We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - FANTASTIC management and staff!!!”
Review of Thande Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thande Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The whole is kept tidy and clean. They even sweep the beach every mornig.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huttaheiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2009

We booked this hotel before reading Lonely Planet which says this is gov't owned. ***At airport upon arrival you must queue up to get passport checked.***Transportation is included to and from the airport. Be careful of baggage porters who demand money for bringing your checked in luggage to the hotel bus. Upon arrival to hotel, you get a drink and towlette and staff takes your passports and return flight tickets...it was odd that it took them a few hours to return our docs to us upon our asking for them back. Rooms are small with TV and AC but clean. Bathroom is dark but good running water for showers. Patio is nice to lounge and has a towel hanger. Water spout to wash sand off of feet is conveniently located outside your room. Restaurant across the street called Smiles is a great place to eat with fair prices. Walk on beach north of hotel to Bayview Hotel...they have a nice bar to see sunset and happy hour is 6:00-7:00 half price cocktails and Dagon beer on draft was superb for $1 USD! For fishing and snorkeling hire Tony's boat service south of hotel...Tony speaks very good english and has good local advice...the fish you catch he will cook on his boat, all you can drink green tea, sugar candy and if you happen to run by a boat selling prawns buy some ($5 per kilo) and Tony will cook it for you. We paid $15 USD for half day or about 5-6 hours...includes pick up and drop off at hotel...that was best part of our trip along with renting bicycles to go all over town...careful bicycle brakes hardly work here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mayasm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Ngapali Beach Hotel was also known as the New Ngapali Beach Hotel because it was long established, around late 1960's or early 1970's. Then it was renovated in early to middle of the 1990s with the influx of foreign tourists to Myanmar (then known as Burma), hence the "New". Work to upgrade the hotel continued yearly to date (almost, that is as far as I gather on my last stay).

The "Hotel" is spread along the beach blended into the coastal vegetation of palm and some kind of trees. Initially, thehotel comprises of a number of "bungalow" type accommodations of wood; 2 rooms to each. Then on their southern side are a series (3 or 4) of two storey "chalet" type accommodations. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with bathroom & toilet facilities. Hot and cold water available. The bungalows are actually cheaper, but with electric fans, whereas the chalet have air conditioning. There are actually platforms built on the trees dotted in front where I use to take some pillows to enjoy the cool breeze in the midday.

Over the recent years they have built more solid - brick and motar - bungalow type accommodations 2 - 3 rooms to each building. Comfortable beds with bathroom & toilet facilities and air conditioned.

The hotel itself is very well placed almost at the centre of the entire Ngapali Beach; and the beach in front has to be the best. There are a few outcrops of rock on the beach but otherwise you have a clear gently sloping long beach.

I particularly enjoy the early morning walks, especially when the tide had been in over night and in the morning, the beach is strewn with sea shells. Ngapali has not (yet) become commercialised like in Pattaya or Phuket in Thailand, or the Patong Beach in Bali; where the beaches are literd with plastic bags, bottles etc. and I hope when more tourists come they would have the sense to try and hold back mass commercialism, especially the easy availability of coca cola and other drinks and fast food.

Food at the hotel is good, but I had chosen to sample the stall outside, just across the road - the local restaurants! Much cheaper and you get the local cuisine.

I had stayed at the Ngapali Beach Hotel three times, booked through a local Travel Agent in Yangon. Costs US$ 90 - 115 for a room per night. On my first visit I got a room in the wooden chalets; subsequently I got rooms in the brick bungalows. I would say I prefer to be in the wooden chalet. though both types have air conditioning, I hadn't needed to use them, preferring the gentle breeze from the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Khayeethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

It's a great hotel and we had unforgetable memories with their charming services. All the staffs are warmely welcome, taking care and good hospitality during our stay. The rooms are spacious with wide seaview and felt comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cinthera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascalzonalatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AuroreL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.1 mi away
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
#13 of 20 in Ngapali
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 20 in Ngapali
521 reviews
4.1 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
0.6 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#14 of 20 in Ngapali
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thande Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Beach Hotel

Address: on Ngapali Beach | Myapyin Village, Thandwe, Ngapali 9543, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: £62 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thande Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the place where you can relax at all times. We are located on the unspoiled Bay of Bengal beach front hotel. We have two different kinds of accommodation level of we used for our guests in Ngapali beach. We consider atmosphere and nice view to be just as an important as the choice of hotel. These spacious rooms have private terraces overlooking the panoramic view of the Bay of Bengal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Thande Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing