We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant and friendly team”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mingalaba

Mingalaba
Ranked #9 of 69 Restaurants in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and friendly team”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife have been there 3 times during our stay. The food was delicisous, the prices reasonable and the team very friendly.
Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donibane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englanders in New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Having returned to Mingalaba after a 2 year gap, we were given the warmest of welcomes, and the food is still as superb as the last time! Brilliant tiger prawns, squid, avocado salads,curries, lobster, all freshly prepared in a very good ambience. The barracuda and red snapper is total perfection!!
A family run restaurant where they all strive to make your visit memorable!
Need to return more regularly!
Thank you Nini and family!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baggagepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Just across the road from the Sandaway Resort we had dinner here as recommended by our travel agent.

We were not disappointed. Fantastic seafood and a lovely and friendly waitress.

The squid tempura was great, followed by grilled tiger prawns and really fresh red snapper. They showed us the catch to choose from before we ordered.

Dessert was a complimentary baked banana in honey.

All for less than $16 -beer included. Amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank TheSelectiveDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly place”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Went there on our second night, excellent food (filet of fish) and very charming service. You feel very welcome. Try the set menu!

Helpful?
1 Thank Topo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant - try them!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The rest is just across the road from The Sandoway Resort, along with others local rests catering to tourists - some good some not really that good...

This is extremely clean, the food is fantastic and prices pretty good - ex. Grilled Squids, a whole grilled Red Snapper, rice, sauces, 2 soft drinks, a complimentary fried banana w/honey came to 8,000Ks which are approx $9

Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Surzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mingalaba also viewed

Ngapali, Rakhine State
Ngapali, Rakhine State
 

Been to Mingalaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing