there was wifi in the room but that was not the case. Even in the lobby it was sketchy.
Breakfast was nice. Dinner was nice.
Lots of off-street parking.

But the staff's attitude..... (and I want to exclude the security guard here).
It was like dealing with a bunch of kids left alone without a manager.
Staff’s attitude is ‘why are you bothering me, I was watching tv’ (they do sit around and watch tv in the lobby. Ask for coffee, you get some blank stares (the 'good English' seems to have disappeared) and someone has to go and ask a colleague.
Wifi….. I understand that there can be problems but I have a feeling there are always problems because no one cares.
It is the typical attitude that we’ve encountered in hotels in Laos (with exceptions).
A hotel like this should do better, period. Vansana is hotel chain, they should be able to do better.
Because of this I do think they are too expensive for the service received (or not). I still think it is probably the nicest place in town.

Talking to management was not an option as there was no higher management around. Which is probably 80% of the problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not in walking distance to town, but town not worth walking to. An excellent base for visiting the Plain of Jars. Spacious clean rooms, bathroom fine. Staff friendly, few spoke English. Very good breakfast selection. Have order dinner well ahead, but it was quite good and one could await dinner with a well made G&T on the West facing dining area balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Considering its location to the Plain of Jars, this hotel was better than the nearby guest houses. The room is spacious but lacking in decor, lighting, quality of bedding, bathroom was dimly lit, very low water pressure, door gaps at the bottom were wide enough for insects and possibly creatures to enter into the room. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful when they understood my questions. Food is tasty and coffee was bold and flavourful. I believe the Laotian coffee is world renowned for its bold flavour. I stayed here for one night and it was sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Plaine des Jarres
0.0 mi away
White Orchid Guest House
White Orchid Guest House
#10 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nice Guesthouse
#8 of 26 in Phonsavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel

Property: Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Address: Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan, Laos
Region: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing