We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my Buddha”
Review of Amara Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amara Ocean Resort
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh my Buddha”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is heaven. Situated at the far end of a tranquil beach, it is extremely quiet and gorgeous. The villa rooms are sublime - a soft bed, surrounded by a heavenly mosquito net, wifi, a lovely wide deck with comfortable deck chairs, I may well move in. The food is excellent with a good selection of western and Burmese and the most comprehensive wine list I've seen so far. Lots of little touches such as the beach basket for when you go down to the beach, beach chairs and umbrellas, fresh fruit, and on arrival 10 minute massage. Service is attentive, but be patient, they are still learning English.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a fitness centre - why ruin an otherwise perfect place. However the infin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynneofwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    41
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
136
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dillingen germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Amara Ocean is a little far off but we knew this when booking the place. The setting is very beautiful, the bungalows are nice and the beach is fantastic. The Service is very friendly although they are still having some trouble fighting with the English language. We were suprised to see that the mayority of guests came from Germany.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here at the beginning of November. The weather was wonderful.This hotel has everything you could wish for-beautifully equipped bungalows with great beds ,bathrooms and verandah.
Food was a great mix of local and international dishes- well prepared and efficient service.
The staff in some areas were obviously inexperienced but made up for this with their friendliness and they were all so so eager to please.
There is a lovely pool and a spa.
This whole experience is crowned by the most wonderful beach I have seen anywhere in the world.Pristine white powder sand and largely deserted most of the day-a true paradise
This hotel deserves to do well in the rapidly changing face of tourism in Burma but go there soon before it gets taken over by the masses.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank whitburn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at the Amara Ocean Resort at the end of a three week holiday in Myanmar. We had booked guides for two days of sightseeing in the area. Two hours after arrival we called the guides and cancelled -- we didn't want to leave the Amara for the next three days!! A fantastic resort, great food and a pristine beach with no one in sight. It is by far the best place in Ngapali. Be sure to book a beachfront bungalow for the full experience.

Room Tip: Book a sea view bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The resort is beautifully built and in a gorgeous remote position on the beach. The staff are a highlight! James and the restaurant team were divine very attentive, warm helpful and genuine locals! The menu could have been a little more extensive as there are no other restaurants for half an hour by car away. The taxi price to visit those restaurants was very expensive. The resort is quite new so hammocks 5and some more activities like free yoga each morning would be a very appealing draw card.. I would consider re visiting if I knew these things were on offer as it is very remote and we couldn't swim in the ocean due to a storm and big waves so a few more included activities are needed. Otherwise the staff and the location were 5 star! The spa was not yet open when we went which was disappointing and there was no fitness centre - so a small one would be fantastic!

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I've stayed in amara ocean resort on the 17th october for 2 nights and what can i say .. it was simply amazing. It was a very private resort with not much of a crowd as it was located at a different location. The service was awesome and the staffs were all so friendly. They just made u feel like home and especially with their smiles. The rooms were big and extremely comfortable. House keeping were very efficient as they will tidy up the room twice a day. The food was great, burmese cuisine with a touch of western inspiration. Over all it was a very well spent time over at amara ocean resort ngapali. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htet Annawar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I am not a beach person, but staying at the Amara Ocean Resort was amazing. My splendid teak villa was on the beach side, so I left the curtains of the glass wall facing the deck open, in order to wake up with the beautiful view. 6pm beach walks can be done in solitude, perhaps punctuated by the sound of falling coconuts. Enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner outside under the palm trees is delightful, especially at night when delicious food is accompanied by the most beautiful sounds of Burmese music. Thank you again musicians of Ngapali. At night numerous lights are on the horizon from the fishing boats of the nearby fishing village. This resort is located on the quiet side near the airport away from all the other busy resorts, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Reserve a beach side villa if available, they are the most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaSTill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
500 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
1.0 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
6.3 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Ocean Resort

Property: Amara Ocean Resort
Address: Gaut Village, Ngapali 120401, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Ocean Resort offers an exceptional stay for all guests by sharing the local culture while preserving the pristine environment. Carefully integrated within its nearby villages, this is the perfect hideaway at one of the most beautiful places at Ngapali beach. ACCOMMODATION: The resort features 28 bungalows including two twin bungalows (Duplex Bungalow), purposely built all by hand in wood to provide unique accommodation this is in harmony with its surrounding, the beach, the many palm trees on the white sand beach and its nearby villages. The bungalows cater up to 70 square meter inside and 40 square meter private terrace overlooking the seaside. ACTIVITIES: Mountain hiking is available which is nearby the Resort of Gaut Mountain. Snorkeling is available at the resort as well as fishing with wooden boat to the Elephant Bay which will take about 55 minutes from the Resort to the fishing village. TOURS: Sightseeing to the villages and Long beach of Ngapali, visiting to the Three Pagodas, scuba diving is available on the other side of Guat Ward. Sunrise up trip at Nandaw Pagoda, riding hot air balloon is available during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amara Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing