We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it!!”
Review of Thande Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thande Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Stavern - Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We love it!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We love Thande Beach Hotel. We stayed there three times in 2009, 2011 and again in November/December 2012. We where warmly welcomed by the manager Theint Theint and her wonderful staff.

The beach bungalow has everything you need and a little bit more. It is very quite and the location is great for exploring the local area. Walking distance along the beach to the local village, or you can rent a bicycle. It is nice big clean room and very well equipped bathroom (only negative is that wifi is only available in the lobby area). Great view, even from the bed, overlooking beach and fantastic sunsets. Our own terrace with sun beds and even a smart automatic foot-wash to avoid carrying sand into the room. The beach is kept very clean and there are no noisy motorised activities, only some friendly fishermen with their nets and women’s offering you good fresh fruit from their basket balanced on their head. We recommend this place to everyone. Try it and you will love it!!

Room Tip: We prefer beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huttaheiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    162
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
302
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Black Forest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We finished our 2 week Myanmar tour with 5 days here. It is certainly not the best hotel but was good value and the villas were perfectly comfortable. Plenty of small beach bars with food and cheap massages just up the beach. The restaurants down the road were about 10-15 minutes walk so take a torch. The hotel bar was the most expensive we encountered all trip and was not surprisingly empty. The problem is that the manageress is basically invisible - presumably for guests and staff alike. There is an understandable lack of trained staff across the country but if there is no management supervision then they cannot be expected to learn. There are certainly enough staff and they are very friendly, they just need someone to give them basic tips. The compulsory New Year's Eve dinner was an absolute disgrace. The buffet was very ordinary but the "entertainment" was embarrassingly bad. By 10.00 half the tables were empty and when we came back at 11.00 there were only 16 guests watching the dancers. The sound system broke down twice - thankfully as the choice of "music" was appalling including one song with obscene lyrics that I did not really want my teenage daughter listening to.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
488 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel was about 45 minutes from one end of the beach and 15 from the other, with very few rocks and several excellent little beach restaurants nearby. We took a garden view room on the upper floor. Three buildings of this type have two floors. Ours was 3007 and I think it offered the best compromise of back from the beach (nobody walking past) and proximity to both the breakfast are and beach.

We arrived for the compulsory New Years party. $70. When the staff are on about $5 per day, one can imagine what was expected. However, it was dreadful. Based on that alone, I would give the hotel a 1 rating. The performers were mediocre and the sound system was loud and very poor. The music was often paced modern stuff with some pretty obscene language that the locals probably didn't understand. They need to take advice on how to organise what their guests would really like for New Year, but I don't think they are good listeners although very willing and helpful.

Generally the hotel is OK for snacks, but the restaurants on the beach and road are so good there is no reason to eat there other than breakfast, which was pretty good. However, the spacious rooms and nice service give this a good rating.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Ended a trip to Burma here, and it was a delightful stop.

Rooms are comfortable, amenities plentiful, breakfast buffet extensive, spa a delight...all in all, a peaceful destination to end a trip in Burma.

The beach is quiet, with many small beachfront restaurant options.

Staff here incredibly friendly and helpful.

Rooms were comfortable, though the bathroom designs more style over substance, with the room being drenched when showering. However a minor quibble, overall.

Recommended.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel7YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We took two interconnecting rooms for four nights (with three kids). We were right at the front facing the beach which was more expensive but apparently these were the only interconnecting rooms ? Anyway no problem as it was a great spot. You could take a room one row back from the front and still get a beach view as the rooms are built offset so you still get a view (and it would b more private). We were right next to the restaurant and pool (which was smallish and cold !). We thought it might be noisy but the restaurant closes early. Most people eat in independent beach restaurants or those on the road running behind the resorts. The rooms were pretty good. We ate at the hotel a few times for convenience but the Angel Restaurant just along was good too with a fantastic coconut crab curry. We typically took short beach walks and swam but also did a boat trip. We hired a guy from the Angel and did a half day. This involved a bit of fishing which our kids loved and lunch on pearl island ? Had the best red snapper ever at this spot. You can hire old style bikes and do a bit of exploring down the road where there are craft shops, restaurants etc. The hotel overall has a bit of class without being over the top pretentious like some hotels in South East Asia. The craft stalls on the beach were very low key but you sort of wonder what will happen in a few years. Go to Ngapali now before it changes too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel is well landscaped, with many bungalows facing directly onto the beach across a wooden boardwalk. The views were excellent, particularly looking out west over the Bay of Bengal at sunset. The boardwalk was at the end of a small garden and it is possible for people on the boardwalk to look into the room, although not from too close a distance. They seemed more interested in the beach and the sea than in looking into our room.

Our room was spacious, with a reasonable amount of storage space. The hotel is, however, approaching the time for an update. There were two showers in the bathroom, one a hand shower in the bath, but no curtain or screen, and one which used the bathroom as a wet room, not ideal. A nice touch is that when you return from the beach you can wash your feet outside the room under an automatic foot washing spray.

Breakfast is fine but not great. The restaurant is reasonable, not as expensive as some places, but not outstanding.

The hotel is the last in its strip, which gives good access to the independent beach bars and restaurants. We usually ate in one of these, although a heavy rainstorm one day confined us to the hotel. The hotel supplies umbrellas, which turned out to be useful.

The hotel offers various excursions, including a snorkelling trip to a nearby island. Instead, we took a trip with a local boatman, which was much less expensive and very enjoyable.

Overall this was a pretty good hotel without being outstanding.

The Ngapali beach is very large, very attractive, and we saw no high rise buildings. It was a lovely place to relax for a few days after some intensive sight-seeing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caravanserai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Having been fortunate enough to holiday in Ngapali over the past 7 years
And having stayed at different hotels in that time
I feel I should pass on my views
I have stayed at Thande Beach Hotel(THB) for the last 3 years
Unfortunately when we tried to book in September we were told it was full!

We managed to book another hotel online Cresent Cove Resort (CCR) and stayed there for 9 days
(See my review on CCR )

Whilst calling in TBH to see some of the staff we had made friends with over the last few years,
I stated to the Manageress Theint that we were dissappointed at not being able to book and she said she would try with office in Yangon in case of cancellation etc
Our LUCKY day!
She managed to secure all the days we had left in Ngapali (24 days )
They genuinely missed us and wanted us to stay!!
Anyway the Hotel !!!
Beautiful big rooms
Flat screen tv with good choice
Fridge
Big bathrooms
Plenty of hot water ( good pressure!)
Big beds
Beautiful gardens
Beautiful pool
Great buffet breakfast overlooking beach
ALL staff very very polite and friendly
Great Wi Fi connection in lobby
House keeping is excellent , everything !!

Whilst the CCR was ok, When we actually moved it was then that you see the difference and appreciate it
Yes I know that there is a price difference but its worth it I can assure you!!

Prior to writing this review I noticed that TBH was actually rated no 2 out of all hotels on Ngapali Beach
This surprised me because there are some very large new expensive hotels included in that list!
To achieve that position,as we know is down to people's ratings and comments

We are still here at moment and when you look around to see who is making this Hotel " tick"
Guess what?
It's that manageress Theint!!
And I'm not saying that because she got us our days!!!!!

Yes! We will be back next year, but we will be booking earlier

Brian/Jools
UK

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truey2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
1.2 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ngapali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thande Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Beach Hotel

Property: Thande Beach Hotel
Address: on Ngapali Beach | Myapyin Village, Thandwe, Ngapali 9543, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thande Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the place where you can relax at all times. We are located on the unspoiled Bay of Bengal beach front hotel. We have two different kinds of accommodation level of we used for our guests in Ngapali beach. We consider atmosphere and nice view to be just as an important as the choice of hotel. These spacious rooms have private terraces overlooking the panoramic view of the Bay of Bengal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thande Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing