We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - old rooms”
Review of Royal Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngapali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Beach Motel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location - old rooms”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights in February. The room we got was probably the worst in this hotel, it was a triple room and was literally falling appart. Balcony and bathroom doors not closing. Tap not working in the toilet. Checked out other rooms and they looked a litle better but couldn't change rooms as they were fully booked.
The location however is great, right by the beach. Breakfast was OK. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Hotels in Ngapali are rather expensive but we found that the value for money for this hotel is not good. Across the road there is a brand new hotel with about the same prices and that looks much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We only tested the restaurant and ended up to have all the diners of our stay in this restaurant.
The staff was so welcoming! The fresh grilled fishes were so good! We also liked their cocktails and fresh juices!
Highly recommended restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a real find for us, it had great rooms, private but at the same time amongst the action. The front rooms overlook the beach and the coconut plantation in front. Breakfast is good and the staff very pleasant, your also close enough to the road and some brilliant local restaurants at very good prices.

Room Tip: Front rooms worth the extra wonga
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escobarluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

After a drink on the beach, we became a bit hungry and decided to change of canteen... (We hate a lot at Amara).
We went for the Rakheen fish menu at 12000 Kyats for two: curried fish soup, prawns tempura, tomato salad, fried vegetable rice and a grilled red snapper, accompanied with spicy dipping sauces... I forgot to mention the dessert: roasted bananas with honey and other fruits. And a pot of green tea.Very tasty. Gorgeous even! And dirt cheap!
Not to mention the nice lush setting and the warm happy soul of the staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Really enjoyed staying here, despite the erratic water and electrical supply!
As a solo female traveller it was nice to be greeted by my first name every morning and the manager was very friendly and helpful.
This is a small place, by no means luxurious but perfectly comfortable and clean. It was much cheaper than most of the other Ngapali hotels. Like all hotels on Ngapali beach, the views are amazing and it is only steps to the beach loungers.
As previous posts have said, the upstairs rooms at the front have the best views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prospectsQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koh samui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This resort is old, but it has its charm.
Wooden floors, balcony with sea view. A lot of windows in the room, so the room is fresh, we did not use air con. Hot shower. Superb breakfast.
Restaurant is just great, very delicious food.
Stayed there with 2 children on the 2d floor, the room with 2 beds.
Staff is friendly and helpful as everywhere in Burma.
Free pick up service at aiport, also to airport :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrspliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I lucked out with a reservation at this incredible, charming, beautiful retreat. The hotel was absolutely delightful, from the garden of palm trees swaying in the breeze to the phenomenal chef, from the palm frond umbrellas and wooden chaises on the beach to the balcony that looked out on the ocean, from the friendly hotel manager Paivi to the joyful waiters and staff, from the character of the rooms to the boutique feel of the property.

And that's not to mention the beach. The beach! Ngapali Beach is simply idyllic. I am not a beach person, and Ngapali enraptured me. My husband and I spent hours laying about on the chaise lounges under the palm-frond umbrella just soaking in the beauty and relaxation.

The Royal Beach Motel is located at the southern end of an arc of outrageously beautiful light sand lining turquoise water. It is close to the local fishing village, where families still work together to gather and prepare and dry the night's catch on the sand. The local families walk up and down the beach at sunset, ox carts drive by, and women carry baskets of fruit and water on their heads to offer you.

Note that this is a small hotel which offers personalized service. You feel like one of the family when you are there. It, however, is not for the person who wants to feel pampered by obsequious staff. The staff will know your name, but they will treat you like a friend, not a superior. And the rooms have aged from their prime a bit. Bathroom fixtures are a bit rusted, and there might be a bit of mildew on the shower curtain. Overlook it. It's worth it.

Royal Beach was a highlight, not only of our trip, but of every trip we've taken. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Get the garden view room on the second floor right above the restaurant. It's awesome with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.1 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
500 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
1.8 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ngapali
103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 18 in Ngapali
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Motel

Property: Royal Beach Motel
Address: No. 146-148, 1st FL(R), 35th Street, Middle Block, Kyauktada Tsp, Yangon, Myanmar, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 329

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing