We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and view”
Review of Thande Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thande Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great service and view”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the sea-view villas (# 1011). Nice spacious layout of the villas - semi-detached, interspersed by greens and big shady trees which gives a natural cooling effect. Same standard breakfast spread. Lovely sunsets, evening draw down service. Friendly and attentive service all the way to the security personnel. Cons - some rocky parts on the beach, not close to a cluster of restaurants which Silver Beach and Bayview enjoy. But beach restaurants next door are worth a try - Angel Restraunt and Bar, Green Umbrella. On the road across the hotel is a new restaurant Green Coffee - worth a try.

Room Tip: Villas 1011 and 1012 are in the last block, away from the restaurant, pool and reception area. Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    163
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
58
303
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very very nice people, fabulous place, we are going next year!!! We stayed 4 days, me and my fiancé, and we were the last guests of the season. The owner and all the staff did an excellent job and for sure, we will come back.
We highly recommend this hotel. Ask for the bedroom in front of the sea, the view is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halwadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Excellent place to unwind for 3 days after a hectic tour. Very nice accomodation with extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Thande Beach hotel has cabins along the beach, some of which are on the front row actually facing the ocean. Try to get one of these so you can see the water from the huge window of your cabin. Each cabin is very large, huge bathroom, private patio with lounge chairs. The hotel also has manicured lawns, flowers, more chairs facing the water, and then below on the sand, umbrellas and chairs...three seating option. The beach is long, and first part of April very few people. It was warm, but nice breezes from the water during the day.The hotel restaurant is expensive, but just a few steps away on the beach are little "mom and pop" places to get fresh fish, shrimp, beer and cocktails for much much less. People are extremely nice, no one bothering along the beach with trinkets. There are just a couple women who come along now and then with fruit to sell. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms that face right out to the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dincaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed a few nights in 2012, February.
Good, clean, quiet hotel. Friendly staff, gorgeous breakfast buffet.
One minus point though : although explicitly stated in their advertisement, there is NO sauna nor steam bath. I do not think it is a deadly sin, but one expects to get what he pays for.
Dinner is also very good, but there are a few small and excellent fish restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Acacia9051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We were surprised to discover Myanmar had such a fantastic beach and even more surprised when we got there and checked in to Thande Beach Hotel. What a fantastic position right in the middle of a beautiful beach. And no crowds even though it was only a couple of days after Christmas where every where else in Asia would have been packed to the gills. We had booked the most expensive room on the beachfront and were not disappointed - it was well worth the extra it although it was still very inexpensive . The room was lovely and big and we had so many options of places to hang out on loungers without any hassle at all. The breakfast was good and lunch too but my only criticism would be that for Dinner the restaurant was soulless - but it was raining and normally you would dine outside. The staff were fantastic and when I couldn't get my wi-fi going they let me use their office facilities to check my emails which was great. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride to the hotel in the retro bus which just added to the charm of the hote. Can't wait to go back there but don't when...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AustraliaBeachbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngapali, Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Thande Beach Hotel is a gem on Ngapali Beach.
Large, perfectly cleaned and well equiped bungalows in a beautiful, extremly wellkept garden.
Great buffet breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the sea.
The friendly Resident Manager Theint Theint Htwe is always present and availble, making sure the guests are fully satisfied, eager to fullfill every need.
After a long airline-career, well-experienced in staying at hotels all over the world, I rate this hotel one of the best.
In every aspect, this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank christina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.4 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thande Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Beach Hotel

Property: Thande Beach Hotel
Address: on Ngapali Beach | Myapyin Village, Thandwe, Ngapali 9543, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thande Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the place where you can relax at all times. We are located on the unspoiled Bay of Bengal beach front hotel. We have two different kinds of accommodation level of we used for our guests in Ngapali beach. We consider atmosphere and nice view to be just as an important as the choice of hotel. These spacious rooms have private terraces overlooking the panoramic view of the Bay of Bengal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thande Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing