We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic getaway...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pleasant View Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Oz and Sg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic getaway...”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were recommended this resort after our initial choice accommodation was fully booked for the dates of our intended travel. We had no regrets on our decision to stay at PVR instead. It turned out to be the most serene and relaxing leg of our trip.

Upon arrival at Ngapali airport, we were greeting by old-school buses that would ferry the guest to their respective resorts. PVR turned out to be situated further from the airport and near one of the fishing villages. It was a good location as it was not too near the main shop areas but still accessible by bicycle, foot or vehicle to other parts.

The staff at the resort were friendly and most spoke good English, which made communication easier and we enjoyed the conversations, especially with the general manager who attended guests’ requests and queries promptly. The villas were well designed and attention was paid to it being a beach resort. The best part of it was having a lovely unspoiled beach right in front of the villas. The place was still relatively free from touts when we visited in Jan 2012 and staff were discreet in going about their duties, so we basically had many peaceful hours lounging on the deck chairs, sun-tanning or reading. We tried a snorkel/boat trip arranged by the hotel and enjoyed just spending idyllic time on a nearby sand island, enjoying tropical drinks.

We have to make special mention of the restaurant on a connecting islet to the resort. It is an experience walking on the sandbank to reach the restaurant when the tide is low and wading back after a satisfying meal. The menu was rather extensive and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the sunsets there almost every evening.

All in all, we had a lovely and very relaxing time at PVR in Ngapali, free from the crowds and hassle of life. Truly a blissful leg and highlight of our trip to Myanmar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shunshineeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    64
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
113
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at Ngapali in different hotels twice previously, and was very pleasantly surprised with Pleasant View Resort. The view is not Pleasant - it's Magnificent! Ngapali Beach remains unspoiled (how long will this last ??) and swimming in the Andaman Sea is a delight. The waters are clear and clean, and the beach is wonderful for just chilling out. Many lovely restaurants on the road parallel to the beach and hotels - all specailising in seafood, but with alternatives from which to select.

Staff at the Resort go out of their way to be helpful, as indicated in other reviews. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is very good, with a wide selection of local and western dishes available. Rooms are spacious and clean, with all amenities one would need, good airconditioning and hot shower water.

It is great to see an independent, locally owned business do well during the current tourist boom. Many other Ngapali premises are corporate.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The view straight onto the sea is beautiful, but what most impressed me was the kindness of the staff. One of the staff went to Thandwe and back on the bus to get me a memory card for my camera! So kind!

It's nice and peaceful as it's at the end of the beach. We had a brilliant stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibby1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

PVR is literally the last stop before the fishing village. Wonderful stretch of the beach. Manager runs a tight and friendly ship. Excellent breakfasts and lunch or dinner on the islet.
If you want a quiet (little nightlife and no jetskis etc) end to a trip to Myanmar, Ngapali and PVR deliver exactly what you are looking for at a price well below the more swanky resorts up the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foliumnondefluet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great value for money as the resort opens on to the beach - in a quieter area of beach close to the fishing village (No quaint harbours though)
The rooms are functional rather than luxurious (no bath and the shower and toilet are together in a 'wet room') However the rooms are spacious enough and the doors open on to a verandah and then step down to the private sunbeds and the beach.
Great to relax and you also feel you have escaped that large hotel syndrome!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a beach front room Sound proofing is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Excellent low key beach accommodation located at the southern end of the gorgeous white sand Ngapali Beach. Right on the ocean front with uninterrupted views of the Bay of Bengal. Bungalow accommodation was very spacious and well appointed with fridge, TV with cable connection and airconditioning from 2.00 pm to 7.00 am each day. As there isn't a separate shower recess the bathroom floor tends to all wet. Two restaurants, one located on an island at high tide and low tide you can amble across the sand to drink/ dine surrounded by ocean and waves breaking. There isn't a swimming pool which isn't really needed as a short walk across the fine white sand to the gorgeous turquoise waters of the ocean. Service and attention to guests' needs at breakfast dropped when the manager wasn't present. Thoroughly recommend time to chill out to watch the sunsets, explore the nearby fishing village and do some snorkelling / fishing on one of the long boats.

Room Tip: The single storey bungalows facing the beachfront are excellent - quite, private and uninterrupted v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stated at Pleasant View Resort for two nights at the end of our trip in Myanmar. The bungalow we stated in was spacious, spotless, and the deck opened right out onto the beach. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the restaurant out on the islet was lovely. My only criticism would be that the bathroom would benefit from some tiles on the shower facing walls but this is a tiny pedantic point. Certainly seemed to be by far the best value in a stunning resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSwanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
500 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
2.5 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 18 in Ngapali
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Resort

Property: Pleasant View Resort
Address: Gyeiktaw Main St, Ngapali Beach, Ngapali 11221, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pleasant View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pleasant View Resort (PVR) has 42 Deluxe rooms/Bungalows which are Deluxe Bungalow Beach Front Sea View Room, Deluxe Story Beach Front Sea View Room and Deluxe Story Garden View Room. Combining comfort 42 guest rooms give you The Simplest Way to Relax in itself. You can enjoy the beautiful and pleasant Bay of Bengal Sea View from most of the ocean view rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Pleasant View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant View Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing