We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent is the word for this resort..very well decorated and simply feel like heaven.”
Review of Amara Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amara Ocean Resort
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I've stayed in amara ocean resort on the 17th october for 2 nights and what can i say .. it was simply amazing. It was a very private resort with not much of a crowd as it was located at a different location. The service was awesome and the staffs were all so friendly. They just made u feel like home and especially with their smiles. The rooms were big and extremely comfortable. House keeping were very efficient as they will tidy up the room twice a day. The food was great, burmese cuisine with a touch of western inspiration. Over all it was a very well spent time over at amara ocean resort ngapali. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Htet Annawar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

I am not a beach person, but staying at the Amara Ocean Resort was amazing. My splendid teak villa was on the beach side, so I left the curtains of the glass wall facing the deck open, in order to wake up with the beautiful view. 6pm beach walks can be done in solitude, perhaps punctuated by the sound of falling coconuts. Enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner outside under the palm trees is delightful, especially at night when delicious food is accompanied by the most beautiful sounds of Burmese music. Thank you again musicians of Ngapali. At night numerous lights are on the horizon from the fishing boats of the nearby fishing village. This resort is located on the quiet side near the airport away from all the other busy resorts, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Reserve a beach side villa if available, they are the most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulaSTill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were floored and absolutely would return to this resort and any point in the future. We definitely could not give this place any higher praise.

Bungalow: wonderful, clean and lovely. The bed was oh so comfortable. The furnishings fine, would have prefered to have at least one more chair in the room (so minor). Really liked the large separate bathroom. Towels and amenities were nice.

Beach: MORE THAN FANTASTIC. 3 KM of uninterrupted beauty and the best, it is all ours for the use, no sharing, no fighting for space, no undue noise. The pool guys are more than willing to bring down drinks and snacks to our beach chairs - nice to have this option. The water, clean and warm. Yes there are stones, but just go down a bit and wonderful swimming.

Meals: We were in a transition phase between chefs, so things were not 100%, but what we did have was wonderful. Their mixed sea platter was a delight, well grilled and flavorful. The price was more than reasonable. The staff is more than willing to try and help, and their learning how waters and what we liked was very nice.

Breakfast was more than generous and lovely. At first it was not really clear what one could actually order, as breakfast is included, but the menu is priced. It might be helpful to break the menu down for guests who pay and who don't. It seemed like we could only order one thing, and then we had to pay...just confusing. They were willing to help with small requests (ends of bread LOL for toast), and it was just so sweet how it was handled.

Bored, absolutely no. This is a place to escape and get away from it all. Yes, they do have tours and other things that one can take part of, but why. We spent 5 nights here and were wishing we ahd more time. The place is a resort to get away and escape the tourists. Get here while you can, because in a few short years, I would assume this resort will NOT be the only one on this side of the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This hotel is the hotel you dream of finding in Thailand - but which is so hard to locate there. 6 kms of pristine beach like being in a "bounty land" - good swimming and wonderful sunsets.

The bungalows are relatively big - and quite romantic. The bungalow terrasses are big and offer a wonderful view of the sea, at least when you are in line 1.

The service is good, the restaurant is OK for four days, and the massage is 2nd to none. Fabulous.

The only drawbacks are very soft alcolic drinks ... and the fact that you have to bring cash. At least in February 2013, there was no credit card facility

Room Tip: 1st line to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaGustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Amara Ocean over New Year's Eve with our three kids aged 4, 6 and 9. The resort is pretty much faultless, with beautifully arranged wooden bungalows along the beach (it really makes no difference if you are front or second row as bungalows are staggered), immaculate tropical gardens and a very good restaurant. The pool scene is, without a doubt, the most beautiful one we have had the pleasure to experience, with its Burmese red parasols providing a stark contrast against the blue sky, the light blue pool water and the sea beyond it, the whole picture fringed by swaying palms....my iPhoto library has doubled in size since our visit there!
The resort sits on a deserted bay just north of the airport. Guests enjoy a whole stretch of uninhabited golden sanded beach - well, except for the millions of crabs. The amazing thing about the resort is that, fully occupied, we seldom ever met anyone else. We spent hours alone at the pool, same for the beach. The place feels that it completely belongs to you.
The breakfast buffet is good but not exceptional, the lunch/dinner food is just above average and can get a bit tedious, but dinner is served in elegantly laid out tables on the restaurant's verandah with floor lamps providing the only lighting. The chef was happy to accommodate the fussy palates of our kids, including a delicious pasta dish made with fresh pan fried tuna steak and fresh tomatoes.
The spa is reasonably priced and the masseurs are excellent.

Having said all that, there are a few things to keep in mind:
- if you have been to other tropical destinations, the sea at Ngapali won't be the best you have been to. Overall, the long, deserted palm-fringed beach is stunning but don't expect the Caribbean!
- bungalows spread north and south of the restaurant. At low tide, the south part of the beach is very rocky (with no safe way into the sea) - so, when booking accommodation, do ask for a bungalow NORTH of the restaurant (looking at the sea, on the right hand side of the restaurant) to enjoy a glorious sandy beach at all times
- duplex bungalows (unfortunately the only one available during our stay) provide very little privacy - you do have your own balcony but it can be overlooked by the balcony next door and there is no soundproofing at all inside (I could hear our neighbours using the hair dryer)
- the boat trip that can be organised by the hotel is really not worth taking, apart from the beautiful (but full of litter) beach it takes off from. Our kids loved the fishing (only a child would though) but snorkelling was quite dismal.
- because of the distance from the village and restaurant/hotel area south of the airport, the hotel should make it a lot easier for guests to get there: I suggest they should revamp one of those local open buses the locals use to get around with and turn it for guest use throughout the day.

One final note, during our stay there we were fortunate enough to go and visit Mummy Sue's school in nearby Lintha village (the hotel will be able to give you directions) - an English lady settled there a few years ago and set up a school teaching English for free to local villagers of all ages. She also provides money for medical care and housing in extreme cases. Needless to say, there are many extreme, and very touching, cases.

Room Tip: Bungalows north of the restaurant have no rocky beach at low tide. Duplex bungalows lack privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Amara Ocean resort is probably the nicest and charming resort I know - except maybe the nice islands on the Maledives - with an almost endles beach on both sides of the resort where you may walk for at least 2 hours. Only 56 guests at the time for this huge beach. Bungalows nicely equipped with good beds. Excellent food and good drinks for fair prices. Unique quiet location, not for kids or people looking for fun or attractions. No TV in the room. Visit this place as long as it is like now. Not cheap, but worth the price.

Room Tip: No problem, all bungalows have seaview, even the one in the backrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This resort is the only hotel (currently) on an isolated stretch of a beautiful beach. As such, it was wonderfully peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are stand-alone cabins with private porches, some right on the beach, some set back a row. The pool is also really nice. The service is fabulous--everyone bent over backwards to be helpful. While some of the staff do not speak great English, there is always a staff member on hand who does who can step in to translate. There was wifi in the main areas. The only downsides were that there was no gym, and that the restaurant, while pretty good, gets pretty old after a couple of days, and any other hotel is 25-30 minutes away by taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ea701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 20 in Ngapali
517 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 20 in Ngapali
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
#11 of 20 in Ngapali
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Ocean Resort

Address: Gaut Village, Ngapali 120401, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: £163 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Ocean Resort offers an exceptional stay for all guests by sharing the local culture while preserving the pristine environment. Carefully integrated within its nearby villages, this is the perfect hideaway at one of the most beautiful places at Ngapali beach. ACCOMMODATION: The resort features 28 bungalows including two twin bungalows (Duplex Bungalow), purposely built all by hand in wood to provide unique accommodation this is in harmony with its surrounding, the beach, the many palm trees on the white sand beach and its nearby villages. The bungalows cater up to 70 square meter inside and 40 square meter private terrace overlooking the seaside. ACTIVITIES: Mountain hiking is available which is nearby the Resort of Gaut Mountain. Snorkeling is available at the resort as well as fishing with wooden boat to the Elephant Bay which will take about 55 minutes from the Resort to the fishing village. TOURS: Sightseeing to the villages and Long beach of Ngapali, visiting to the Three Pagodas, scuba diving is available on the other side of Guat Ward. Sunrise up trip at Nandaw Pagoda, riding hot air balloon is available during your stay. There truly is a place beyond your dreams …. The Amara Ocean Resort, with its unique, solitary location bordered by the ocean and a fine, white sanded beach and palm trees on one side and uninhabited hills on the other side, has become known worldwide for its excellent service and attention to detail, a perfect fusion of European standards of a first class hotel and Asian hospitality. We strive to uphold this status, we plan to add activities and services such as cooking lessons, bird watching excursions, and quality entertainment offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amara Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing